Ya Tseen: Indian Yard – Album – 2021

Also available in ...: Deutsch (German)

Ya Tseen: Indian Yard – Album -2021- Sub Pop

Genre: Alternative/Indie, Pop

“Indian Yard” is the first album by Ya Tseen, an Alaskan indigenous band, released on the Seattle-based Sub Pop label. Ya Tseen is another pseudonym and project of the indigenous highly active artist Nicholas Galanin. In order to get closer to the album “Indian Yard”, we first have to deal with Nicholas Galanin in detail, so that we can place his work in the overall artistic context.

A short bio:
Ya Tseen

Ya Tseen aka Nicholas Galanin lives and works with his family in Sitka, Alaska and his work explores contemporary indigenous culture from a perspective defined by a deep connection to his land and homeland. His artwork is marked by keen observational skills and engages the intersections of culture and ways of life in ways of language, imagery, and sound.

Galanin’s works are inherently political, outspoken, bold and poetic, at the same time imbued with critical thinking and formally serve as precious vessels for indigenous knowledge, culture, and methods. Galanin engages with indigenous past, present, and future as a way to reinvigorate the collective memory that has been intentionally darkened, removing barriers to the engagement and keeping alive the transmission of knowledge about indigenous history. His works are both critical of the commercialization of Indigenous culture and contribute to the continued existence of Tlingit art.

He uses materials and processes to create his artwork that expand the global dialogue about Indigenous arts and describe the ways in which culture can be transported. His work is in numerous public and private collections and has been exhibited worldwide. Galanin apprenticed with master carvers in his homeland, graduated with a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from London’s Guildhall University, and received his Master of Fine Arts degree from Massey University in New Zealand.

Nicholas Galanin about himself and his art:

“Our culture is deeply rooted in our connection to the land and my homeland; like the land, culture cannot be limited. I draw inspiration from generations of Tlingit and Unangax̂ cultures that are deeply connected to our land, to which I belong. From this perspective, I engage with contemporary conditions in a cross-cultural way.

My creative process is a constant pursuit of freedom and of visions for the present and the future. Through the use of indigenous and non-indigenous methods and materials, I resist superficial romanticization, cultural categorization and limitation. Through my work I address such topics as adaptability, resilience along with survival strategies, rampant cultural memorylessness and even dream worlds, memories, the new blossoming of cultural traditions and connection to our land, nature and homeland as well as the effects of being separated from it.”

The album “Indian Yard”
Ya Tseen

If you expect “Indian Yard” to be a cerebral world music album, you are seriously on the wrong path. Ya Tseen have created a beautiful pop album with multi-dimensional electronic layers, on which the vocals and the sound of conventional instruments such as bass, guitar and drums can unfold themselves beautifully. The listener is immediately drawn into the magic of the album, but even as a pop album, this opus is so completely different from all that this genre usually offers us.

“Indian Yard” is rich in emotions and has a keen sense for topics such as love, longing, frustration, pain, revolution and connection with the compelling expressions of an indigenous consciousness.

The energetic electro-soul cascade of “Close the Distance,” the smooth funky feeling of “Get Yourself Together,” or even the insistent reverberation of “Back in That Time” sung in Jupik: with these 11 tracks, Galanin, Ya Tseen, and Indigenous art in general are engaged in a hyper-trendy musical dialogue with artists like Moses Sumney and TV on the Radio, FKA Twigs, and James Blake.

Indian Yard is a profound landmark of liberation and an act of protest that explores the interactions of past, present, and future realities. In a reference to Sun Ra, the track “Gently To The Sun” is so aptly stating, “Medicine for a nightmare” – and that is an appropriate description for an album that offers a much-needed cure for all that is horribly plaguing us individually today, as well as all societies on this planet which is the land and home of us all.

“Indian Yard” is by no means Galanin’s first album. Until today, he has released a slew of albums under various pseudonyms such as Silver Jackson and Indian Agent, and collaborated with artists such as Meshell Ndegeocello, Tanya Tagaq and Samantha Crain. And for nearly a decade, he has also been part of the revolutionary boundary-pushing art collective Black Constellation alongside Shabazz Palaces and THEESatisfaction.

Galanin is bringing these experiences and his partnerships into the collaborative songs of Indian Yard. The album combines important familial private aspects with current social and environmental justice movements that seek to eliminate destructive systems to usher in a new structure. He shared these concepts with bandmates Zak D. Wass and Otis Calvin III. They teamed up with longtime collaborator Benjamin Verdoes to create the album.

In numerous sessions in Sitka and Seattle, a number of brilliant friends – Habazz Palaces, Nick Hakim, Alaskan indigenous singer-songwriter Qacung, to name a few – helped to transform “Indian Yard” into a state-of-the-art pop wonder album.

I present you here again quickly the latest video of Ya Tseen, because this transports the message and the spirit of the band better than the written word.

The hypnotizing opener “Knives” he recorded together with “Portugal. the Man” from Alaska. The infectious “Knives” is a reflection on human desire that is as infectious as it is stirringly intense. “At Tugáni,” a song named after Galanin’s youngest child, is a love song that connects past and future. “Synthetic Gods,” based on verses by Shabazz Palaces and Stas THEE Boss, is a sonically highly seductive, tension-filled reflection on simmering crises, and generates the pressure necessary to encourage and secure the sovereignty and power of indigenous nations.

The Bottom Line

With its radiant sounds and catchy hooks, Indian Yard conveys socio-political messages with the power of protest songs, packaged in beautiful pop songs with nuanced reflections on human experiences and responsibilities we need to live up to. Indian Yard is a powerful testament to humanity from an Indigenous perspective. Created by one of the world’s leading indigenous artists, Indian Yard is an intense signal consisting of emotion and a sense of belonging together. “Indian Yard” is indeed one of the best pop albums of the otherwise bleak year 2021.

Nicholas, along with his companions, has launched a fascinatingly multi-layered 11-track album that never, at any point, allows even a hint of boredom to emerge. As time passes by frantically while playing the album, a personal connection between the listener and the creators of the album is established just as quickly, and you feel prompted to engage more intensely with the artwork of Nicholas Galanin, his powerful message to the world, and indigenous culture in general. And when you have done that, you suddenly realize that an incredibly strong filling feeling has taken hold in your soul.

The album is available on Qobuz in 24 bit / 48 kHz format and sounds excellent. The sound impression is characterized by a very good spatiality and it comes across pleasantly warm and soft, with excellent bass, balanced treble and a naturally harmonious midrange.

9.5

Overall

Music10
Format: 24 Bit / 48 kHz10
Räumlichkeit / Spatiality10
Höhen / Treble9.5
Mitten / Mids9.5
Bass / Bass9.5
Video (Sound + Picture)8

Facts

Artist: Ya Tseen
Title: Indian Yard
Format: Album
Label: SUB POP
Release Date: April 30, 2021
Genre: Alternative, Indie
11 Tracks • 40m 28s

Hi-Res

Available at Qobuzin Hi-res
24-bit / 48 kHz stereo

My Test Equipment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

Ya Tseen: Indian Yard – Album – 2021

Also available in ...: English (Englisch)

Ya Tseen: Indian Yard – Album -2021- Sub Pop

Genre: Alternative/Indie, Pop

„Indian Yard“ ist das erste Album von Ya Tseen, einer indigenen Formation aus Alaska, erschienen beim Sub Pop Label aus Seattle. Ya Tseen ist ein weiteres Pseudonym und Projekt des indigenen hochaktiven Künstlers Nicholas Galanin. Um sich dem Album „Indian Yard überhaupt nähern zu können, müssen wir uns erstmal mit Nicholas Galanin ausführlich beschäftigen, damit wir das Werk in den künstlerischen Gesamtkontext einordnen zu können.

Die Kurz-Bio:
Ya Tseen

Ya Tseen aka Nicholas Galanin lebt und arbeitet mit seiner Familie in Sitka, Alaska und beschäftigt sich in seinen Arbeiten mit der zeitgenössischen indigenen Kultur aus einem Blickwinkel, der durch die tiefe Verbindung zu seinem Land und seiner Heimat bestimmt ist. Seine Arbeiten sind geprägt von scharfer Beobachtungsgabe und beschäftigen sich mit den Schnittstellen von Kultur und Lebensentwürfen in Formen der Sprache, Bilder und Töne.

Galanins Werke sind von Natur aus politisch, offen, mutig und poetisch, gleichzeitig durchtränkt von kritischem Denken und dienen förmlich als kostbare Gefäße für Wissen, Kultur und Erfindungen. Galanin setzt sich mit der indigenen Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft auseinander, um so das absichtlich verdunkelte kollektive Gedächtnis neu zu stärken und die Barrieren für die Beschäftigung mit der indigenen Geschichte und die Weitergabe des Wissens darüber am Leben zu beseitigen. Seine Werke kritisieren die Kommerzialisierung der indigenen Kultur und tragen gleichzeitig zum kontinuierlichen Fortbestand der Tlingit-Kunst bei.

Er verwendet für die Erschaffung seiner Kunstwerke Materialien und Verfahren, die den weltweiten Dialog über das künstlerische Schaffen indigener Völker erweitern können und die Art und Weise, wie Kultur transportiert werden kann, beschreiben. Seine Arbeiten befinden sich in zahlreichen öffentlichen und privaten Sammlungen und sind weltweit ausgestellt. Galanin ging bei den Schnitzmeistern in seiner Heimat in die Lehre, erwarb einen Abschluss als Bachelor of Fine Arts an der Londoner Guildhall University und seinen Master of Fine Arts an der Massey University in Neuseeland.

Nicholas Galanin über sich uns seine Kunst:

„Unsere Kultur ist in der Verbindung mit dem Land und meiner Heimat tief verwurzelt; wie das Land, so lässt sich auch die Kultur nicht begrenzen. Ich lasse mich  von Generationen der Tlingit- und Unangax̂-Kulturen inspirieren, die mit unserem Land, dessen Teil ich bin, tief verbunden sind. Aus diesem Blickwinkel heraus setze ich mich mit den zeitgenössischen Zustandsformen interkulturell auseinander. 

Mein Schaffensprozess ist ein ständiges Streben nach Freiheit und nach Visionen für die Gegenwart und die Zukunft. Durch den Einsatz indigener und nicht-indigener Technologien und Materialien widersetze ich mich der oberflächlichen Romantisierung, der kulturellen Kategorisierung und Begrenzung. Mit meiner  Arbeit widme ich mich Themen wie Anpassungsfähigkeit, Widerstandsfähigkeit sowie Überlebensstrategien, der grassierenden kulturellen Gedächtnislosigkeit bis hin zu Traumwelten, Erinnerungen, dem neuen Aufblühen der kulturellen Traditionen und der Verbindung zu unserem Land, der Natur und der Heimat sowie den Auswirkungen der Trennung davon“.

Das Album „Indian Yard“
Ya Tseen

Wer nun bei „Indian Yard“ ein verkopftes Weltmusik-Album erwartet, der ist ganz gewaltig auf dem Holzweg. Denn Ya Tseen haben hier ein wunderschönes, Pop-Album geschaffen, mit multidimensionalen elektronischen Ebenen, auf denen sich die Vocals und der Sound herkömmlicher Instrumente wie Bass, Gitarre und Schlagzeug sehr schön entfalten können. Der Hörer wird sogleich in den Bann des Albums gezogen, doch selbst als Pop-Album ist dieses Werk so gänzlich anders, als all das, was dieses Genre uns sonst so offeriert.

„Indian Yard“ ist reich an Emotionen und einem scharfen Gespür für Themen wie Liebe, Sehnsucht, Frustration, Schmerz, Revolution und Verbundenheit mit den zwingenden Ausdrucksformen eines indigenen Bewusstseins. 

Die energiegeladene Elektro-Soul-Kaskade von „Close the Distance“, das geschmeidige Funk-Feeling von „Get Yourself Together oder auch das das beharrliche Nachhallen von „Back in That Time“, das in Jupik gesungen wird: mit diesen 11 Tracks werden Galanin, Ya Tseen und die indigene Kunst im Allgemeinen in ein hyperaktuelles musikalisches Zwiegespräch mit Künstlern wie Moses Sumney und TV on the Radio, FKA Twigs und James Blake eingebunden.

Indian Yard ist ein tiefgründiges Werk der Befreiung und ein Akt des Protests, das sich mit den Wechselwirkungen von vergangenen, gegenwärtigen und zukünftigen Realitäten auseinandersetzt. In einer Anspielung auf Sun Ra heißt es im Track „Gently To The Sun“ so treffend: „Medikamente gegen einen Albtraum“ – und das ist eine treffende Beschreibung für ein Album, das ein dringend benötigtes Heilmittel gegen all das bietet, was uns heute individuell und auch alle Gesellschaften auf diesem Planten, unser aller Land und Heimat, entsetzlich plagt.

„Indian Yard“ ist keineswegs das erste Album von Galanin. Bis heute hat er unter verschiedenen Pseudonymen wie Silver Jackson und Indian Agent eine ganze Reihe von Alben veröffentlicht und mit Artists wie Meshell Ndegeocello, Tanya Tagaq und Samantha Crain zusammengearbeitet. Und seit fast einem Jahrzehnt ist er auch Teil des revolutionär grenzenlosen Kunstkollektivs Black Constellation neben Shabazz Palaces und THEESatisfaction.

Diese Erfahrungen und seine Partnerschaften bringt Galanin in die gemeinschaftlich entstandenen Songs von Indian Yard ein. Das Album verbindet wichtige familiär private Aspekte mit aktuellen sozialen und ökologischen Gerechtigkeitsbewegungen, die zerstörerische Systeme beseitigen und einen neuen Aufbau einleiten wollen. Er teilte diese Konzepte mit seinen Bandkollegen Zak D. Wass und Otis Calvin III. Gemeinsam mit ihrem langjährigen Mitarbeiter Benjamin Verdoes arbeiteten sie an der Entstehung des Albums.

In zahlreichen Sessions in Sitka und Seattle half eine Reihe brillanter Freunde wie Habazz Palaces, Nick Hakim, der indigene Sänger und Songwriter Qacung aus Alaska, um nur einige zu nennen – dabei, „Indian Yard“ in einen hochmodernen Pop-Wunderkatalog zu verwandeln.

Ich präsentiere Euch hier noch mal schnell das neuste Video von Ya Tseen, denn das transportiert die Message und den Spirit der Band besser als das schriftlich verfasste Wort.

Den hypnotisierenden Opener „Knives“ hat er zusammen mit „Portugal. the Man“ aus Alaska aufgenommen. Das mitreißende „Knives“ ist eine ebenso ansteckende wie mitreißend intensive Reflexion über das menschliche Verlangen. „At Tugáni“, ein Song, der nach Galanins jüngstem Kind benannt ist, ist ein Liebeslied, das Vergangenheit und Zukunft miteinander verbindet. „Synthetic Gods“, das sich auf Verse von Shabazz Palaces und Stas THEE Boss stützt, ist eine klanglich höchst verführerische, spannungsgeladene Reflexion über die schwelenden Krisen und erzeugt den notwendigen Druck, um die Souveränität und die Kraft der indigenen Völker zu fördern und zu sichern.

The Bottom Line

Mit seinen strahlenden Klängen und eingängigen Hooks vermittelt Indian Yard gesellschaftspolitische Botschaften mit der Kraft von Protestsongs, verpackt in wunderschöne Popsongs mit nuancierten Reflexionen über menschliche Erfahrungen und Verantwortung, der wir gerecht werden müssen.  Indian Yard ist ein beeindruckendes Zeugnis der Menschlichkeit aus der Perspektive der indigenen Bevölkerung. Indian Yard wurde von einem der weltweit führenden indigenen Künstler geschaffen und ist ein intensives Signal bestehend aus Emotionen und Zusammengehörigkeitsgefühl. „Indian Yard“ ist in der Tat eines der besten Pop-Alben des ansonsten trostlosen Jahres 2021.

Nicholas hat mit seinen Mitstreitern ein faszinierend vielschichtiges 11-Track-Album an den Start gebracht, das zu keinem Zeitpunkt auch nur einen Ansatz von Langeweile aufkommen lässt. Die Zeit verstreicht mit dem Abspielen des Albums rasend schnell; ebenso schnell stellt sich ein persönlicher Bezug zwischen dem Hörer und den Machern des Werkes her und man fühlt sich dazu aufgefordert, sich intensiver mit den Werken von Nicholas Galanin, seiner starken Message an die Welt und der indigenen Kultur auseinander zu setzen. Und wenn Du das getan hast, stellst Du plötzlich fest, dass ein unglaublich starkes ausfüllendes Gefühl in Deiner Seele Einzug gehalten hat.

Das Album ist bei Qobuz im Format 24 Bit / 48 kHz verfügbar und klingt ausgezeichnet. Der Klangeindruck ist durch eine sehr gute Räumlichkeit gekennzeichnet und kommt angenehm warm und weich daher, mit vorzüglichen Bässen, ausbalancierten Höhen und einem natürlich stimmigen Mitteltonbereich.

9.5

Overall

Music10
Format: 24 Bit / 48 kHz10
Räumlichkeit / Spatiality10
Höhen / Treble9.5
Mitten / Mids9.5
Bass / Bass9.5
Video (Sound + Picture)8

Facts

Artist: Ya Tseen
Title: Indian Yard
Format: Album
Label: SUB POP
Release Date: 30. April 2021
Genre: Alternative, Indie
11 Tracks • 40m 28s

Hi-Res

Bei Qobuz verfügbar in Hi-res
24-Bit / 48 kHz – Stereo

Mein Test-Equiment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool