Grandbrothers: All The Unknown (Album) – 2021

This review is also available in: Deutsch (German)

Grandbrothers: All The Unknown – Album – City Slang – 2021

Genre: Emotional Acoustic Electronica, Ambient Minimal Music

Intro

0:30, Wednesday, June 02, 2021. Now I can finally start to write the review of the album “All The Unknown” and the ARTE Concert by the Grandbrothers, which was released a few days ago, because it took me almost two full days to absorb the fantastically arranged sound of the Grandbrothers, to live with it and to see how the duo affects me in different everyday situations: In the cozy living room in front of the big AV-System, when getting up in the morning, for evening relaxation, listening with BeyerDynamic DT 880 S studio headphones, Audeze EL-8 high-end headphones and Shure S SE846 in-ear headphones.

In addition, there were some research tasks like studying the artist biography, the duo’s thoughts on the album itself and their own songs and what the competition has written about them, as well as image selection and image cutting and design.

Genre assignment? So what? Do we have to?
Grandbrothers
© Toby Coulson

For music like this, I think it’s important to watch a good concert video in advance to get as complete an impression as possible of the artist, their compositions and sound. This, I found, was already exceedingly helpful in my warming up to the music of Hania Rani,GoGo Penguin, and the Portico Quartet.

I spoke in the paragraph before about “music of this” and this already shows you that it is exceedingly difficult to classify the sound of the German/Swiss duo, which consists of the German Erol Sarp on piano and Lukas Vogel from Switzerland (electronics). Nothing seems to fit and nothing wants to fit. GoGo Penguin from the UK have a similar situation, moreover they don’t like to be pigeonholed and called their sound ( with bass, drums, Piano and lots of effects) ingeniously “Acoustic Electronica”.

And this is what we have with the Grandbrothers too, only here we have to add synths and lots of electronics, and let’s put the adjective “Emotional” in front of the expression “Acoustic Electronica”, so now we have a term that describes the works of the Grandbrothers quite aptly: “Emotional Acoustic Electronica” – and emotionality and the associated crescendo can no one better express musically than the Grandbrothers (I’m listening to “All the Unknown” right now and I’m literally lifting off the floor again together with my desk chair).

Certainly we also find obvious, very clear traces of ambient and minimal music in the compositions, mostly in the intros and outros of the respective tracks, especially since Erol (piano) was, by his own admission, initially very influenced by Steve Reich’s minimalism. However, since the sequences that are close to musical minimalism are never tough or annoying with the Grandbrothers, we simply call this part of the Grandbrothers’ music “Ambient Minimal Music”.

Now, let’s go to the ARTE France Concert video:

The Grandbrothers Concert Video “Grandbrothers en session à la Piscine Tournesol – ARTE Concert”

ARTE France first met the Grandbrothers in 2015 during the first edition of the ARTE Concert Festival. At that time, the virtuosity and poetry of the duo had completely captivated the team of ARTE. And of course, now you’re overjoyed to skilfully stage the duo, even if it’s in such an outlandish location as an almost incongruously snooty urban public swimming pool in Paris. But completely unimpressed by this, the Grandbrothers play some tracks from their latest album “All The Unknown” (released on January 15, 2021), immersing the scenery in an incredibly impressive atmosphere which is musically and visually convincing all the way along the line.

The image quality comes in 1080p, also the sound (WEBM OPUS 160K) convinces with good spatiality, very nice stage illustration and clean deep down reaching basses.

A modified piano, a German duo of former sound engineers turned into musicians and a visually exquisitely crafted stage concept: that’s the Grandbrothers. Musically, Erol Sarp and Lukas Vogel deliver an immensely convincing synthesis consisting of modified piano (Erol), various electronic devices and synths (Lukas). Nils Frahm and Francesco Tristano are stylistically somewhat enviously peeking around the corner and rubbing their eyes – with the help of electronics, the Grandbrothers take the piano into new sonic realms.

The Grandbrothers’ keyboard is elegant, rhythmic, the crescendos so high up to an ultimate climax. This is underlined by a sophisticated system of self-developed hammers installed on the entire surface of the piano, hitting the strings as well as hammering to the beat against the piano’s chassis. This is accomplished electronically by Lukas with the help of electronics, which adds further levels of operation to the performance of the two musicians.

Guided by these percussive idiosyncrasies and the duo’s repetitive arrangements, each track follows a rousing crescendo, heightening emotions and feelings to the point of ecstasy with goosebumps and tears of emotion in the eye.

Tracklist:

12:00 :00 What we see
06:09 All The Unknown
11:30 Silver
4:40 White Nights
24:19 Auberge
29:22 Bloodflow
35:17 Organism

Originally I wanted to give you a star for every track worth listening to, but I’d better leave that, every track is great and stands for itself. “Auberge” is placed by the duo in the middle of the set and offers as an ambient highlight time for catching your breath and thinking about what you have heard. But then the guys pick up speed again to come to the climax and to the end of the set with the fascinating “Organism” with a staccato percussive arrangement.

The album “All The Unknown” from 15.01.2021

After watching the ARTE video over and over again, it was clear to me that I would probably have to devote myself to the album extensively and also write a review about it – there would be a way around it. First I tried to listen to the album with the stream on Tidal and Qobuz – but the quality was not what I wanted to live with: Dynamics were missing. So I bought the album and downloaded it from Juno Downloads in 16 bit / 44.1 kHz (24 bit is not available for this release), carefully prepared it using special software and transferred it to my music server optimized for audio files.

And the result is really good with excellent sound quality – now this album can be enjoyed perfectly at home through the big AV system or indulge in under the headphones with closed eyes. Lukas (Electronics) said in an interview very significant:

Grandbrothers

“If I could choose how people would listen to our music… Maybe there are two different ways. On the one hand, very concentrated, sitting in a comfortable armchair at home, with good equipment to really enjoy it intensively.
But also in a club or at a party it would be very nice way to see how people will perceive our music. It’s these two worlds: One is more introverted and enjoying alone, then the other is the extroverted dancing side”.
.

I can only fully agree with Lukas, the home option is extremely fascinating, in the club it will probably be out for quite a while, but yes, the Grandbrothers are danceable and more than just club-suitable, the festival and gig organizers just have to book the duo. And I confess: in the context of an open air, I can hardly imagine anything more beautiful at the moment.

And the really strong desire: here in my hometown Fulda on the cathedral forecourt, which is used once a year for an open air, with a sensational lightshow in the waning evening light. I guarantee: after twenty minutes the Grandbrothers will have got the whole auditorium dancing and grooving along.

Lukas is not alone with his opinion and the assessment of the listening preferences among the fans: GoGo Penguin are saying the same thing and inspire their fans at festivals with their “Acoustic Electronica” unbelievably and always make them dance by the dozen. As you can see, I always draw parallels to GoGo Penguin as well as to Hania Rani and the Portico Quartet. The latter are the grand masters of modern immensely exciting minimalism and have, for example, released the new album “Terrain”, a suite consisting of three movements with acoustic instruments and synths as well as and a total running time of 38 min – of course inspired and influenced by Steve Reich. Which brings us to the next parallel.

The album “All The Unknown” draws its creative genius from the apparently contradictory nature of the two players. Lukas, with his electronics, is the one who is a bit more sophisticated in his approach to the subject, while Erol on piano is much more gut-driven. However, it is precisely this area of contrast that feeds the duo’s enormous creativity. And this is one of the important prerequisites for the artistic creativity and success. This brings us back to GoGo Penguin and the Portico Quartet, who see it exactly the same way.

The title of the album “All The Unknown” is meant by the Grandbrothers in two senses On the one hand, it can refer to something negative that frightens a person, something that someone would make to flee from – or it can also refer to a situation that, in the final analysis, might be too much burden for a person to handle with.as Erol says.

We can also try to interpret it in a positive way’, Erol continues. “That one gets involved in the unknown, sees what happens and plunges into the unknown. We thought that was beautiful as a metaphor for the whole album. This describes the music itself, with these cool, cold, threatening moments, but also the very tender, hopeful, the awakening, and also this positive aspects, which should drive youforward.

What amazes me so much about this statement is the fact that Hania Rani talks about her last album “Home” from 29.05.2020 almost the same way, Hania describes your album as a journey, ““Home” is a metaphorical journey, presenting stories about a path to the places that become our home – sometimes by accident, sometimes by purposeful choice. Home is the story of leaving a familiar place and the journey that must inevitably follow from it [und damit auch vom Einlassen auf das neue Fremde]“, as Hania says.

So we’re talking about four artists and acts that seem to be connected in a peculiar way – and yes, of course there are parallels among the four of them. But I realized, after I had dealt with the Grandbrothers, their sound in the video and in the last album in detail, that some little thing had always been missing in the works of Hania Rani, GoGo Penguin and the Portico Quartet. But that, on the other hand, is what is making the Grandbrothers’ music so deeply moving and lifting the duo out of the circle of these four acts:

It is the duo’s ability for a constantly rising crescendo up to final ecstasy that hits the listener with full force and the dramatic climax of the respective track permanently brings water into eyes one by one – tears of rapture and bliss – or tears of despair and the memory of tragic past times – whichever depends on the listener’s state of mind and state of soul.

Prepared Piano Techniques

And as I said before, Grandbrothers use a variety of the so-called classical “prepared piano techniques”. Luke says: “The spectrum of our sound experiments goes from very simple, slight manipulations in and on the grand piano, when Erol dampens strings while he plays, or when books are placed on the strings. When you strike and push the book down a bit, there’s a very rattling, percussive sound. We also experimented a lot with magnets on the strings.

These are these “classic” prepared piano techniques, where you touch the string that vibrates and thus get a different tone out of the vibrating string. That is one side of the coin. Then there is the technique of experimenting with different materials – for example, chains!

If you run chains across where the strings are starting, it provides a very shaker-like sound. Or the body of the piano is struck with mallets and other percussion sticks – or the strings are beaten with brooms. This is another aspect of sound exploration then.

But that expands almost endlessly when you record all the sounds and then process them in the computer with effects. Distortion, reverb, filters – in other words, a whole arsenal of effects – to create new sounds from that original.

And that’s exactly how the Grandbrothers proceeded with the production of the new album, they kept their traditional production concept, where the sounds dominantly always have to come from the piano first and are then electronically processed by Lukas in order to be passed on to the magic “Grandbrothers-Apparatus”. But we’ll get to that in a moment.

The magical Grandbrothers-Apparatus

Lukas explains to us:One is the actual apparatus, the mechanical device on and above the piano, which is more my profession, because I control it and also built it”.
But in the meantime the duo had subsequently refined the concept basis for the second album “Open” from 2017.

“Among these little hammers that hit against the chassis of the grand piano, thus using it as a resonating body, and can also maltreat the strings in the grand piano from above,”Lukas continues, “Bows have been added, that are hung over the strings to make them vibrate, but without touching the strings.”By the way, the hammers are nothing unusual, similar is used by GoGo Penguin, that drum system is called there “Polyend Perc”. You can read it here on our site under the section “Acoustic Electronica”.

Luke explains to us further: “After all, this results in very flat sounds that are otherwise produced by flute or organ. This is then in any case a refinement of the possible usage of the known apparatus.

But for the third new album “All The Unknown” we did not tweak the mechanics so much now, but we experimented more with the sound that results from the mechanics and thus also transformed it”

The production concept of the new album “All The Unknown”, however, breaks in parts with the traditional production method, for the first time we used many loops, samples and effects that have been pre-produced and thus add new layers to the sound tapestry.

Final evaluation:


With “Home” by Hania Rani, GoGo Penguin with the same title from 2020, “Terrain” by Portico Quartet and of course “All The Unknown” by Grandbrothers, there are now four albums at the front of the shelf, all belonging to an undefined genre, far away from neo and fusion jazz, even further away from cold minimalist fog and from hardly accessible neo-classical music. All four albums are highly emotional, magical, bringing the listener to new levels of consciousness if he lets himself get involved.

However, the Grandbrothers go up a notch and rise above the other three acts mentioned with a great pathos and immense emotionality.

Sound quality:

16 bit / 44.1 kHz

Bass range: 8/10
Center range: 8/10
High frequency range: 9/10
Spaciousness: 8/10
Locatability: 9/10

List of references

Artist: Grandbrothers
Title: All the Unknown
Format: Album
Release Date: January 15, 2021
Label: City Slang
Genre: Emotional Acoustic Electronica, Ambient Minimal Music
13 Tracks • 57m 18s

Available on Qobuz in

cd_silver_45

16-Bit CD Quality
44.1 kHz – Stereo

My Test Equiment

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

%d bloggers like this:

Grandbrothers: All The Unknown (Album) – 2021

This review is also available in: English (Englisch)

Grandbrothers: All The Unknown – Album – City Slang – 2021

Genre: Emotional Acoustic Electronica, Ambient Minimal Music

Intro

0:30, Mittwoch, 02. Juni 2021. Ich kann endlich damit anfangen, das Review zum Album “All The Unknown” und dem vor ein paar Tagen erschienen ARTE Concert von den Grandbrothers zu schreiben, nachdem ich beinahe volle zwei Tage gebraucht habe, den fantastisch arrangierten Sound der Grandbrothers in mir aufzunehmen, damit zu leben und festzustellen wie das Duo in verschiedenen Alltagssituationen auf mich wirkt: im gemütlichen Wohnzimmer vor der großen Anlage, beim Aufstehen in der Frühe, zum abendlichen Relaxen, unter dem BeyerDynamic DT 880 S Studio Studiokopfhörer, dem High-Ende Hörer Audeze EL-8 und mit dem Shure S SE846 In-Ear Hörer.

Dazu kamen dann noch Recherche-Aufgaben wie das Studieren der Artist Biograpie, die Gedanken des Duo’s zum Album selbst wie zu den eigenen Songs und was die Konkurrenz denn so dazu geschrieben hat, sowie Bildauswahl und Bildzuschnitt und Bildgestaltung.

Genre-Zuodnung? Wie jetzt? Muss das sein?
Grandbrothers
© Toby Coulson

Bei Musik wie dieser ist es meiner Meinung nach wichtig, sich vorab ein gutes Konzertvideo anzuschauen, um einen möglichst vollständigen Eindruck vom Künstler, deren Kompositionen und Sound zu erhalten. Das war, wie ich feststellte, schon bei meinem Warmwerden mit der Musik von Hania Rani, GoGo Penguin und dem Portico Quartet überaus hilfreich.

Ich sprach im Absatz zuvor von “Musik von dieser” und dies zeigt Euch schon, dass es überaus schwer ist, den Sound des deutsch/schweizerischen Duos, dem Deutschen Erol Sarp am Piano und Lukas Vogel aus der Schweiz (Electronics), einzuordnen. Nichts kann und will da so richtig passen. GoGo Penguin aus UK geht es da ähnlich, zudem die mögen es gar nicht, in irgendwelche Schubladen gestopft zu werden und nannten Ihren Sound (geprägt von Bass, Schlagzeug, Piano und jede Menge Effektgeräte) genial umschreibend “Acoustic Electronica”.

Und dies haben wir bei den Grandbrother auch, nur müssen wir eben noch Sythies und massenweise Electronic hinzufügen, also lasst uns noch das Adjektiv “Emotional” vor den Ausdruck “Acoustic Electronica” setzen, somit haben wir doch jetzt einen Begriff, der die Werke der Grandbrothers recht treffend beschreibt, denn Emotionalität und das damit verbundene Crescendo kann niemand besser musikalisch zum Ausdruck bringen wie die Grandbrothers (Ich höre grade “All the Unknown” und hebe schon wieder samt Schreibtischsessel förmlich vom Boden ab).

Sicher finden wir auch deutliche, sehr deutliche Spuren von Ambient und Minimal Music in den Kompositionen, meist in den Intros und Outros der jeweiligen Tracks, zumal Erol (Piano) nach eigener Aussage anfangs sehr vom Minimalismus Steve Reich’scher Prägung beeinflusst war. Da jedoch die Sequenzen, die dem musikalischen Minimalismus nahe stehen, bei den Grandbrothers niemals zäh oder nervig daher kommen, nennen wir diesen Teil der Musik der Grandbrothers doch einfach mal “Ambient Minimal Music”.

Und nun zum ARTE France Concert-Video:

Das Grandbrothers Concert Video “Grandbrothers en session à la Piscine Tournesol – ARTE Concert”

ARTE France ist den Grandbrothers erstmalig im Jahr 2015 während der ersten Edition des ARTE Concert Festivals begegnet. Die Virtuosität und Poesie des Duos hatte damals das Team von ARTE vollständig in ihren Bann gezogen. Und natürlich freut man sich jetzt überaus, das Duo an so einem ausgefallenen Ort wie einem beinahe schon unpassend schnöden städtischen Schwimmbad in Szene setzen zu können. Doch davon völlig unbeeindruckt spielen die Grandbrothers einige Tracks ihr letzten Albums “All The Unknown” (erschienen am 15. Januar 2021) und tauchen die Szenerie in eine unglaublich beeindruckende Atmosphäre, die musikalisch und visuell auf der ganzen Linie überzeugen kann.

Die Bildqualität kommt in 1080p daher, auch der Sound (WEBM OPUS 160K) überzeugt mit guter Räumlichkeit, sehr schöner Bühnenabbildung und sauberen tief runter reichenden Bässen.

Ein modifiziertes Klavier, ein deutsches Duo von ehemaligen Tontechnikern, die zu Musikern wurden, eine visuell vorzüglich ausgearbeitete Bühnenkonzeption: Das sind die Grandbrothers. Musikalisch liefern Erol Sarp und Lukas Vogel eine immens überzeugende Synthese aus modifiziertem Piano (Erol) und elektronischen Gerätschaften und Synthies (Lukas) ab. Nils Frahm und Francesco Tristano lugen stilistisch etwas neidisch um die Ecke und reiben sich die Augen – die Grandbrothers führen das Klavier unter Zuhilfenahme der Elektronik in neue klangliche Gefilde.

Das Keyboard der Grandbrothers ist sowohl elegant, rhythmisch, die Crescendos steigern sich bis zu einem ultimativen Höhepunkt. Dies wird durch ein ausgeklügeltes System von selbst entwickelten Hämmerchen unterstrichen, die auf der gesamten Oberfläche des Klaviers installiert sind, auf die Saiten schlagen und auch gegen das Chassis des Pianos im Takt hämmern. Dies wird elektronisch von Lukas mithilfe der Elektronik bewerkstelligt, was dem Sound der beiden Musiker zusätzliche Dynamik verleiht.

Geleitet von diesen perkussiven Eigenheiten und den repetitiven Arrangements des Duos, folgt jeder Track einem mitreißenden Crescendo und steigert Emotionen und Gefühl bis hin zur Ekstase mit Gänsehautgefühl und Tränen der Emotion im Auge.

Tracklist:

00:00 What We See
06:09  All The Unknown
11:30 Silver
16:40 White Nights
24:19 Auberge
29:22 Bloodflow
35:17 Organism

Ursprünglich wollte ich Euch jeden hörenswerten Track als Reinhör-Tipp mit einem Sternchen versehen, doch das lass’ ich besser mal bleiben, jeder Track ist großartig und steht für sich. “Auberge” ist von den beiden in der Mitte des Sets platziert und bietet als Ambient-Highlight Zeit zum Luftholen und Sinnieren über das Gehörte, um dann mit den darauf folgenden “Bloodflow” wieder kräftig Fahrt aufzunehmen und mit dem faszinierenden “Organism” mit stakkatohaft perkussiven Arrangement zum Ende des Sets und damit zum Höhepunkt zu kommen.

Das Album “All The Unknown” vom 15.01.2021

Nachdem ich mir das ARTE Video immer und immer wieder angeschaut habe, stand für mich fest, dass ich mich dem Album wohl ausgiebig widmen und auch ein Review dazu schreiben muss – daran würde kein Weg vorbeiführen. Zuerst versuchte ich es mit dem Stream bei Tidal und Qobuz – doch das war von der Qualität her gesehen nicht das, womit ich leben wollte: Die Dynamik fehlte. Also kaufte ich mir das Album und lud es bei Juno Downloads in 16 Bit / 44.1 kHz herunter (24 Bit gebt es bei diesem Release nicht), bereitete es mithilfe spezieller Software sorgsam auf und überspielt es auf meinen für Audiofiles optimierten Musikserver.

Und das Ergebnis ist mit exzellenter Klangqualität richtig gut – so lässt sich dieses Album perfekt zu Hause über die große Anlage genießen oder unter dem Kopfhörer mit geschlossenen Augen schwelgerisch genießen. Lukas (Electronics) sagte in einem Interview so bezeichnend:

Grandbrothers

“Wenn ich mir aussuchen könnte, wie die Leute unsere Musik hören würden… Vielleicht sind es zwei verschiedene Arten. Zum einen sehr konzentriert, in einem bequemen Sessel zu Hause sitzend, mit guten Lautsprechern und wirklich intensiv genießend.
Aber auch in einem Club oder auf einer Party wäre es sehr schön Weg zu sehen, wie die Leute unsere Musik hören. Es sind diese zwei Welten: Eine eher introvertiert und alleine genießend, die andere dann die extrovertierte tanzende Seite”
.

Ich kann Lukas da nur voll und ganz zustimmen, die zu Hause-Option ist extrem faszinierend, im Club fällt das wohl leider noch für eine ganze Weile aus, aber ja, die Grandbrothers sind tanzbar und mehr als nur clubtauglich, Veranstalter etc. müssten dann das Duo halt nur buchen. Und ich gestehe: im Rahmen eines Open Airs kann ich mir derzeit kaum etwas Schöneres vorstellen.

Und der ganz große Wunsch: hier in meiner Heimatstadt Fulda auf dem Domvorplatz, der einmal im Jahr für Open Airs genutzt wird, mit einer sensationellen Lightshow im abnehmenden Abendlicht. Ich garantiere: nach zwanzig Minuten werden die Grandbrothers das gesamte Auditorium zum Tanzen und Mitgehen gebracht haben.

Mit seiner Meinung und Einschätzung zu den Hörvorlieben der Fans ist Lukas nicht alleine: GoGo Penguin sagen das Gleiche und begeistern auf Festivals mit ihrer “Acoustic Electronica” die Fans unglaublich und bringen sie stets reihenweise zum Tanzen. Wie Ihr seht, ich ziehe immer wieder Parallelen zu GoGo Penguin wie auch zu Hania Rani und dem Portico Quartet. Letztere sind die Großmeister des modernen immens spannenden Minimalismus und haben beispielsweise mit dem neuen Album “Terrain” eine Suite bestehend aus drei Sätzen mit akustischen Instrumenten und Synthies sowie einer Gesamtlaufzeit von 38 min herausgebracht – natürlich inspiriert und beeinflusst von Steve Reich. Womit wir dann die nächste Parallele ausgemacht hätten.

Das Album “All The Unknown” bezieht seine kreative Genialiät aus der scheinbaren Gegensätzlichkeit der beiden Akteure. Lukas ist mit seinen Electronics derjenige, der sich etwas verkopfter der Materie widmet, während Erol am Piano eher aus dem Bauch heraus arbeitet. Jedoch genau aus diesem Spannungsfeld speist sich die enorme Kreativität des Duos. Und diese ist eine der wichtigen Voraussetzungen für künstlerisch kreativen Ideenreichtum und Erfolg. Womit wir wieder bei GoGo Penguin und dem Portico Quartet angekommen sind, die das genau so sehen.

Der Titel des Albums “All The Unknown” ist von den Grandbrothers doppelsinnig gemeint. Er kann zum einen etwas Negatives bezeichnen, das dem Menschen Angst einflößt, wovor man am liebsten flüchten möchte – oder er kann auch eine Situation bezeichnen, die in letzter Konsequenz eine Person zu krass belasten mag, wie Erol sagt.

Man kann auch versuchen, es auf eine positive Art und Weise zu deuten”, führt Erol weiter aus. “Dass man sich einlässt auf das Unbekannte, schaut was passiert und sich ins Ungewisse stürzt. Das fanden wir als Metapher für dieses ganze Album schön. Das beschreibt die Musik an sich, mit diesen kühlen kalten, bedrohlichen Momenten, dann dieses sehr Zarte, Hoffnungsvolle, den Aufbruch, und eben auch dieses Positive, was einen antreiben soll”.

Was mich an dieser Aussage so sehr verblüfft, dass Hania Rani über ihr letztes Album “Home” vom 29.05.2020 beinahe gleicher Art redet, Hania beschreibt Ihr Album als Reise, “Home bietet eine metaphorische Reise, bietet Geschichten von einer Reise zu den Orten, die manchmal durch Zufall, manchmal durch gezielte Wahl zu unserem Zuhause werden. Home ist die Geschichte vom Verlassen eines vertrauten Ortes und der Reise, die unweigerlich daraus folgen muss [und damit auch vom Einlassen auf das neue Fremde]“, wie Hania sagt.

Wir sprechen also von vier Künstlern und Acts, die auf seltsame Weise miteinander in Verbindung zu stehen scheinen – und ja, natürlich gibt es bei den vieren Parallelen. Doch ich merkte, nachdem ich mich mit den Grandbrothers, ihrem Sound im Video und im letzten Album ausführlich beschäftigte hatte, dass mir irgendeine Kleinigkeit bei den Werken von Hania Rani, GoGo Penguin und dem Portico Quartet immer gefehlt hat, die jedoch die Musik der Grandbrothers so derart tief berührend macht und aus dem Kreis dieser vier heraushebt:

Es ist die Fähigkeit des Duos zum konstant ansteigenden Crescendo bis hin zur Ekstase, die mit voller Wucht auf den Hörer trifft und mit dem dramatischen Höhepunkt des jeweiligen Tracks ein um das andere Mal permanent Wasser in Augen treibt – Tränen der Verzückung und Glückseligkeit – oder Tränen der Verzweiflung und Erinnerung an tragische vergangene Zeiten – je nach Befindlichkeit und Seelenzustand des Hörers.

Prepared-Piano Techniken

Und wie schon gesagt, Grandbrothers nutzen eine Vielzahl von den sogenannten klassischen “Prepared Piano-Techniken”. Lukas sagt dazu: “Das Spektrum unserer Klangexperimente geht von ganz einfachen, leichten Manipulationen im und am Flügel, wenn Erol Saiten abdämpft, während  er spielt, bis hin zu Büchern, die man auf die Saiten legt. Wenn man dann anschlägt, und das Buch ein bisschen runterdrückt, dann gibt es einen sehr scheppernden, perkussiven Klang. Auch mit Magneten auf den Saiten haben wir viel experimentiert”.

Das sind diese „klassischen“ Prepared-Piano-Techniken, bei denen man die Saite, die schwingt, berührt und damit einen anderen Ton aus der schwingenden Saite holt. Das ist die eine Seite. Dann gibt es die Technik, dass man mit unterschiedlichen Materialien experimentiert – zum Beispiel Ketten!

Wenn man da, wo die Saiten anfangen, mit Ketten drüber streicht, dann gibt es einen sehr shaker-artigen Sound. Oder es wird mit Mallets und anderen Schlagstöcken auf den Korpus des Flügels geschlagen – oder die Saiten werden mit Besen traktiert. Das ist dann ein weiterer Aspekt der Klangforschung.

Aber das erweitert sich nochmal fast ins Unendliche, wenn man die ganzen Klänge aufnimmt, und im Computer mit Effekten weiter bearbeitet. Verzerrung, Hall, Filter –  also ein ganzes Effektarsenal – um aus diesen Klängen wiederum neue zu erzeugen.

Und genau so sind die Grandbrothers bei der Produktion des neuen Albums auch vorgegangen, sie haben ihr althergebrachtes Produktionskonzept beibehalten, wonach die Sounds dominant immer erstmal aus dem Piano kommen müssen und anschließend bei Lukas elektronisch weiterverarbeitet werden, um dann an die magische “Grandbrothers-Apparatur” weitergereicht zu werden. Doch dazu kommen wir gleich.

Die magische Grandbrothers-Apparatur

Lukas erklärt uns dazu: “Das eine ist ja die tatsächliche Apparatur, also das mechanische Device am und über dem Piano, welches dann eher mein Metier ist, weil ich es steure und auch gebaut habe”.
Doch das Duo hatte in der Folgezeit die Konzept-Basis für das zweite Album “Open” von 2017 noch mal weiterentwickelt.

“Zu diesen Hämmerchen, die gegen das Chassis des Flügels schlagen, diesen so als Resonanzkörper nutzen und auch die Saiten im Flügel von oben malträtieren können”, so führt Lukas fort, “sind nun auch „Bows“, also Bögen bzw. Brücken hinzugekommen, die man über die Saiten hängt, um diese zum Schwingen zu bringen, ohne dass sie die Saiten jedoch berühren sollen.” Im Übrigen sind die Hämmerchen nichts Ungewöhnliches, ähnliches wird auch von GoGo Penguin eingesetzt, dieses Drum-System heißt dort Polyend Perc. Nachlesen könnt Ihr das gerne hier auf unserer Site unter dem Bereich “Acoustic Electronica”.

Lukas erklärt uns weiter: “Das ergibt schließlich gibt sehr flächige Sounds, die sonst von Flöte oder Orgel produziert werden. Das ist dann auf jeden Fall eine Weiterentwicklung der Einsatzmöglichkeiten der bekannten Apparatur.

Doch für das dritte neue Album “All The Unknown” haben wir nun weniger an der Mechanik gefeilt, eher schon am Sound, der aus der Mechanik resultiert, mit diesem experimentiert und somit auch transformiert”.

Das Produktionskonzept des neuen Albums “All The Unknow” bricht demnach jedoch in Teilen mit der angestammten Produktionsmethode, erstmals werden auch viele Loops, Samples und Effekte eingesetzt, die vorproduziert worden sind und so dem Klangteppich neue Ebenen hinzufügen.

Schlußbewertung:


Mit “Home” von Hania Rani, GoGo Penguin mit dem gleichen Titel aus dem Jahr 2020, “Terrain” vom Portico Quartet und natürlich “All The Unkown” von den Grandbrothers stehen nun vier Alben ganz vorne im Regal, die alle zu einer nicht näher definierten Richtung gehören, weit weg vom Neo- und Fusion-Jazz, noch weiter entfernt von kaltem Minimalismus-Nebel und von schwer zugänglicher Neo-Klassik. Alle vier Alben sind hochemotional, magisch, bringen den Hörer, wenn er sich darauf einlässt zu neuen Bewusstseinsebenen.

Die Grandbrothers setzen jedoch noch eins drauf, und erheben sich mit einem großen Pathos und immenser Emotionalität über die anderen drei genannten Acts.

Klangqualität:

16 Bit / 44.1 kHz

Bassbereich: 8/10
Mittenbereich: 8/10
Hochtonbereich: 9/10
Räumlichkeit: 8/10
Ortbarkeit: 9/10

Bezugsquelle

Artist: Grandbrothers
Title: All the Unknown
Format: Album
Release Date: 15. Januar 2021
Label: City Slang
Genre: Emotional Acoustic Electronica, Ambient Minimal Music
13 Tracks • 57m 18s

Bei Qobuz verfügbar in

cd_silver_45

16-Bit CD Quality
44.1 kHz – Stereo

Mein Test-Equiment

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

%d Bloggern gefällt das: