Portico Quartet: Terrain (2021)

Also available in ...: Deutsch (German)

Portico Quartet: Terrain (2021) – Album – Gondwana Records

Genre: Modern Jazz, Minimal Music

Intro

Some time ago I had extensively dealt with the last three albums of GoGo Penguin and among other things wrote a review for the new album “GGP/RMX” by GoGo Penguin.
For me, especially the last track of the album “Don’t Go” in the Portico Quartet Remix had bitten into my ear canal and on the one hand sent one pleasant shiver after another up my spine and on the other hand radiated an enormous amount of pleasant calm.

You can listen to the track here:

And so I approached the PR agency with the request to provide me with the press material for my review for the new album “Terrain” by Portico Quartet, which was released on Friday, May 28, 2021.

The album “Terrain
Portico Quartet

The first few times I listened to it, I thought to myself: okay, this is going to be hard. The album has a total running time of 38m 44s and is featuring 3 tracks:

Terrain I (19m 18s)
Terrain II (6m 16s)
Terrain III (10m 10s)

But in the case of the works by the Portico Quartet I should not speak of tracks, because with the length of the pieces and their complexity it would be better to call them movements. Duncan Bellamy and Jack Wyllie, the masterminds behind the Portico Quartet, had started to work on “Terrain” in their east London studio in May 2020, at the time when the world was in the midst of its first lockdown. But they used the time to extensively compose, record and polish the three Terrain movements. The difficult times led the Portico Quartet to rethink music and to tread new musical paths.

The three compositions are in the tradition of the tracks “Line and Shed Song” (Isla/2009), “Rubidium” (Portico Quartet/2012) and “Immediately Visible” (Memory Streams/2019), Wyllie comments, “That side of the band has always been present with us in some form. At its core, it’s about creating a repeating pattern from which other parts move around and thus begin to form a musical narrative. We really created longer improvisations this time, which have certain similarities to the time when we produced our second Album “Isla”.

Wyllie continues, “On “Terrain” we really took a long, hard look at creating long improvised-sounding pieces, and explored those style structures extensively. And yes, there are influences of American minimalism [Steve Reich, Philip Glass], but I was particularly inspired by the work of the Japanese composer Midori Takada. Her approach, especially on ‘Through the Looking Glass’ where she moves through different worlds and combines elements of minimalism with non-Western instruments and melodies, was in the back of my mind when writing this music.”

Portico Quartet
© Hannah Collins

Terrain I, II and III differ very subtly in their respective compositional structures, but there is always a basic rhythmic motif that is repeated over and over again. Thus, all three movements give the impression of a common journey through the Terrain Suite, but the three movements have different musical climatic conditions, so to speak. There is always a sense of a connecting horizontal movement that gives the sound an interesting flow.

The guys first worked on “Terrain I,” which features a hanging drum pattern to which Bellamy then added cymbals and synths. From this point on, the framework begins to gain structure and Wyllie added saxophone, another synth layer and strings.

Bellamy says it felt more like filmmaking than making music, like a bricolage of conflicting, shifting characters, subtle tension and multiple narratives. Andrei Tarkovsky’s “Mirror” and British artist John Akomfrah’s incredible “Handsworth Songs” were key reference points for Bellamy. Wyllie explains: “There’s a sense of conversation between the two of us, in the sense that someone presents a musical idea, the other person responds to it with something else, which is then responded to again…. until it feels finished.

“These responses are often in harmony with each other,” as Wyllie explains, “but there is also an asymmetry in some of these works. The music slowly evolves through these shared musical dialogues.”

It is this interplay between the composers, but also between calm and a subtle, unsettling melancholy in the three movements that make “Terrain” such a powerful statement. On the one hand, it speaks to our inner world as well as to our outer world, our own personal landscape, our terrain on which we move through time.

Epilogue

“Terrain” is a fascinating album, for which you first have to be willing to fully engage with it, though. However, if you appreciate Hania Rani or even GoGo Penguin, then this shouldn’t be too difficult. The long, minimalistic sound structures have a special calm flow, whereby the stirring saxophone passages remind me a bit of the old stuff of Joe Zawinul’s “Weather Report” (Black Market, 1976), even though Joe Zawinul’s stuff is much more energetic, “blacker” and more funky.

In contrast, the Portico Quartet of 2021 is distinctly more European, with the use of the Hang then a bit more exotically experimental and pleasantly cool. For the Portico Quartet, less is more, and with the minimalism of this imprint, the listener eventually begins to fall in love with these three terrain movements over the course of 38 minutes.

Sound quality

The sound quality of this hi-res 24 bit 44.1 kHz production is excellent and indulges with beautiful clean details, a precise, warm treble range and cleanly defined bass.

Where to buy

Artist: Portico Quartet
Title: Terrain
Format: album
Genre: Modern Jazz, Minimal Music
Release Date: May 28, 2021
Label: Gondwana Records
3 Tracks – 38m 44s

Available at Qobuz in Hi-res
24-Bit / 44.1 kHz – Stereo

My Test Equiment

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

Portico Quartet: Terrain (2021)

This review is also available in: English (Englisch)

Portico Quartet: Terrain (2021) – Album – Gondwana Records

Genre: Modern Jazz, Minimal Music

Intro

Vor einiger Zeit hatte ich mich ausführlich mit den letzten drei Alben von GoGo Penguin beschäftigt und unter anderem ein Review zum neuen Album “GGP/RMX” von GoGo Penguin geschrieben.
Dabei hatte sich bei mir besonders der letzte Titel des Albums “Don’t Go” im Portico Quartet Remix im Gehörgang festgebissen und mir einerseits einen wohligen Schauer nach dem anderen den Rücken hochgejagt und andererseits enorm viel wohlige Ruhe ausgestrahlt.

Den Track könnt Ihr Euch hier mal anhören:

Und so sprach ich die PR-Agentur an mit der Bitte mir die Pressematerialien für mein Review zum neuen Album “Terrain” vom Portico Quartet zur Verfügung zustellen, das am Freitag, 28.05.2021 erschienen ist.

Das Album “Terrain”
Portico Quartet

Bei den ersten Hörversuchen dachte ich mir: okay, das wird jetzt schwer. Das Album hat eine Gesamtlaufzeit von insgesamt 38m 44s und bietet und 3 Tracks:

Terrain I (19m 18s)
Terrain II (6m 16s)
Terrain III (10m 10s)

Aber ich sollte bei den Werken vom Portico Quartet nicht von Tracks reden, denn bei der Länge der Stücke und deren Komplexität sollte man die drei Teile besser als Sätze bezeichnen. Duncan Bellamy und Jack Wyllie, die Masterminds hinter dem Portico Quartet, hatten mit der Arbeit an “Terrain” im Mai 2020 in ihrem Studio im Osten Londons begonnen, zu einer Zeit, als sich die Welt mitten im ersten Lockdown befand. Doch sie nutzten die Zeit zum ausgiebigen Komponieren, Aufnehmen und zum Feinschliff für die drei Terrain Sätze. Die schwierige Zeit brachte das Portico Quartet dazu, Musik neu zu denken und neu musikalische Pfade zu beschreiten.

Die drei Kompostionen stehen in der Tradition der Stücke “Line and Shed Song” (Isla/2009), “Rubidium” (Portico Quartet/2012) und “Immediately Visible” (Memory Streams/2019), Wyllie sagt dazu: “Diese Seite der Band war bei uns schon immer in irgendeiner Form präsent. Im Kern geht es darum, ein sich wiederholendes Muster zu kreieren, um das herum sich andere Teile bewegen und damit beginnen eine musikalische Erzählung zu bilden. Wir haben diesmal wirklich längere Improvisationen geschaffen, die gewisse Ähnlichkeiten zu der Zeit aufweisen, als wir unsere zweite Platte Isla produziert haben”.

Weiter sagt Wyllie: “Auf “Terrain” haben wir uns wirklich lange und ausführlich mit der Kreation von langen improvisiert klingenden Stücken auseinandergesetzt und diese Stilstrukturen ausführlich erforscht. Und ja, es gibt Einflüsse des amerikanischen Minimalismus [Steve Reich, Philip Glass], aber ich wurde besonders von der Arbeit der japanischen Komponistin Midori Takada inspiriert. Ihre Herangehensweise, vor allem bei ‘Through the Looking Glass’, wo sie sich durch verschiedene Welten bewegt und Elemente des Minimalismus mit nicht-westlichen Instrumenten und Melodien verbindet, hatte ich beim Schreiben dieser Musik im Hinterkopf”.

Portico Quartet
© Hannah Collins

Terrain I, II und III unterscheiden sich doch sehr subtil in ihrer jeweiligen Kompositionsstruktur, allerdings gibt es immer ein rhythmisches Grundmotiv, das sich immer und immer wieder wiederholt. Somit entsteht bei allen drei Sätzen der Eindruck einer gemeinsamen Reise durch die Terrain-Suite, allerdings sind die drei Sätze sozusagen mit unterschiedlichen musikalisch klimatischen Bedingungen versehen. Es gibt immer das Gefühl einer verbindenden horizontalen Bewegung, die dem Sound einen interessanten Flow verleiht.

Die Jungs arbeiteten zuerst an “Terrain I”, das mit einem hängenden Schlagzeugmuster ausgestattet ist, dem Bellamy dann Becken und Synthies hinzugefügt hat. Von diesem Zeitpunkt an gewinnt das Gerüst an Struktur und Wyllie fügte Saxofon, eine weitere Synthesizer-Ebene und Streicher hinzu.

Bellamy meint, dass es sich mehr wie Filmemachen als Musikmachen angefühlt hat, wie eine Bricolage aus widersprüchlichen, sich verschiebenden Zeichen, subtiler Spannung und multiplen Erzählungen. Andrei Tarkovskys “Mirror” und die unglaublichen “Handsworth Songs” des britischen Künstlers John Akomfrah waren für Bellamy zentrale Bezugspunkte. Wyllie erweitert diesen Punkt: “Es gibt ein Gefühl der Konversation zwischen uns beiden, in dem Sinne, dass jemand eine musikalische Idee präsentiert, die andere Person darauf mit etwas anderem antwortet, worauf dann wieder geantwortet wird … bis es sich fertig anfühlt.

“Diese Reaktionen sind oft miteinander im Gleichklang”, wie Wyllie ausführt, “aber es gibt auch eine Asymmetrie in einigen dieser Arbeiten. Die Musik entwickelt sich langsam durch diese gemeinsamen musikalischen Zwiegespräche.”

Es ist dieses Zusammenspiel zwischen den Komponisten, aber auch zwischen Ruhe und einer subtilen, beunruhigenden Melancholie in den Stücken, die “Terrain” zu einem solch kraftvollen Statement werden lassen. Es spricht zum einen unsere innere wie auch unsere äußere Welt an, unsere eigene persönliche Landschaft, unser Terrain, auf dem wir uns durch die Zeit bewegen.

Epilog

“Terrain” ist ein faszinierendes Album, für das man allerdings erstmal die Bereitschaft aufbringen muss, sich vollständig darauf einzulassen. Wenn man jedoch Hania Rani oder auch GoGo Penguin zu schätzen weiß, dann sollte dies nicht allzu schwerfallen. Die langen, minimalistischen Klangstrukturen üben einen enormen Reiz auf den Hörer aus, haben einen ganz besonderen ruhig dahinfließenden Flow, wobei mich die aufwühlenden Saxofon-Passagen ein wenig an die alten Sachen von Joe Zawinuls “Weather Report” erinnern (Black Market, 1976), wenn gleich die Sachen von Joe Zawinul deutlich energischer zupacken, schwärzer und mehr funky daherkommen.

Das Portico Quartet des Jahres 2021 ist im Gegensatz dazu deutlich europäischer, mit dem Einsatz der Hang dann doch etwas exotisch experimenteller und angenehm kühler. Für das Portico Quartet ist weniger mehr und mit dem Minimalismus dieser Prägung beginnt der Zuhörer im Laufe der 38 Minuten irgendwann damit, sich in diese drei Terrain-Sätze zu verlieben.

Klangqualität

Die Klangqualität dieser Hi-res 24 Bit 44.1 kHz Produktion ist exzellent und verwöhnt mit einer wunderschönen sauberen Detailabbildung, einem präzisen, warmen Höhenbereich und sauber ausdefinierten Bässen.

Bezugsquellen

Artist: Portico Quartet
Title: Terrain
Format: Album
Genre: Modern Jazz, Minimal Music
Release Date: 28. Mai 2021
Label: Gondwana Records
3 Tracks • 38m 44s

Bei Qobuz verfügbar in Hi-res
24-Bit / 44.1 kHz – Stereo

Mein Test-Equiment

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

%d Bloggern gefällt das: