GusGus: Mobile Home – 2021

Dieser Beitrag ist auch verfügbar auf: Deutsch (German)

GusGus: Mobile Home – Album – Oroom – 2021

Genre: Electronica, EDM, Alternative, Indie

Intro

The magic date has finally arrived. May 28, 2021. GusGus from Iceland will release their new 11th album titled “Mobile Home” three years after the release of their last album “Lies are more flexible” on Friday, May 28, 2021. 25 years the guys have been on the road in the name of the divine electronic sound and have never, but never, lost focus of the zeitgeist with their releases.

Even more, from release to release, GusGus have steadily evolved and left a lasting landmark on electronic music.

With “Mobile Home” GusGus have again delivered a first-class electronic album, with several layers of electronic soundscapes, this time with some poppiness, maybe a bit more commercial than before, but this should not be a negative judgment, because GusGus have again vaccinated their sound with the highly effective components Ambient, Darkwave, Dowtempo and Synthpop – and have prevented side effects highly creatively with the use of modular synths.

Sometimes they indulge in old passions and come along something Depeche Moody (Original Heartbreak). But this doesn’t sound frumpy at all, because this time GusGus have also undergone a fresh cell cure and brought the incredibly charismatic Margrét Rán from the Icelandic synth-pop band VÖK into their longship. With her immensely expressive fresh voice, Margrét Rán inspires all along the line.

2021 LineUp

So GusGus from 2021 consists of GusGus veteran Biggi Veira, founding member Daníel Ágúst and Margrét Rán … and with former bandmates Siggi Kinski and Stefán Árn who are in charge of the visuals, GusGus 2021 is certainly not just an interchangeable electronic shrumming combo, but have evolved into an incredibly impressive multimedia project on the very highest audiovisual level, as the videos for the first four released tracks “Stay The Ride”, “Higher”, “Our World” and last but not least also “Love is Alone” are impressively proving.

I have already published detailed reviews of the video releases“Stay The Ride“, “Higher“, “Our World“, just click on the links below and have a closer look.

The video for the track “Love Is Alone”

The video for “Love is Alone” was released a few days ago and I don’t want to keep it any longer away from you:

Like the three videos before, “Love is Alone” was produced by the well known video production druids and former band members “Árn & Kinski”, who have also created stunning videos for various other greats of the electronic music scene like Aurora, Sigur Rós, Olof Arnald, Snow Patrol, Kiasmos or even Ólafur Arnalds as well. You can read about the work of these two hyper-creative video producers at this link.

The album “Mobile Home

But what exactly does “mobile home” do to us hedonistic consumer people?
… Are GusGus greeting us friendly with the nine little short stories and stick a message for us behind the mirror?
…. Is there even a message hanging over the 9 tracks?
…… Are GusGus even criticizing all of us?
…….. Do GusGus even criticize the system?

Yes, that’s what GusGus do, no question.

“Mobile Home” is an immersive assembly of short stories that blasts an echo of our world’s original destiny into our ear canal? A destiny that is gradually in danger of dissolving more and more between the omnipresent screens of our everyday electronic distractions and our materially hedonistic egoistic consciousness.

GusGus

On “Mobile Home” GusGus operates with metaphors and sends flashing flickering warning signs with masterful compositions and arrangements along with profound ideology criticism as well. However, they never do so with a moral finger raised, but always nice and relaxed and with deep bass sequences, danceable grooves and a very good grip. On the one hand.

The tracks and videos from the artistic “Mobile Home” cosmos send us short but no less intense dystopian metaphysical splinter massages that tell us about the antagonistic struggle of reality and the threatening virtual AR fantasy.
On the other hand.
In other words, “Mobile Home” serves us dystopian daydreams of VR adventures that we definitely want nothing to do with in reality.

“Mobile Home”, with its nine audiovisual and acoustic short stories, feels like a mind-expanding trip – and now you’re welcome to interpret that as you wish.
Again, on the other hand.

The album tells of isolation and loneliness, of the dangers that our supposedly homely high-tech comfort zones hold for us(Higher) …

Of the disorientation of modern mankind(Stay the Ride)….

Of unrequited love and very fragile relationships between people(Original Heartbreak) …

Of the wonderful experiences in our youth, such as carefree skating on the winter ice rinks. This translated into a story of the struggle between good and evil in this This translated into the story of the struggle between good and evil in this supposedly great leisure world we live in (The Rink).

GusGus presents us with “Mobile Home” an enormously fascinating electronic album – thoughtfulness, danceability and ingenious arrangements merge into a complete Work of Art. By now I must have listened to “Mobile Home” more than 100 times and nothing wears out, nothing at all.
In a lengthy conversation with a good friend today, I said that “Mobile Home” is one of the best things I’ve heard in the last ten years. Right, and there is some truth in that. Absolutely true. Sort of. GusGus is more Flexible. Then others.

Sound quality

The review copy I have comes in 24 bit / 96kHz and sounds fantastic. The sound is pleasantly warm, precisely mixed with excellent and wide stage imaging and localization. The low frequency range is rich and reaches down very deep without any booming. The mids come across coherent and natural, the treble range shines with precision and avoids any intrusive sharpness.

At Qobuz only the 16 bit / 44.1 kHz version is listed so far. But it also just 1:29 h on May 28, 2021 in the early morning.

Epilogue

For almost five months I was allowed to accompany GusGus with my reviews on the releases of the singles, EP’s and videos up to the release of the album “Mobile Home” – it was a profound, great experience and endless fun. On Feb. 19, 2021, I had contacted the band directly and said that I would like to write about their releases. And I have never been welcomed so openly and supported so intensively in my work. The same goes for the PR agency Get:In, who supported me with mountains of information about GusGus and the releases.

Thank you for that.

Well then?

With the release of the album “Mobile Home” we are at the end … or beginning … but in any case we have arrived in our port of destination. But no, life with GusGus doesn’t stop there.
But what will become of the future?
Will the Greens become the strongest party for the first time in Germany’s federal elections on Sept. 26, 2021, and will Anna-Lena Baerbock at age 40 become Germany’s first female Green chancellor?
Will Margrét Rán from VÖK remain an integral part of the GusGus line-up?
What will happen to VÖK after that?
Can I have both?
Does Margrét Rán get out again and what do I do then?
Who would then have follow in the wake of Margrét?
Anabel Englund? Yay …. wouldn’t that be a good idea?
I don’t know. I don’t really know.
Will GusGus keep the fire burning with “mobile remix albums”?

Questions about questions.

But first, GusGus will serve us with a live performance of all “Mobile Home” tracks on Saturday, May 29, 2021 at 8pm CEST via the Moment House platform for only 10 bucks, a great follow-up not to be missed. You can book the event under this link.

Facts about GusGus – Mobile Home

Artist: GusGus
Title: Mobile Home
Format: album
Label: Oroom
Release Date: May 28, 2021
Gnere: Electronic, Synth, Alternative and Indie
9 Tracks – 37m 23s

Where to buy
cd_silver_45

Available on Qobuzin CD Quality
16-bit / 44.1 kHz – stereo (24-bit may be added soon)

My Test Equiment

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

%d bloggers like this:

GusGus: Mobile Home – 2021

This review is also available in: English (Englisch)

GusGus: Mobile Home – Album – Oroom – 2021

Genre: Electronica, EDM, Alternative, Indie

Intro

Das magische Datum ist endlich erreicht. 28. Mai 2021. GusGus aus Island veröffentlichen drei Jahre nach dem Release Ihres letzten Albums “Lies are more flexible” am Freitag, 28. Mai 2021, das neue 11. Album mit dem Titel “Mobile Home”. 25 Jahre ist die Truppe nun schon im Auftrag des göttlichen Elektronik-Sounds unterwegs und haben nie, aber auch wirklich nie, mit Ihren Releases den Zeitgeist aus dem Fokus verloren.

Mehr noch, von Release zu Release haben sich GusGus stetig weiterentwickelt und die elektronische Musik nachhaltig geprägt.

Mit “Mobile Home” haben GusGus wieder ein erstklassiges Electronic-Album abgeliefert, mit mehreren Ebenen elektronischer Klanglandschaften, diesmal gerne auch mal etwas poppy, vielleicht auch etwas kommerzieller, was jedoch kein negatives Urteil darstellen soll, da GusGus auch deutliche Spuren von Ambient, Darkwave, Dowtempo und Synthpop mit einfließen lassen – und das hochkreativ mit dem Einsatz modularer Synthies extrem lecker abgeschmeckt haben.

Mitunter frönt man auch alten Leidenschaften und es kommt etwas Depeche Moody daher (Original Heartbreak). Doch dies klingt keinesfalls altbacken, denn auch diesmal haben GusGus sich einer Frischzellenkur unterzogen und die unglaublich charismatische Margrét Rán von der isländischen Synth-Pop-Kapelle VÖK ins Langschiff geholt. Margrét Rán begeistert mit Ihrer immens ausdrucksstarken frischen Stimme auf der ganzen Linie.

2021 LineUp

GusGus aus dem Jahre 2021 bestehen also aus dem GusGus-Urgestein Biggi Veira, Gründungsmitglied Daníel Ágúst und Margrét Rán … und mit ehemaligen Bandkollegen Siggi Kinski und Stefán Árn, die sich um die visuelle Umsetzung kümmern, ist GusGus 2021 mit Sicherheit nicht einfach nur eine austauschbare Electronic Schrummel-Truppe, sondern hat sich zu einem unglaublich beeindruckenden Multimedia-Projekt auf aller höchstem audiovisuellem Niveau weiterentwickelt, was die Videos zu den ersten vier veröffentlichten Tracks “Stay The Ride”, “Higher”, “Our World” und last but not least auch “Love is Alone” eindrucksvoll belegen.

Zu den Video-Releases “Stay The Ride“, “Higher“, “Our World” habe ich bereits ausführliche Reviews veröffentlicht, klickt einfach auf die unterlegten Links und schaut’s es Euch näher an.

Das Video zum Track “Love Is Alone”

Das Video zu “Love is Alone” ist vor ein paar Tagen erschienen will ich Euch nicht länger vorenthalten:

Wie die drei Videos zuvor wurde auch “Love is Alone” von den Video-Produktions-Druiden und ehemaligen Bandmitgliedern “Árn & Kinski” produziert, die auch Videos für diverse andere Größen der Electronic Music Szene wie Aurora, Sigur Rós, Olof Arnald, Snow Patrol, Kiasmos oder auch Ólafur Arnalds überaus beeindruckend in Szene gesetzt haben. Unter diesem Link könnt Ihr Euch über die Arbeiten der beiden hyperkreativen Video-Produzenten informieren.

Das Album “Mobile Home”

Doch was genau stellt denn nun “Mobile Home” bei uns hedonistischen Konsumentenmenschen an?
… Stecken uns GusGus mit den neun kleinen Kurzgeschichten freundlich grüßend eine Message hinter den Spiegel?
…. Hängt über den 9 Tracks gar eine Botschaft?
…… Üben GusGus gar an uns allen Kritik?
…….. Betreiben GusGus gar Systemkritik?

Ja, das machen GusGus, keine Frage.

“Mobile Home” ist eine immersive Montage von Kurzgeschichten, die uns ein Echo von der ursprünglichen Bestimmung unserer Welt in den Gehörgang bläst; eine Bestimmung, die allmählich in Gefahr gerät, sich zwischen den omnipräsenten Bildschirmen unserer alltäglichen, elektronischen Ablenkung und unseres materiell hedonistisch egoistischen Bewusstseins mehr und mehr aufzulösen.

GusGus

GusGus operiert bei “Mobile Home” mit Metaphern und setzt mit meisterhaften Kompositionen und Arrangements sowie tiefgründiger Ideologiekritik blinkend flackernde Warnzeichen. Das jedoch niemals mit dem erhobenen moralischen Zeigefinger, sondern immer schön locker und flockig und mit tiefschürfenden Basssequenzen, groovend und tanzbar mit sehr guter Bodenhaftung. Einerseits.

Die Tracks und Videos aus dem künstlerische “Mobile Home”- Kosmos senden uns kurze aber nicht weniger intensive dystopisch metaphysische Splitter-Massages, die vom antagonistischen Kampf der Realität und der bedrohlich virtuellen AR Fantasie erzählen.
Andererseits.
Anders ausgedrückt: “Mobile Home” serviert uns dystopische Tagträume von VR-Abenteuern, mit denen wir in der Realität ganz bestimmt nichts zu tun haben wollen.

“Mobile Home” wirkt mit seinen neun audiovisuellen und akustischen Kurzgeschichten wie ein bewusstseinserweiternder Trip – und das könnt Ihr nun gerne interpretieren, wie Ihr es wollt.
Auch wiederum andererseits.

Das Album erzählt von Isolation und Vereinsamung, von der Gefahren, die unsere vermeintlich heimeligen HighTech Komfortzonen für uns bereithalten (Higher) …

Von der Orientierungslosigkeit des modernen Menschen (Stay the Ride)…

Von unerwiderter Liebe und sehr zerbrechlichen Beziehungen zwischen Menschen (Original Heartbreak) …

Von den schönen Erfahrungen in unserer Jugend, wie z.B. das unbeschwerte Schlittschuhfahren auf den winterlichen Eisbahnen. Dies umgesetzt in die Geschichte vom Kampf zwischen Gut und Böse in dieser unserer vermeintlich tollen Freizeitwelt (The Rink).

GusGus präsentiert uns mit “Mobile Home” ein enorm faszinierendes Electronic Album – Nachdenklichkeit, Tanzbarkeit und geniale Arrangements verschmelzen zu einem Gesamtkunstwerk. Mittlerweile dürfte ich “Mobile Home” mehr als 100 Mal angehört haben, und es nutzt sich nichts ab, gar nichts.
In einem längeren Gespräch mit einer guten Freundin habe ich heute gesagt, dass “Mobile Home” zum Besten gehört, was ich in den letzten zehn Jahren gehört habe. Und da ist was dran. Das stimmt. Irgendwie. GusGus is more Flexible. Then others.

Klangqualität

Das mir vorliegende Rezensionsexemplar kommt in 24 Bit / 96kHz daher und klingt fantastisch. Der Sound ist angenehm warm, präzise abgemischt mit extrem guter und weiter Bühnenabbildung und Ortbarkeit. Der Tieftonbereich ist satt und reicht ohne jegliche Dröhnerei sehr tief hinab. Die Mitten kommen stimmig und natürlich rüber, der Hochtonbereich glänzt mit Präzision und vermeidet jegliche aufdringliche Schärfe.

Bei Qobuz ist bislang nur die 16 Bit / 44.1 kHz Version gelistet. Aber es ja auch erst 1:29 h am 28.05.2021 in der Früh.

Epilog

Beinahe fünf Monate lang durfte ich GusGus mit meinen Reviews zu den Releases der Singles, EP’s und Videos bis hin zum Release des Albums “Mobile Home” begleiten – es war eine profunde, großartige Erfahrung, die unendlich viel Spaß gemacht hat. Am 19.02.2021 hatte ich mich direkt an die Band gewandt und gesagt, dass ich gerne über Ihre Releases berichten würde. Und ich wurde noch nie derart offen aufgenommen und derart intensiv bei meiner Arbeit unterstützt. Das gilt auch für die PR-Agentur Get:In, die mich mit Bergen von Informationen zu GusGus und den Releases unterstützt hat.

Ich danke Euch dafür.

Und nun?

Mit dem Release des Albums “Mobile Home” sind wir also erstmal am Ende … oder Anfang … auf jeden Fall aber im Bestimmungshafen angekommen. Doch nein, das Leben mit GusGus hört ja damit nicht auf.
Doch was wird aus der Zukunft?
Werden die Grünen am 26.09.2021 erstmal stärkste Partei bei der Bundestagswahl in Deutschland und wird Annalena Baerbock mit 40 Jahren die erste deutsche grüne Kanzlerin?
Bleibt Margrét Rán von VÖK fester Bestandteil des LineUps?
Was wird dann mit VÖK?
Kann ich beides haben?
Steigt Margrét Rán wieder aus und was mach’ ich dann?
Wer würde dann Margrét nachfolgen?
Anabel Englund? Jaaa …. wäre das nicht eine gute Idee?
Weiß nicht. So recht
Wird GusGus mit “Mobile Remix-Alben” das Feuer am Brennen erhalten?

Fragen über Fragen.

Doch erstmal servieren uns GusGus am Samstag, 29.05.2021 um 20.00 h CEST mit einer Live-Performance aller “Mobile Home” Tracks über die Plattform Moment House für 10 Öcken einen satten Nachschlag, den Ihr Euch nicht entgehen lassen solltet. Buchen könnt Ihr den Event unter diesem Link.

Facts zu GusGus – Mobile Home

Artist: Gusgus
Title: Mobile Home
Format: Album
Label: Oroom
Release Date: 28. Mai 2021
Gnere: Electronic, Synth, Alternativ und Indie
9 Tracks • 37m 23s

Bezugsquellen
cd_silver_45

Bei Qobuz verfügbar in CD Quality 
16-Bit / 44.1 kHz – Stereo (24 Bit wird ggf. in Kürze nachgereicht)

Mein Test-Equiment

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

%d Bloggern gefällt das: