Oora: Iterations (Album) – 2021

Also available in ...: Deutsch (German)

Oora: Iterations – Album – 2021 – Random Collective Records

Genre: Electronica, Ambient-Dub, Slow-Techno, Minimal Organic TechHouse

Intro

On August 05, 2021, Oora’s new album “Iterations” will be released on the small but mighty label “Random Collective Records”. “Iterations” is the second album from Italian born and Brooklyn NY based electronic artist Oora (pronounced like Aura) aka Federico Chiesa.
While his first album “Memoria”, released on September 24, 2020, was a nostalgic journey back to the days of his childhood, “Iterations”, in contrast, is an escape from the forced Lockdown studio confinement, both physically and mentally.

The Video “Oora + J/Née // Live Improvised Performance for The Vigil”

It all started with Oora and me in May 2021, when my YouTube bot, trained by me, recommended me the video “Oora + J/Née // Live Improvised Performance for The Vigil”. I’ll present it to you here, because the music of Oora wins by the visual representation once again quite strongly.

I was so impressed by the performance that I watched the video 3 or 4 times in a row. Oora and J/Née recorded and staged this gig for Maryland Institute College of Arts (MICA) Baltimore’s “The Vigil” event. As usual, they didn’t stick to a rigid production schedule and simply improvised on it. And the flow of this 22-minute performance is simply mesmerizing. Y/Née uses a critter and Guitar Eyesy as an overlay.

For this production Oora used an analog Vermona PERfourMER MKII monophonic synthesizer, a Roland Tr8, a digital Microcosm effects unit based on a granular delay from Hologram Electronics, a Death by Audio Rooms stereo reverberator, a Benidub digital echo effects generator, and finally an Eventide Space effects unit for digital room simulations. Oora controlled the whole thing with the Elektron Octatrack MKII eight-track performance sampler, the Faderfox PC12 MIDI controller and the freely configurable multi-effects unit Mod Devices MOD DUO X. As you can see, Oora’s electronic zoo is quite respectable.

Oora’s music reminds me of the sound of Tangerine Dream with the album “Ricochet” from 1975 or also of Klaus Schulze with the album “Timewind” from the same year. But Tangerine Dream and Klaus Schulze with their voluminous baroque electronics have fallen richly out of time over the decades.

The Album Iterations by Oora
Oora
Oora – Iterations (Random Collective)

The Oora sound shows one or the other parallel to Tangerine Dream and Klaus Schulze, but is cut out of a completely different wood. Oora’s music is immensely organically modern and meanders with its many multi-sound landscapes somewhere in the triangle between ambient dub, slow techno, and minimal organic tech house. When it became known that Oora has produced a new album, I contacted him and received all the information from Oora and the label “Random Collective Records” within a very short time so that I could present this review to you.

“Iterations” is electronica in the very best sense of the word. They are multidimensional sound landscapes that take place and permanently evolve in the very own Oora biotope – a world of its own so good that it should be protected as a UNESCO biosphere reserve. Because Oora ” is researching” at the roots of electronic music and delivers an immensely important part to the further development of electronic music, just like my buddies at SINE MUSIC in the German Black Forest are doing. Important for the reason that this music is much more than the ephemeral, commercial deep house and dancefloor electronics or unambitious boring ambient sound.

Certainly there are also exceptional artists from the second row, such as the producer Inamar with her beautiful good-mood dancefloor hooks, Blooy with his lo-fi experiments or also Blocoroco with his twisted AfroHouse sound, who are always able to convince with new ideas and approaches. But Oora is so completely different.

Most of the tracks on “Iterations” are starting with an atmospheric pad, which is the basis for the further development of the tracks and for setting the right mood.

Oora
Oora

“Eterno,” the album’s opener, is a nearly 10-minute journey that sets the mood for the entire album. The main part was created from a piano sample and some Juno sounds. Oora loves movies and states that he thinks it’s highly exciting how film and music work together. “Sometimes I do approach a composition with the idea of creating a mood or a scene. The result is not really a track, but rather something like a stimulation of the listener’s acoustic neural pathways,” as he says.

Oora sporadically uses acoustic instruments and field recordings, sampling whatever ambient sounds he can find around his house. These samples provide the green, organic sound base where his stunning electronic soundscapes can be built upon.

For the track “Coda”, a pad was first created on the Novation Peak, which was then run through the Fairfield Circuitry Shallow Water, the Hologram Microcosm and through Death by Audio Rooms. In addition, there were some sequences on different tracks that Oora recorded with the Portastudio. Last but not least, Oora played with the faders a bit to record the final sound. Also drums and a few other sounds were added. This may all sound rather technical, but in this way Federico has created his very own electronic music biosphere.

The Bottom Line

Literally, Iterations is an immensely fascinating electronic head cinema that takes the listener on a journey where he or she can leave behind all constraints, boundaries and limitations. With Iterations and the incredible good flow of the tracks Federico makes the listener’s head fit again and frees it from everyday limitations. Take Iterations and imagine hearing the sound live at the appropriate alternative festival here in Germany: The audience will definitely start grooving to Oora’s music at some point.

Sound Quality

Iterations was available for me as a 24 bits / 48 kHz file and sounds fantastic over the entire frequency range.

Format: 24 Bits / 48kHz9,5
Spatially10
Heights10
Mids10
Bass10
Total9,9
Facts about Oora – Iterations

Artist: Oora
Title: Iterations
Format: Album
Label: Random Collective Records
Release Date: 05. August 2021
7 tracks – 47:19 min – stereo
Available via Bandcamp

My Test Equiment

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

Oora: Iterations (Album) – 2021

Also available in ...: English (Englisch)

Oora: Iterations – Album – 2021 – Random Collective Records

Genre: Electronica, Ambient-Dub, Slow-Techno, Minimal Organic TechHouse

Intro

Am 05. August 2021 erscheint Oora’s neues Album “Iterations” bei dem kleinen aber feinen Label “Random Collective Records”. “Iterations” ist das zweite Album des gebürtigen Italieners und in Brooklyn NY lebenden Elektronik-Künstlers Oora (pronounced like Aura) aka Federico Chiesa.
Während sein erstes Album “Memoria”, das am 24. September 2020 erschienen ist, eine nostalgische Reise zurück zu den Tagen seiner Kindheit war, ist “Iterations” im Gegensatz dazu ein Ausbruch aus der erzwungenen Lockdown Studio-Enge, sowohl physisch als auch mental.

Das Video “Oora + J/Née // Live Improvised Performance for The Vigil”

Angefangen mit Oora und mir hatte alles im Mai 2021, als mein von mir trainierter YouTube-Bot mir das Video “Oora + J/Née // Live Improvised Performance for The Vigil” empfahl. Ich stelle Euch das am besten hier mal vor, denn die Musik von Oora gewinnt durch die visuelle Darstellung noch mal ganz kräftig.

Ich war von der Darbietung derart beeindruckt, dass ich mir das Video 3 oder 4-mal hintereinander angeschaut hatte. Oora und J/Née haben diesen Gig für die Veranstaltung “The Vigil” des Maryland Institute College of Arts (MICA) Baltimore aufgenommen und in Szene gesetzt. Wie üblich haben sich die beiden dabei nicht an einen steifen Produktions-Plan gehalten und einfach improvisiert. Und der Flow dieser 22 minütigen Darbietung ist schlichtweg faszinierend. J/Née benutzt einen Critter und Guitar Eyesy als Overlay.

Oora nutze für diese Produktion einen analogen Vermona PERfourMER MKII monophonen Synthesizer, dazu einen Roland Tr8, ein digitales Microcosm Effektgerät auf Basis eines Granulardelays von Hologram Electronics, einen Death by Audio Rooms Stereo Reverberator, des Weiteren einen Benidub Digital Echo Effektgenerator, und schließlich ein Eventide Space Effektgerät für digitale Raumsimulationen. Gesteuert hat Oora das Ganze mit dem Elektron Octatrack MKII Achtspur-Performance Sampler, dem  Faderfox PC12 MIDI-Controller und dem frei konfigurierbaren Multi-Effektgerät Mod Devices MOD DUO X. Wie Ihr seht ist der elektronische Zoo von Oora recht ansehnlich.

Oora’s Musik erinnert mich an den Sound von Tangerine Dream mit dem Album “Ricochet” aus dem Jahr 1975 oder auch an Klaus Schulze mit dem Album “Timewind” aus den gleichen Jahr. Allerdings sind beide mit Ihrer voluminösen Barock-Elektronik im Laufe der Jahrzehnte jedoch reichlich aus der Zeit gefallen.

Das Album Iterations von Oora
Oora
Oora – Iterations (Random Collective)

Der Oora Sound weist zwar die eine oder andere Parallele zu Tangerine Dream und Klaus Schulze auf, ist jedoch aus einem ganz anderen Holz geschnitzt. Oora’s Musik ist ungemein organisch modern und mäandert mit seinen vielen Multi-Klangwelten irgendwo im Dreieck zwischen Ambient-Dub, Slow-Techno, und Minimal Organic TechHouse. Als bekannt wurde, dass Oora ein neues Album produziert hat, nahm ich mit ihm Kontakt auf und erhielt von Oora und dem Label “Random Collective Records” binnen kürzester Zeit alle Informationen, um Euch dieses Review präsentieren zu können.

“Iterations” ist Electronica im allerbesten Sinne des Wortes. Es sind multidimesionle Klangwelten, die sich im ureigenen Oora-Biotop abspielen und permanent entwickeln, eine eigene Welt, die so gut ist, dass sie als UNESCO-Biosphärenreservat geschützt werden sollte. Denn Oora “forscht” an der Wurzel der elektronischen Musik und liefert einen immens wichtigen Teil zur Weiterentwicklung der elektronischen Music, ganz so, wie es meine Buddies bei SINE MUSIC im Schwarzwald tun. Wichtig aus dem Grunde, weil diese Musik viel mehr ist als die flüchige, kommerzielle DeepHouse- und Dancefloor-Elektronik oder unambitioniert langweiliger Ambient-Sound.

Sicherlich gibt es auch dort Ausnahme-Künstler aus der zweiten Reihe, wie beispielsweise die Produzentin Inamar mit ihren wunderschönen Gute-Laune-Dancefloor-Hooks, Blooy mit seinen Lo-Fi Experimenten oder auch Blocoroco mit seinem verspulten AfroHouse-Sound, die immer wieder mit neuen Ideen und Ansätzen zu überzeugen vermögen. Doch Oora ist so vollständig anders.

Die meisten Tracks auf “Iterations” beginnen mit einem atmosphärischen Pad, das die Grundlage bildet für die weitere Entwicklung der Tracks und für die richtige Stimmung.

Oora
Oora

“Eterno”, der Opener des Albums, ist eine fast 10-minütige Reise, die die Stimmung für das gesamte Album vorgibt. Der Hauptteil wurde aus einem Klavier-Sample und einigen Juno-Sounds erstellt. Oora liebt Filme und findet es nach eigener Aussage höchst spannend, wie Film und Musik miteinander funktioniert. “Manchmal gehe ich an die Komposition mit der Idee heran, eine Stimmung oder eine Szene zu erzeugen. Was dabei herauskommt, ist kein richtiger Track, sondern eher so etwas wie eine Stimulierung der akustischen Nervenbahnen des Hörers”, wie er sagt.

Oora setzt sporadisch akustische Instrumente und Field Recordings ein und sampelt alle Umgebungsgeräusche, die er um sein Haus herum finden kann. Diese liefern die grüne, organische Klangbasis, auf der sich seine beeindruckenden elektronischen Klangwelten aufbauen können.

Für den Track “Coda” wurde zunächst ein Pad auf dem Novation Peak erstellt, das dann durch den Fairfield Circuitry Shallow Water, den Hologram Microcosm und durch Death by Audio Rooms gelaufen ist. Dazu kamen dann noch einige Sequenzen auf verschiedenen Spuren, die Oora mit dem Portastudio aufgenommen hat. Zu guter Letzt spielte Oora dann ein wenig mit den Fadern, um den endgültigen Sound aufzunehmen. Außerdem wurden noch Schlagzeug und ein paar andere Sounds hinzugefügt. Das mag jetzt alles reichlich technisch klingen, doch auf diese Art und Weise kreiert Federico seine ureigene elektronische Musik-Biosphäre.

Fazit

Iterations ist allerbestes immens faszinierendes elektronisches Kopfkino, das den Hörer auf eine Reise mitnimmt bei der er Zwänge, Grenzen und Limitierungen hinter sich lassen kann. Federico macht mit Iterations und dem unglaublichen gutem Flow der Tracks den Kopf des Hörers wieder fit und befreit von Alltagslimitierungen. Man nehme Iterations und stelle Sie sich vor, den Sound live auf dem entsprechenden alternativen Festival hier in Deutschland zu hören: Das Publikum wird definitiv irgendwann anfangen, zu Oora’s Musik zu grooven.

Klangqualität

Iterations lag mir als 24 Bits / 48 kHz File vor und klingt über den gesamten Frequenzbereich fantastisch.

Format: 24 Bits / 48kHz9,5
Räumlichkeit10
Höhen10
Mitten10
Bass10
Total9,9
Facts zu Oora – Iterations

Artist: Oora
Title: Iterations
Format: Album
Label: Random Collective Records
Release Date: 05. August 2021
7 Tracks – 47:19 min – stereo
Verfügbar über Bandcamp

Mein Test-Equiment

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool