Tauon: Far Away EP (2021)

Also available in ...: Deutsch (German)

Tauon: Far Away EP (2021) – Sine Music

Genre: Ambient, Electronic

Intro:

When the single “Hopeful” by Tauon was already released on September 17, I was already mightily knocked off my feet. Tauon Electronic Sounds are from the very best and Hopeful made me want more. And today, on 08 October 2021, the long-awaited follow-up came out with the “Far Away” 5-track EP. And this one is a real treat.

The EP and the Tracks:
Tauon

Just the cover of this EP is extremely well-chosen, the scenery is unique and reminds of areas such as the Highlands in Scotland, Iceland or even on the Faroe Islands. The cover also evokes associations with the EP “Roads Vol. 2” by the French electronic wonder Thylacine. On the one hand there are similarities in the cover and if you ask me how Tauon sounds like, the reference to Thylacine is certainly not that far-fetched.

The EP is indeed about traveling, but also about relaxing, dreaming and recharging energy – well, all this is somehow related to each other in our lives. With the opener “Roadtrip” you start your journey snapping your fingers with happy feelings, only to realize with the next track “Faraway” that you are now far away from the familiar paths you normally walk on. On the one hand it is wonderful, you feel a slight touch of freedom, but there is also a certain melancholy, because there is something new waiting for you, something unknown – how will this tun out?

Tauon

With the third track, “Hopeful”, our journey becomes a bit melancholic, but also graceful and beautiful, with all these new experiences. But maybe a little bit of doubt resonates as well – after all, doesn’t hope always include a little bit of doubt? With the fourth track “Travel” Tauon once again conjures up his typical fascinating multidimensional soundscapes right into the middle of the empty space, and you can decide with your imagination how the journey should continue.

“Outside”, the last track on the EP, is in a class of its own. Involuntarily, you find yourself out there in the endless expanse of your very own imaginary worlds. “Outside” is an incredibly good track, a hammer track so to say, which has nothing to do with the shallow realms of various ambient sound creations, rather this track is a highlight of electronic music of recent years in very best Tangerine Dream / Klaus Schulze tradion. “Outside” sounds like a soundtrack for a yet to be written sci-fi movie from the pen of Denis Villeneuve, the track could also be the musical opener to Blade Runner III or could musically accompany the Voyager’s journey through the Delta Quadrant.

The Bottom Line:

9.0

Overall

Music10
Format: 16 Bit / 44.1 kHz8
Räumlichkeit9
Treble9
Mids9
Bass9

For me, the 5-track EP “Far Away” by Tauon with a total running time of 19:33 min is one of the star moments of electronic music in recent years. Tauon’s sound is enormously imaginative with its complexity and elegance, immediately taking us on a journey and exposes the imagination with its cinemascope widescreen sound, which allows the listener to assemble the destination of the imaginary trip in front of the inner eye by himself.
The EP is available in 24 bits / 44.1 kHz and sounds excellent over the entire frequency range.

Facts about the EP:

Artist: Tauon
Title: Far Away
Format: 5-Track EP
Label: SINE MUSIC
Release Date: October 8, 2021
Genre: Electronic Ambient
5 Tracks • 19m 33s

Available at Qobuz in Hi-res
24-Bit / 44.1 kHz – Stereo

My Test Equipment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

Tauon: Far Away EP (2021)

Also available in ...: English (Englisch)

Tauon: Far Away EP (2021) – Sine Music

Genre: Ambient, Electronic

Intro:

Als am 17. September bereits die Auskopplung „Hopeful“ von Tauon erschienen ist, war ich bereits mächtig von den Socken. Tauon Electronic Sounds sind vom allerfeinsten und Hopeful machte Lust auf mehr. Heute, am 08.10.2021, gab es dann mit der „Far Away“- 5-Track EP den lang erwarteten Nachschlag. Und der hat es mächtig in sich.

Die EP und die Tracks:
Tauon

Allein das Cover dieser EP ist überaus gelungen, die Szenerie ist einzigartig und erinnert an Gegenden wie die Highlands in Schottland, Island oder auch auf den Färöern. Mit dem Cover werden auch Assoziationen zu der EP „Roads Vol. 2“ des französischen Elektronik-Wunders Thylacine wach. Hier gibts zum einen Ähnlichkeiten beim Cover und falls Ihr mich fragt, wie Tauon denn nun klingt, so ist der Verweis auf Thylacine mit Sicherheit gar nicht mal so abwegig.

Die EP hat in der Tat das Reisen zum Thema, aber auch Relaxen, Träumen und Kraft tanken – nun ja, all das hängt ja in unserm Leben irgendwie miteinander zusammen. Mit dem Opener „Roadtrip“ machst Du Dich mit den Fingern schnipsend und happy auf zu Deiner Reise, um dann mit dem nächsten Track Faraway festzustellen, dass Du nun ganz weit weg bist, von den kannten Pfaden, auf denen Du sonst so wandelst. Wunderschön ist es einerseits, Du spürst einen leichten Hauch von Freiheit, doch auch eine gewisse Schwermut macht sich breit, denn es wartet Neues auf Dich, Unbekanntes – wie wird dies wohl werden?

Tauon

Mit dem dritten Track, „Hopeful“ wird unsere Reise etwas melancholisch, aber auch anmutig und schön, mit all diesen neuen Erfahrungen. Doch vielleicht schwingt auch ein wenig Zweifel mit – denn gehört zur Hoffnung nicht auch immer ein wenig Zweifel? Mit dem vierten Track „Travel“ zaubert Tauon nun ein weiteres Mal die für ihn typischen überaus faszinierenden multidimensionalen Soundscapes mitten hinein in den leeren Raum und Ihr könnt mit Eurer Vorstellungskraft entscheiden, wie die Reise weitergehen soll.

„Outside“, der letzte Track auf der EP, ist eine Klasse für sich. Unwillkürlich findest Du Dich da draußen wieder in der unendlichen Weite Deiner ureigenen Vorstellungswelten. Outside ist ein unglaublich guter Track, ein Hammertrack sozusagen, der nicht zu tun hat mit den seichten Gefilden diverser Ambient-Soundkreationen, vielmehr ist dieser Track ein Höhepunkt elektronischer Musik der letzten Jahre in allerbester Tangerine Dream / Klaus Schulze-Tradion. Outside klingt wie ein Soundtrack zu einem noch nicht geschrieben SciFi-Film aus der Feder von Denis Villeneuve, der Track könnte auch der musikalische Opener zu Blade Runner III sein oder musikalisch die Reise der Voyager durch den Delta-Quadranten begleiten.

Fazit:

9.0

Overall

Music10
Format: 16 Bit / 44.1 kHz8
Räumlichkeit9
Treble9
Mids9
Bass9

Die 5-Track EP Far Away von Tauon mit einer Gesamtlaufzeit von 19:33 min gehört für mich zu den Sternstunden elektronischer Musik der letzten Jahre. Der Sound von Tauon ist mit seiner Vielschichtigkeit und Eleganz enorm imaginativ, nimmt uns sofort mit auf die Reise und legt mit seinem Cinemascope-Breitwand-Sound die Vorstellungskraft frei, mit der sich der Hörer das Ziel des imaginären Trips vor dem inneren Auge selbst zusammenfügen kann.
Die EP liegt in 24 Bits / 44.1 kHz vor und klingt über den gesamten Frequenzbereich exzellent.

Facts zur EP:

Artist: Tauon
Title: Far Away
Format: 5-Track EP
Label: SINE MUSIC
Release Date 8. Oktober 2021
Genre: Electronic Ambient
5 Tracks • 19m 33s

Bei Qobuz verfügbar in Hi-res
24-Bit / 44.1 kHz – Stereo

Mein Test-Equiment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool