Monolink: Under Darkening Skies – 2021

Also available in ...: Deutsch (German)

Monolink: Under Darkening Skies – Album – Embassy One – 2021

Genre: Electronica, Deep House, Progressive House

Finally, we can only say, the new Monolink album “Under Darkening Skies” has been released and this album fits exactly into this time, not only because of the meaningful title, but also because of problems that are coming up or we are all stuck in right now. But more on that later.

The beginning: The EP “The End”
Monolink - The End
Monolink – The End (EP)

Monolink. Kind of a phenomenon. It all started six years ago with the 5-track EP “The End” which Monolink released together with electronic specialist Acid Pauli, who was formerly a member of “The Notwist”. It turned out to be a firecracker and attracted first international attention, so that Monolink was ennobled with an invitation to Burning Man 2016 and was able to get the annual Nonkonformist festival-goers grooving for the first time.

A truly impressive achievement for a musician who has only released a few singles and the aforementioned EP. So what was and still is the musical secret of this exceptional artist, who was able to gather several generations of fans behind him? The answer will follow later…

The album Amniotic

On April 20, 2018, Monolink’s first album entitled “Amniotic” was released. With this disc in his luggage, Monolink, who comes from Hamburg and lives in Berlin, toured renowned festivals and clubs up and down, such as Couchella, The Lab in LA, the Fusion Festival and many more. And the audience was blown away and loved him deeply.

Finally, Monolink was invited again to Burning Man 2018 and played on the Mayan Warrior stage. It’s almost unbelievable to witness how effectively Monolink captivates the audience with his unique style with an electronic mini equipment, with the electric guitar strapped around and with his unmistakable Monolink riffs. I already reported about this gig, you can read about it here.

The video was first broadcasted by YouTube on November 22, 2018, and then just before Christmas of the same year, the omniscient YouTube algorithm emphatically brought this video to my attention. From that moment on, I was hooked on Monolink and have watched the Burning Man video countless times to this day. And finally, for me, nothing led around the purchase of the album Amniotic.

And Amniotic is a great album where Monolink found his style after the first attempts with the EP “The End” that made audiences around the world go wild. Coming from the folk/singer/songwriter segment, Monolink has conjured up its own distinctive style with wafting synth landscapes, lots of samples and smooth drum grooves layered with folky acoustic guitars and grippy electric guitar riffs.

Remixes and the road to well deserved fame
Monolink – Amniotic

In the following time tracks from the album like “Frozen”, “Rearrange my Mind”, “Return to Oz”, “Sirens”, “Black Day” or also “Father Ocean” were remixed and refined by numerous internationally renowned acts like Rodriguez Jr., Nicole Moudaber, Artbat, Adam Beyer and last but not least by Ben Böhmer.

Also Oliver Koletzki, who pulls the strings behind the Berlin scene, has ennobled Monolink with the inclusion of the remix of “Swallow” in his various sampler projects, furthermore Monolink also had the privilege to contribute the track “We Are All Lost” to Oliver Koletzki’s album “Fire in the Jungle”. Monolink has thus gradually become an established player in Germany with an international reputation.

On December 13, 2019, the Amniotic album was released in the deluxe version with additional acoustic versions and two remixes.

You can listen to the album “Amniotic” in the deluxe version below on Spotify.

The album “Under Darkening Skies”

But let us now come to Monolink’s album “Under Darkening Skies”. With this album, Steffen Linck, as his real name is, has hit the big time. His songs are somewhere in the area of tension between restrained folk influences, singer/songwriter attitude, which is very popular at the moment, and danceable electronic pop structures. All tracks are kept in the midtempo / downtempo range, with ambient intros, multi-layered, overlapping synth soundscapes as well as catchy guitar riffs, which have meanwhile matured into Monolink’s trademark.

Monolink

Often the many partly alienated samples are creating a spacey ambient basic appearance in intros as for example in ” Laura ” and ” The Prey “, but the soft drum grooves in connection with the guitar riffs are providing down-to-Earth groundedness all the time.

Monolink’s songwriting can only be described as outstanding, with many intriguing toplines that invite you to hum and sing along, plus beautiful melody-leading hooks that float above the pulsating electronic rhythm soundscapes.

Monolink’s arrangements basically consist of two poles, on one side we have the organic, on the other side the electronic hook. He shapes his organic songwriting very personally himself, while the electronic structures make the sound more lively, danceable and provide grip. The most fascinating thing about his work is undoubtedly his songwriting, the artful arrangement of lyrics, which have roots in his folk past by Monolink.

© Ivanna Capture You – DCDSC0520

But listening to music in the classical song structures is one thing, but feeling music through danceable electronic beats is another. Monolink can and will never disconnect both from each other, which ultimately explains the magic of his music. Many have tried to reconcile electronic music and indie sounds, but there are not too many who have done it better than Steffen Linck aka Monolink.

The album title “Under Darkening Skies” was chosen by Monolink for a good reason. Without any question, he has used the time of the recurring lockdowns wisely, worked on the album with great effort and has let us participate in the creation of the songs for the new album with many videos in lockdown-induced empty Berlin clubs.

When choosing the title, Monolink had in mind the image of an approaching thunderstorm by the sea that could hold disaster in store for us. Which brings us back to the current threatening situation on this planet and the problems to be solved, such as climate change or the development of capitalism. Monolink characterizes these problems as the tipping points where it is no longer possible to turn back the situation, the point-of-no-return would be reached, as Monolink says.

The Bottom Line:

“Under Darkening Skies” is a fantastic album and among the best to be heard from Germany in a very long time. Comparisons to Ben Böhmer and Jan Blomqvist are certainly not wrong, but both of the aforementioned are more in the field of deep house and melodic house, respectively. Monolink, on the other hand, has managed to win a wide range of fans for his music with his mixture of light ambient touches, singer/songwriter folk and very danceable electronic pop far away from the shoals of shallow chart electronics.

“Under Darkening Skies” should appeal to the dancing club scene as well as to the headphone fan with a penchant for sophisticated sounds. With songs like “Laura”, “Harlem River”, “Otherside” or also “Don’t Hold Back” with great toplines and catchy hooks Monolink should bring various festival communities into a frenzy as soon as that is possible in this country again.

Sound Quality:

The sound quality is fantastic in every way and without any flaws, even if the album is only available in 16 bit / 44.1 kHz. However, the reason why the PR agency only fobbed off the reviewers with low-quality MP3s to listen to, this will remain an eternal mystery to me.

Format: 16 Bit / 44.1 kHz9/10
Spatiality:10/10
Heights:10/10
Mids:10/10
Bass:10/10
Total:9,8
Maximum 10 points can be assigned per category
Facts about Monolink: Under Darkening Skies

Artist: Monolink
Title: Under Darkening Skies
Format: Album
Label: Embassy One
Release Date: June 11, 2021
Genre: Electronica, Deep House, Progressive House
12 Tracks • 01h 02m 06s

cd_silver_45

Available on Qobuz in CD Quality
16-bit / 44.1 kHz – stereo

My Test Equiment

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

Monolink: Under Darkening Skies – 2021

Also available in ...: English (Englisch)

Monolink: Under Darkening Skies – Album – Embassy One – 2021

Genre: Electronica, Deep House, Progressive House

Endlich, endlich kann man nur sagen, ist das neue Monolink-Album „Under Darkening Skies“ erschienen und das Album passt, nicht allein wegen des bedeutungsschwangeren Titels exakt in diese Zeit, sei es wegen Problemen, die auf uns zukommen oder in den wir gerade drinnen stecken. Doch dazu später mehr.

Der Anfang: Die EP „The End“
Monolink - The End
Monolink – The End (EP)

Monolink. Irgendwie ein Phänomen. Angefangen hat alles vor sechs Jahren mit der 5-Track EP „The End“ die Monolink zusammen mit dem Elektronik-Spezialisten Acid Pauli, früher mal bei „The Notwist“, herausgebracht hatte. Das Teil entwickelt sich zum Knaller und sorgte für erste internationale Aufmerksamkeit, sodass Monolink mit einer Einladung zum Burning Man 2016 geadelt wurde und zum ersten Mal die dort sich jährlichen treffenden Nonkonformist-Festivalisten zum Grooven bringen konnte.

Eine wahrlich reife Leistung für einen Musiker, der bislang nur mit ein paar Singles und der erwähnten EP aufwarten konnte. Doch was war und ist das musikalische Geheimnis dieses Ausnahmekünstlers, der mehrere Fan-Generationen hinter sich versammeln konnte? Die Antwort folgt später …

Das Album Amniotic

Am 20. April 2018 dann erschien das erste Album von Monolink mit dem Titel „Amniotic“. Mit dieser Scheibe im Gepäck betourte der aus Hamburg stammende Wahlberliner Monolink namhafte Festivals und Clubs rauf und runter, wie Couchella, The Lab in LA, das Fusion Festival und viele andere mehr. Und die Audience war hin und weg und lag ihm zu Füssen.

Schließlich wurde Monolink erneut zum Burning Man 2018 eingeladen und spielte auf der Mayan Warrior Bühne. Es ist beinahe unglaublich, wenn man miterleben darf wie effektiv Monolink das Publikum mit seinem einzigartigen Stil mit einer elektronischen Rumpfausstattung, mit der umgehängten E-Gitarre und den unverwechselbaren Monolink-Riffs in seinen Bann zieht. Über diesen Gig habe ich bereits berichtet, Ihr könnt das hier nachlesen und Euch das Video hier anschauen:

Das Video wurde von YouTube erstmalig am 22. November 2018 ausgestrahlt und kurz vor Weihnachten desselben Jahres hat mich dann der allwissende YouTube Algorithmus mit Nachdruck auf dieses Video aufmerksam gemacht. Von diesem Moment an war ich für Monolink Feuer und Flamme und habe mir das Burning Man Video bis zum heutigen Tage unzählige Male angeschaut. Schließlich führte für mich nichts am Kauf des Albums Amniotic vorbei.

Amniotic ist ein großartiges Album, bei dem Monolink nach den ersten Versuchen mit der EP „The End“ seinen Stil gefunden hatte und das Publikum weltweit in Aufruhr versetzen konnte. Aus dem Segment Folk/Singer/Songwriter kommend, hat Monolink mit wallenden Synthie-Landschaften, vielen Samples und sanften Drum-Grooves, die von folkigen Akustikgitarren und griffigen E-Gitarren-Riffs überlagert werden, einen eigenen, unverwechselbaren Stil hingezaubert.

Remixe und der Weg zum verdienten Ruhm
Monolink – Amniotic

In der Folgezeit wurden Tracks vom Album wie „Frozen“, „Rearrange my Mind“, „Return to Oz“, „Sirens“, „Black Day“ oder auch „Father Ocean“ von zahlreichen international renommierten Acts wie Rodriguez Jr., Nicole Moudaber, Artbat, Adam Beyer und last but not least von Ben Böhmer geremixed und veredelt.

Auch Oliver Koletzki, der hinter den Berliner Szene-Kulissen die Strippen zieht, hat Monolink mit der Aufnahme des Remixes von „Swallow“ in seine verschiedenen Sampler-Projekte geadelt, ferner durfte Monolink auch den Track „We Are All Lost“ zu Oliver Koletzki’s Album „Fire in the Jungle“ beisteuern. Somit wurde Monolink so nach und nach zur gesetzten Größe in Deutschland mit internationalem Renommee.

Am 13. Dezember 2019 erschien dann noch das Amniotic Album in der Deluxe-Version mit zusätzlichen Acoustic-Versions und zwei Remixen.

Das Album „Amniotic“ in der Deluxe Version könnt Ihr Euch im Folgenden bei Spotify anhören.

Das Album „Under Darkening Skies“

Doch lasst und nun zu Monolinks Album „Under Darkening Skies“ kommen. Mit diesem Album hat Steffen Linck, wie er mit bürgerlichem Namen heißt, nun zum ganz großen Wurf ausgeholt. Seine Songs bewegen sich irgendwo im Spannungsfeld zwischen verhaltenen Folkanleihen, Singer/Songwriter-Attitüde, was derzeit ja sehr angesagt ist, und tanzbaren elektronischen Pop-Strukturen. Alle Tracks sind im Midtempo / Downtempobereich gehalten, mit ambientigen Intros, vielschichtigen, übereinandergelagerten Synthie-Klanglandschaften sowie griffigen Gitarren-Riffs, die mittlerweile zu Monolinks Markenzeichen gereift sind.

Monolink

Die vielen teils verfremdeten Samples sorgen bei Intros wie z.B. zu „Laura“ und „The Prey“ oftmals für ein spacig ambientiges Grunderscheinungsbild, doch die sanften Drum-Grooves in Verbindungen mit den schon zitierten Gitarren-Riffs sorgen immer wieder für Down-to-Earth Bodenhaftigkeit.

Monolinks Songwriting kann man nur als herausragend bezeichnen, mit vielen faszinierenden Toplines, die zum Mitummen und Mitsingen einladen, dazu wunderschönen melodieführende Hooks, die über den pulsierenden elektronischen Rhythmus-Klanglandschaften schweben.

Monolinks Arrangements bestehen im Grunde aus zwei Polen, auf der einen Seite haben wir den organischen, auf der anderen Seite den elektronischen Aufhänger. Sein organisches Songwriting gestaltet er selbst sehr persönlich, während die elektronischen Strukturen den Sound lebendiger, tanzbarer machen und für Grip sorgen. Das Faszinierende an seiner Arbeit ist ohne Zweifel das Songwriting, die kunstvolle Textausarbeitung, die bei Monolink Wurzeln in seiner Folkvergangenheit haben.

© Ivanna Capture You – DCDSC0520

Doch Musikhören in den klassischen Songstrukturen ist das eine, Musik fühlen mittels tanzbaren elektronischen Beats jedoch das andere, beides kann und will Monolink niemals voneinander trennen, womit letztendlich auch die Magie seiner Musik zu erklären ist. Viele haben schon versucht, elektronische Musik und Indie-Sounds unter einen Hut zu bringen, aber nur wenige haben es bisher besser gemacht als Steffen Linck aka Monolink.

Den Albumtitel „Under Darkening Skies“ hat Monolink aus gutem Grunde gewählt. Ohne Frage hat er die Zeit der immer wiederkehrenden Lockdowns sinnvoll genutzt, mit großem Aufwand an dem Album gefeilt und uns mit vielen Videos in lockdownbedingten leeren Berliner Clubs an der Entstehung der Songs für das neue Album gewissermaßen teilhaben lassen.

Bei der Wahl des Titels hatte Monolink das Bild eines herannahenden Gewitters am Meer im Kopf gehabt, das Unheil für uns bereithalten kann. Womit wir dann wieder bei der aktuellen bedrohlichen Situation auf diesem Planeten und den anstehenden zu lösenden Problemen wie dem Klimawandel oder der Entwicklung des Kapitalismus angelangt sind. Monolink kennzeichnet diese Probleme als die Kipppunkte, nach denen ein Zurückdrehen der Situation nicht mehr möglich ist, der Point-Of-No-Return wäre damit erreicht, wie Monolink sagt.

Fazit:

„Under Darkening Skies“ ist ein fantastisches Album und mit das Beste, dass es seit ganz langer Zeit aus deutschen Landen zu hören gab. Vergleiche zu Ben Böhmer und Jan Blomqvist sind sicherlich nicht falsch, jedoch sind die beiden Genannten eher im Bereich Deep House bzw. Melodic House unterwegs. Monolink hingegen hat es hinbekommen, mit seiner Mixtur aus leichten Ambient-Anklängen, Singer/Songwriter-Folk und bestens tanzbar elektronischem Pop fernab ab von den Untiefen seichter Charts-Elektronik einen weit gefächerten Fankreis für seine Musik zu gewinnen.

„Under Darkening Skies“ sollte der tanzenden Clubszene bestens gefallen, wie auch dem Kopfhörer-Fan mit dem Faible für anspruchsvolle Sounds. Mit Songs wie „Laura“, „Harlem River“, „Otherside“ oder auch „Don’t Hold Back“ mit tollen Toplines und einprägsamen Hooks sollte Monolink auch diesmal diverse Festival-Communities zum Kochen bringen, sobald das in diesem Lande wieder möglich ist.

Die Klangqualität ist in jeder Hinsicht fantastisch und ohne jeglichen Makel, auch wenn das Album nur in 16 Bit / 44.1 kHz zur Verfügung steht. Warum jedoch die PR-Agentur die Rezensenten nur mit minderwertigen MP3s zum Reinhören abspeist, dies wird mir ein ewiges Rätsel bleiben.

Facts zu Monolink: Under Darkening Skies

Artist: Monolink
Title: Under Darkening Skies
Format: Album
Label: Embassy One
Release Date: 11. Juni 2021
Genre: Electronica, Deep House, Progressive House
12 Tracks • 01h 02m 06s

cd_silver_45

Bei Qobuz verfügbar in CD Quality
16-Bit / 44.1 kHz – Stereo

Mein Test-Equiment

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool