Steand: No One Else EP – 2021

Dieser Beitrag ist auch verfügbar auf: Deutsch (German)

Steand: No One Else – 2-Track EP – 2021

Genre: Electronica, Deep House, Sunny Summer Sound

Label Change

Steand is back, this time solo and not together with Andy Kulter, but with his 2-track EP “No One Else”, which is scoring with real ear-catcher qualities. I was surprised, however, that the new single was no longer released by Nora En Pure’s Purified Records, but by Songspire from Amsterdam in the Netherlands. For me, Steand, together with his production partner Andy Kulter, was actually established as a key member of Purified Records. Well, nothing lasts forever.

About the Artist
Steand
Steand – No One Else

Steand – the pseudonym is made up of the first letters of Stephan and Andreas of his name – is based in Rheinland-Pfalz near Kaiserslautern in Germany and has been producing music since 2012. As a fan of “Above & Beyond,” the masterminds from the UK’s Anjunabeat/Anjunadeep label, they and the label’s sound have left a lasting mark on Steand’s production style. His sound can be classified somewhere between deep house and progressive house.

But Steand clearly does more than just walking in the richly trodden deep house paths. Steand already convinced me with the previous EP “It’s Okay” on Purified Records, because very few genre colleagues are able to shake the arrangements out of their sleeves as easily and effortlessly as he does.

No One Else – the track / original mx and jackarta remix

The new track “No One Else” has an incredibly relaxed flow, very carefully Steand layers electronic sound levels with percussion, pearly repetitive keyboards and pounding beats and makes them work together organically.

Last but not least, there are also very distinctive vocal lines, which gives a very special flair to the original mix – as well as to the Jackarta remix, which is a bit stronger. The male vocals are slightly a bit smoky and snotty, very distinctive, actually contradicting the sunny floral carefree summer sound. But Steand interweaves these two layers very elegantly and forms a track with almost an incredibly high recognition value, which could definitely have the potential to become a summer hit.

The man behind the vocals
Steand

The fact that Steand lives his sound with skin and hair is also shown by the almost unbelievable story of the way the track “No One Else” got its stylish vocals.
One fine day, Steand was walking around Berlin, somewhat lost in thought, when a breeze suddenly swept the vocals of an incredibly impressive street musician into his ears. Steand approached the musician and after a few cups of coffee and even more long conversations it was decided who would take over the vocals on “No One Else”.

So Steand also has pretty distinctive scouting qualities, and really “no one else” could take over the track vocals in such a sustainable and shape-shaping way.

Sound quality

The “No One Else” EP is only available in 16 bit / 44.1 kHz, but it is perfectly mixed with a well contoured, deep bass, an organically tempered treble and a very natural midrange.

Reference

Artist: Steand
Title: No One Else
Format: 2-Track EP
Label: SongSpire Records
Release Date: May 24, 2021
Genre: Electronica, Deep House
2 Tracks – 07m 12s

cd_silver_45

Available on Qobuz in CD Quality
16-bit / 44.1 kHz – stereo

My Test Equiment

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

%d bloggers like this:

Steand: No One Else EP – 2021

Dieser Beitrag ist auch verfügbar auf: English (Englisch)

Steand: No One Else – 2-Track-EP – 2021

Genre: Electronica, Deep House, Sunny Summer Sound

Label-Change

Steand ist wieder da, diesmal solo und nicht mit Andy Kulter, dafür aber mit der 2-Track EP “No One Else”, die mit echtem Ear-Catcher Qualitäten punktet. Es erstaunte mich allerdings, dass die neue Single nicht mehr bei Nora En Pure’s Purified Records erschienen ist, sondern bei Songspire aus Amsterdam in den Niederlanden. Steand zählte für mich zusammen mit seinem Produktionspartner Andy Kulter eigentlich schon zum Purified Records Urgestein. Nun ja, nothing lasts for ever.

Über den Artist
Steand
Steand – No One Else

Steand – der Name setzt sich aus den Anfangsbuchstaben Stephan und Andreas zusammen – ist in Rheinland-Pfalz in der Nähe von Kaiserslautern beheimatet und produziert seit 2012 Musik. Als Fan von “Above & Beyond,” den Masterminds vom Anjunabeat-/Anjunadeep-Label aus UK, haben beide den Produktionsstil von Steand nachhaltig geprägt. Sein Sound lässt sich irgendwo im Spannungsfeld zwischen Deep House und Progressive House einordnen.

Doch Steand macht deutlich mehr, als nur in den reichlich breitgetretenen Deep House-Pfaden zu wandeln. Steand hatte mich schon mit der Vorgänger EP “It’s Okay” bei Purified Records mehr als nur überzeugt, denn nur sehr wenige Genre-Kolleg*innen schütteln die Arrangements so locker und mühelos wie er aus dem Ärmel.

No One Else – der Track / Original-Mx und Jackarta-Remix

Der neue Track “No One Else” hat einen unglaublich lockeren Flow, sehr behutsam schichtet Steand elektronische Klangebenen mit Percussion, perlend repetitiven Keyboards und stampfenden Beats übereinander und lässt sie organisch zusammenwirken.

Last but least gesellen sich dann noch überaus markante Vocal-Lines hinzu, die dem Original-Mix wie auch dem etwas stärker zupackenden Jackarta-Remix – einen ganz besonderen Flair verleihen. Die männlichen Vocals sind ein wenig rauchig und nölig, sehr markant, und stehen damit eigentlich im Widerspruch zu dem sonnig blumig unbeschwerten Summer-Sound. Doch Steand verwebt diese beiden Ebenen sehr elegant und formt daraus einen Track mit schier unglaublich hohem Wiedererkennungswert, der durchaus das Zeug zum Sommerhit haben kann.

The man behind the vocals
Steand

Dass Steand seinen Sound mit Haut und Haaren lebt, zeigt auch die beinahe unglaubliche Geschichte, wie “No One Else” zu den stylischen Vocals gekommen ist.
Eines schönen Tages war Steand etwas gedankenverloren in Berlin unterwegs, als ein Luftzug plötzlich den Gesang eines unglaublich eindrucksvollen Straßenmusikers in seine Ohren trug. Steand sprach den Musiker an und nach ein paar Bechern Kaffee und noch vielmehr langen Gesprächen stand fest, wer die Vocals bei “No One Else” übernehmen würde.

Somit besitzt Steand zudem auch noch recht ausgeprägte Scouting-Qualitäten, und wirklich no one else konnte die Track-Vocals derart nachhaltig und prägend übernehmen.

Klangqualität

Die “No One Else” EP liegt ausschließlich in 16 Bit / 44.1 kHz vor, ist allerdings perfekt abgemischt mit einem gut konturierten, tief hinab reichenden Bass, einem organisch temperierten Höhenbereich und sehr natürlich daherkommenden Mitteltonbereich.

Bezugsquellennachweis

Artist: Steand
Title: No One Else
Format: 2-Track EP
Lable: SongSpire Records
Release Date: 24. Mai 2021
Genre: Electronica, Deep House
2 Tracks • 07m 12s

cd_silver_45

Bei Qobuz verfügbar in CD Quality 
16-Bit / 44.1 kHz – Stereo

Mein Test-Equiment

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

%d Bloggern gefällt das: