Jonas Saalbach: Headlights – Album – 2021

Also available in ...: Deutsch (German)

Jonas Saalbach: Headlights – Album – 2021- Radikon

Genre: Progressive House, Electronica

Intro
Jonas Saalbach "Headlines"

On October 29, 2021, Berlin-based DJ and producer Jonas Saalbach released his new 11-track album “Headlights” on his own Radikon label, which he founded in 2018. It is a proven smart move to found your own label and to place your own (new) releases there, because the artist is no longer bound to potential production regulations of a third-party label. “Headlights” is, however, contrary to the statements on the label flyer, not the highlight of Jonas’ career, as this description seems to be a bit too abbreviated. The new album is something completely different than just a career highlight that runs through.

Brief Historical Synopsis:

Instead, with the release of “Headlights” and the album “Reminiscence” (2019), Jonas Saalbach has now succeeded in climbing up the high plateau of electronic music. And it is deservedly quite good to live up there, as long as you can keep up the quality standard. Also the gig at Burning Man Festival 2019 and the following Cercle video production “Live at Preikestolen in Norway” together with Einmusik were extremely helpful training sessions for reaching the mentioned status. So this is anything but just a career highlight, it is rather the basis for success in the future – and Jonas Saalbach will have this success, also internationally – I am pretty sure about that.

For me, the Cercle Video production was the key experience par excellence concerning Jonas Saalbach. The breathtaking scenery on the natural rock platform Preikestolen high above the Lysefjord, plus the video production art of the Cercle team and last but not least the tracks of Einmusik and Jonas Saalbach made this production an audiovisual synthesis of the arts of the highest order. Since this really deeply impressive event, the sound of Jonas Saalbach has in my ears a beautiful cool Nordic touch (the Preikestolen just imprints immensely) with immense depth, which, of course, does not get along with pathos at all.

The album Headlights
Jonas Saalbach
Jonas Saalbach

But what is the best way to characterize Jonas Saalbach’s new album “Headlights”? When the album “Reminiscence” came out, and I had also watched the video mentioned above, the two previous albums “Ancient Lake (2015)” and “Perspective (2017)” were classic must-buy exercises for me. As part of my archive, Jonas’ albums are among those rare albums that are always a pleasure to play over the years. And this also applies, with a small restriction, to the new album “Headlights”.

Jonas has always known the great musical gesture and how to set the slowly evolving harmony lines in his sound at all times This has always been one of Saalbach’s typical musical trademarks, but in “Headlights” Jonas Saalbach goes one step further.

The album kicks off with the near-epic “Half a Decade,” an opener with the grand musical gesture of cinematic widescreen sound. It continues with the same caliber, the track “Headlights” scores on the one hand with multiple interwoven floating electronic sound layers and slightly plaintive vocals. “Transformation” sparkles with tech vibes and masterfully applied multi-gridded sound layers. The tracks “Nacho”, Jenora and especially “Acstatic” are real acoustic eye-catchers, especially “Acstatic” is very pleasing with slight 80s electro reminiscences.

Before I continue to bore you with my words, I will let the pictures do the talking and present you the latest video production “Jonas Saalbach Live at Krka National Park, Croatia by TIME:CODE”.

The Video: Live at Krka National Park, Croatia by TIME:CODE

Track listing:

00:00 Transformation *
07:03 Too Much Future
12:46 Lyra feat. Nico Morano
17:15 Nacho *
21:45 Acstatic *
25:18 Headlights feat. Angus Powell *
30:12 Wanderlust *
34:54 Guy J – Catfish (Jonas Saalbach Remix)

40:17 Cellophane feat. SANDHAUS *
45:02 Gardens Of Siam *
49:30 2011 *
54:09 Fulltone – Mahe (Jonas Saalbach Remix)
59:05 Providence feat. Yuven
01:04:18 Jenora *
01:09:18 Changing feat. Luna Semara *
= from the new album “Headlights”

The songs in this video are mostly taken from the new album “Headlights”. The picture quality is available in 4K and is excellent. Only some drone overflights and panorama shots show slight trailing effects; Cercle is able to handle this a bit better. But to be fair, TIME:CODE has improved its video image quality significantly in the last time and is one of the best video production crews worldwide since the sensational “Nils Hoffmann at Carpathians, Romania” video.
The location in the Krka National Park in Croatia with the beguilingly beautiful waterfalls is incredibly impressive, with the fantastic camerawork and sound by Jonas Saalbach, an audiovisual masterpiece has undoubtedly been created here.

The Bottom Line:

The video came out about four weeks before the “Headlights” album and with its extremely successful audiovisual realization it’s a real good appetizer for the album “Headlights”. With “Headlights” Jonas Saalbach has delivered a very good album, only the tracks “Half A Decade” and “Headlights” (and these are the already mentioned limitations) are coming along with too much pathos and somewhat too thickly painted, according to my taste. The album is available in CD quality with 16 bits / 44.1 kHz, i.e. lossless, but I can’t help noticing that lossless is not hi-res.

9.5

Overall

Music10
Format: 24 Bit / 48 kHz10
Räumlichkeit / Spatiality10
Höhen / Treble9.5
Mitten / Mids9.5
Bass / Bass9.5
Video (Sound + Picture)8

Artist: Jonas Saalbach
Title: Headlight
Format: Album (Digital/Vinyl)
Release Date: 29 October 2021
Format Digital / Vinyl
Label: Radikon
Cat-No: Rdkn38

Lossless

Available for digital purchase Nov. 19. 2021
at Bandcamp in 16 Bit / 44.1 kHz (lossless)

My Test Equipment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

INAMAR

This review is
Dedicated to INAMAR

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

Jonas Saalbach: Headlights – Album – 2021

Also available in ...: English (Englisch)

Jonas Saalbach: Headlights – Album – 2021- Radikon

Genre: Progressive House, Electronica

Intro
Jonas Saalbach "Headlines"

Am 29. Oktober 2021 hat der Berliner DJ und Producer Jonas Saalbach sein neues 11-Track-Album „Headlights“ auf dem eigenen Radikon-Label herausgebracht, das er im Jahre 2018 gegründet hat. Es ist erwiesenermaßen ein geschickter Schachzug, sein eigenes Label zu gründen und dort auch die eigenen (neuen) Releases unterzubringen, da der Artist damit nicht mehr an eventuelle Produktionsregularien eines Fremdlabels gebunden ist. „Headlights“ ist jedoch, entgegen den Aussagen auf dem Label-Waschzettel, nicht der Höhepunkt der Karriere von Jonas, denn diese Beschreibung erscheint mir als etwas zu verkürzt. Das neue Album ist etwas ganz Anderes als nur ein durchlaufender Karriere-Höhepunkt.

Kurzer historischer Abriss:

Vielmehr hat es Jonas Saalbach geschafft, mit dem Release von „Headlights“ und dem Album „Reminiscence“ (2019) nun das Hochplateau der elektronischen Musik zu erklimmen. Und dort oben lebt es sich verdientermaßen ganz gut, sofern man den Qualitätsstandard halten kann. Auch der Auftritt beim Burning Man Festival 2019 und die darauf folgende Cercle-Video-Produktion „Live at Preikestolen in Norway for Cercle“ zusammen mit Einmusik waren extrem hilfreiche Trainingseinheiten für das Erreichen des genannten Status. Dies ist also alles andere als nur ein Höhepunkt der Karriere, es ist vielmehr die Grundlage für den Erfolg in der Zukunft – und diesen Erfolg wird Jonas Saalbach haben, auch international – da bin ich mir ziemlich sicher.

Die Cercle-Video-Produktion war in Sachen Jonas Saalbach für mich das Schlüsselerlebnis schlechthin. Die atemberaubende Kulisse auf der natürlichen Felsplattform Preikestolen hoch oben über dem Lysefjord, dazu die Video-Produktionskunst des Cercle Teams und last but not least die Tracks von Einmusik und Jonas Saalbach formten mit dieser Produktion ein audiovisuelles Gesamtkunstwerk allererster Güte. Seit diesem wirklich zutiefst beeindruckenden Event hat der Sound von Jonas Saalbach in meine Ohren einen wunderschönen kühlen nordischen Touch (der Preikestolen prägt halt ungemein) mit immensem Tiefgang, der sich allerdings grundsätzlich mit Pathos überhaupt nicht verträgt.

Das Album Headlights
Jonas Saalbach
Jonas Saalbach

Doch wie charakterisiert man das neue Album „Headlights“ von Jonas Saalbach nun am besten? Als das Album „Reminiscence“ erschien, und ich zudem das oben erwähnte Video angeschaut hatte, waren die beiden Vorgänger-Alben „Ancient Lake (2015)“ und „Perspective (2017)“ für mich klassische Pflichtkaufübungen. Die Alben von Jonas gehören als Teil meines Archivs zu den raren Alben, die man über die Jahre immer wieder gerne laufen lässt. Und dies gilt auch, mit einer kleinen Einschränkung, für das neue Album „Headlights“.

Jonas beherrschte schon immer die große musikalische Geste und wusste zu jeder Zeit, wie die sich langsam entwickelnden Harmonielinien in seinem Sound zu setzen sind. Dies war schon immer einer der typischen Saalbach’schen musikalischen Markenzeichen, doch in „Headlights“ setzt Jonas Saalbach noch eins drauf.

Das Album startet mit dem beinahe schon epischen „Half a Decade“, ein Opener mit der großen musikalischen Geste im kinematografischen Breitwand-Cinemascope-Sound. Weiter geht′s dann mit dem gleichen Kaliber, der Track „Headlights“ punktet einerseits mit mehrfach miteinander verwobenen schwebenden elektronischen Klangebenen und leicht klagenden Vocals. „Transformation“ glänzt mit Tech Vibes und meisterhaft angelegten mehrfach gerasterten Soundebenen. Die Tracks „Nacho“, Jenora und vorallem „Acstatic“ sind echte akustische Hingucker, insbesondere „Acstatic“ vermag mit leichten 80er Electro-Reminiszenzen sehr zu gefallen.

Doch bevor ich Euch weiter mit meinen Worten langweile, will ich Bilder sprechen lassen und präsentiere Euch die neueste Videoproduktion „Jonas Saalbach Live at Krka National Park, Croatia by TIME:CODE“

Das Video: Live at Krka National Park, Croatia by TIME:CODE

Die Tracklist:

00:00 Transformation *
07:03 Too Much Future
12:46 Lyra feat. Nico Morano
17:15 Nacho *
21:45 Acstatic *
25:18 Headlights feat. Angus Powell *
30:12 Wanderlust *
34:54 Guy J – Catfish (Jonas Saalbach Remix)

40:17 Cellophane feat. SANDHAUS *
45:02 Gardens Of Siam *
49:30 2011 *
54:09 Fulltone – Mahe (Jonas Saalbach Remix)
59:05 Providence feat. Yuven
01:04:18 Jenora *
01:09:18 Changing feat. Luna Semara *
* = from the new album „Headlights“

Die Songs aus diesem Video stammen größtenteils vom neuen Album „Headlights“. Die Bildqualität liegt in 4K vor und ist exzellent, lediglich bei einigen Drohnen-Überflügen und -Panorama-Shots kommt es zu leichten Nachzieheffekten, Cercle hat dies etwas besser im Griff. Der Fairness halber sei aber gesagt, dass TIME:CODE in der letzten Zeit in Sachen Video-Bildqualität mächtig zugelegt hat und zählt für mich seit dem sensationellen „Nils Hoffmann at Carpathians, Romania“ – Video zu den weltweit besten Video-Produktions-Crews.
Die Location im Krka National Park in Kroatien mit den betörend schönen Wasserfällen ist unglaublich beeindruckend, mit der fantastischen Kameraarbeit und dem Sound von Jonas Saalbach wurde hier ohne Zweifel ein audiovisuelles Meisterwerk geschaffen.

The Bottom Line:

Das Video kam ca. vier Wochen vor dem „Headlights-„Album raus und ist mit der überaus gelungenen audiovisuellen Umsetzung ein echter Appetizer für das Album „Headlights“. Mit „Headlights“ hat Jonas Saalbach ein sehr gutes Album abgeliefert, lediglich die Tracks „Half A Decade“ und „Headlights“ (und das sind die bereits genannten Einschränkungen) kommen nach meinem Geschmack mit zu viel Pathos und etwas zu dick aufgestrichen daher. Das Album liegt in CD-Qualität mit 16 Bits / 44.1 kHz vor, also lossless, aber ich kann mir nicht verkneifen zu bemerken, dass lossless eben nicht Hi-res ist.

9.5

Overall

Music10
Format: 24 Bit / 48 kHz10
Räumlichkeit / Spatiality10
Höhen / Treble9.5
Mitten / Mids9.5
Bass / Bass9.5
Video (Sound + Picture)8

Artist: Jonas Saalbach
Title: Headlight
Format: Album (Digital/Vinyl)
Release Date: 29.Oktober 2021
Format Digital / Vinyl
Label: Radikon
Cat-No: Rdkn38

Lossless

Digital zum Kauf verfügbar ab 19. Nov. 2021
bei Bandcamp in 16 Bit / 44.1 kHz (lossless)

Mein Test-Equiment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

INAMAR

Dieses Review ist
INAMAR gewidmet

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool