GoGo Penguin: GGP/RMX (Album) – 2021

Also available in ...: Deutsch (German)

GoGo Penguin GGP/RMX ( Remix Album, 2021)

Genre: electrifying live performers, crossing the border between repetitive minimalism and acoustic electronica

To understand this new remix album, I recommend you to read our GoGo Penguin featurette first. The tracks on the GGP/RMX album are based on the original mixes included on the June 2020 album “GoGo Penguin”.

GoGo Penguin

For the remix album “GGP/RMX” – in other words “GoGo Penguin Remixed” – GoGo Penguin invited leading DJs and producers mainly from the UK to produce remixes of various tracks from the album “GoGoPenguin”. Sometimes this works very well, but sometimes it is less successful, especially when the original structure or the aura that surrounds the original tracks is destroyed with the production of a remix. Sometimes the one or other remix turns out to be too avantgardistic, which does not necessarily meet with acceptance and goodwill in the ears of GoGo Penguin fans.

“Kora” in the remix by Cornelius is extremely convincing and is very pleasing. Chris Illingworth (piano) says: The “Cornelius’ mix opens the album great, it’s both intelligent and beautiful. The way in which he cut and repositioned the piano melodies and combined them with synthesizer lines makes it familiar, but also gives him a new and individual character that perfectly introduces the remix album. “
Cornelius, who remixed the track “Kora”, was careful to preserve the artistic framework of the track as much as possible – and he did a great job.

Machinedrum gives his remix of “Atomized” a very idiosyncratic character. “One of my favorite things to do as a producer is to create a fusion between electronic sounds and live acoustic instruments. When Gogo Penguin approached me to remix Atomized, I was thrilled with the opportunity not only to experiment with the track of mine, but also to work with such incredibly talented musicians and a forward-looking composition. I loved learning the piano arpeggios and recreating them myself in order to play with the melody of the original and let it breathe through the synths in my studio, “says Machinedrum of his remix of” Atomized “.

The remix of the track “ Embers”, realized by Yosi Horikawa, creates a beautifully soulful electronic landscape and gives the track depth and space. The combination with real sounds creates a very special aura.

The Portico Quartet remix of “Don’t Go” is my favorite on this album. The Porticos have perfectly captured the basic emotional impression of the track and very successfully transformed it into their own world of sound.

I don’t like the work of some other remix producers on this album like 808 State or Nathan Fake that much, because I think their remixes of “Open” (Nathan Fake) and “Signal in the Noise” (808 State) destroy the basic structure of the original tracks – which may have something to do with the fact that I’ve never really liked 808 State and Nathan Fake, the same applies to the remix “F Maj Pixie” remix of “Squarepusher” .

The bottom line is that there is a lot of light on the GGP / RMX album, but also a lot of shadow – but it’s definitely enough for a purchase recommendation.

However, the sound quality of the new remix album “GGP/RMX” is outstanding and has reference qualities. The bass reaches deep down and is absolutely well-contoured, the treble range is excellent, shines with the finest clarity and precision and never shows any tendency to sharpness or coldness. The sound is warm, the effects are presented precisely and cleanly.

Facts about GoGo Penguin – GGP / RMX (Album)

Artist: GoGo Penguin
Album: GGP / RMX
Label: Blue Note / UMG
Release date: May 7, 2021
Gene: Modern Jazz / Electronic
11 tracks • 01h 02m 34s

Available at Qubuz in Hi-Res
24-bit / 48 kHz stereo

My test equipment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

GoGo Penguin: GGP/RMX (Album) – 2021

Also available in ...: English (Englisch)

GoGo Penguin GGP/RMX ( Remix Album, 2021)

Genre: Elektrisierende Live-Performer, Grenzgänger zwischen repetitiven Minimalismus und Acoustic Electronica

Um dieses neue Remix-Album verstehen zu können, empfehle ich Euch, erst mal unsere GoGo Penguin Biografie durchzulesen. Die Tracks des GGP/RMX-Album basieren auf den Original Mixes, die auf dem Album GoGo Penguin vom Juni 2020 beinhaltet sind.

GoGo Penguin

Für das Remix-Album “GGP/RMX” – mit anderen Worten “GoGo Penguin Remixed” – hat die Band führende DJs und Produzenten vorwiegend aus UK zum Produzieren von Remixes diverser Tracks vom Album “GoGoPenguin” eingeladen.

Das hat mal hervorragend funktioniert, kommt aber auch mal weniger gelungen daher, insbesondere, wenn die ursprüngliche Struktur beziehungsweise die Aura, die die Orignal-Tracks umgibt, mit der Produktion eines Remixes zerstört wird. Manchmal gerät der eine oder andere Remix auch zu avantgardistisch, was in den Ohren der GoGo Penguin Fans nicht unbedingt auf Akzeptanz und Wohlwollen stoßen muss.

“Kora” im Remix von Cornelius ist allerdings überaus überzeugend und vermag sehr zu gefallen. Chris Illingworth (Piano) sagt dazu: Der “Cornelius’ Mix eröffnet das Album großartig, er ist sowohl intelligent als auch schön. Die Art und Weise, wie er die Klaviermelodien aufgeschnitten und neu positioniert und mit Synthesizer-Linien kombiniert hat, macht es vertraut, gibt ihm aber auch einen neuen und individuellen Charakter, der das Remix-Album perfekt einleitet.”
Cornelius, der den Track “Kora” remixed hat, war darauf bedacht, den künstlerischen Rahmen des Tracks so gut wie möglich bewahren – und dies ist ihm großartig gelungen.

GoGo Penguin
GoGo Penguin – GGP/RMX

Machinedrum verleiht seinem Remix von “Atomised ” einen sehr eigenwilligen Charakter. “Eine meiner Lieblingsbeschäftigungen als Produzent ist es, eine Fusion zwischen elektronischen Sounds und akustischen Live-Instrumenten zu schaffen. Als Gogo Penguin an mich herantrat, um Atomised zu remixen, war ich begeistert von der Möglichkeit, nicht nur mit dem Track von mir zu experimentieren, sondern auch mit so unglaublich talentierten Musikern und einer zukunftsweisenden Komposition arbeiten zu können. Ich habe es geliebt, die Klavier-Arpeggien zu lernen und selbst nachzubauen, um mit der Melodie des Originals zu spielen und sie durch die Synthies in meinem Studio atmen zu lassen”, so erzählt Machinedrum über seine Remix von “Atomised”.

Der Remix vom Track “Embers”, den Yosi Horikawa umsetzt hat, kreiert eine wunderschön gefühlvolle elektronische Landschaft und verleiht dem Track Tiefe und Raum. Die Kombination mit reale Klängen schafft eine ganz eigene besondere Aura.

Der Portico Quartet Remix von “Don’t Go” ist mein Favorit auf diesem Album. Die Porticos haben den emotionalen Grundeindruck des Tracks perfekt eingefangen und überaus gelungen in ihre eigene Klangwelt transformiert.

Die Arbeit einiger andere Remix-Produzenten auf diesem Album wie z.B. 808 State oder auch Nathan Fake mag ich allerdings nicht so sehr, da ihre Remixes von “Open” (Nathan Fake) und “Signal in the Noise” (808 State) meiner Meinung nach die Grundstruktur der Original-Tracks zerstören. Was aber auch damit zu tun haben mag, dass ich 808 State und Nathan Fake noch nie so recht gemocht habe, gleiches gilt im Übrigen auch für den Remix “F Maj Pixie”-Remix von “Squarepusher”.

Unter dem Strich gibt es auf dem GGP/RMX-Album somit sehr viel Licht, aber auch einiges an Schatten – aber für eine Kaufempfehlung reicht es allemal.

Die Klangqualität des neuen Remix-Albums “GGP/RMX” ist allerdings herausragend und hat Referenzqualitäten. Die Bässe reichen tief hinab und sind absolut sauer konturiert, der Höhenbereich ist exzellent, brilliert mit allerfeinster Klarheit und Präzession und neigt niemals zu irgendeiner Form von Schärfe oder Kälte. Der Sound ist warm, die Effekte werden präzise und sauber dargestellt.

Facts zu GoGo Penguin – GGP/RMX (Album)

Artist: GoGo Penguin
Album: GGP/RMX
Label: Blue Note / UMG
Release Date: 7. Mai 2021
Gene: Modern Jazz / Electronic
11 Tracks • 01h 02m 34s

Bei Qubuz verfügbar in Hi-Res
24-Bit / 48 kHz – Stereo

Mein Test-Equiment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool