Luttrell: Music For My Memories Pt. 1 (EP) – 2021

Also available in ...: Deutsch (German)

Luttrell: Music For My Memories Pt. 1 (7-Track EP)

Genre: Electronic, Minimal/TechHouse

Intro

Since 2016, Luttrell alias Eric Luttrell from San Francisco (USA) had been on my schedule from time to time, because during this period Luttrell had caused a lot of excitement with extended US tours together with Above & Beyond,Rüfüs Du Sol or Lane 8. Additionally, he performed at notable festivals such as Outsidelands, Electric Forest, Lightning In A Bottle, Spring Awakening, and the Anjunadeep Open Air Tour, where he was co-headlining.

However, it had never really “clicked” for me when it comes to Luttrell, because I didn’t really like the label Anjunadeep for years so much due to their flood of trance releases, despite the fact that I find Oceanlab and Above & Beyond’s “We Are All we Need” absolutely fantastic and I still appreciate them very much today.

The Music For Memories Series, here Part 1
Luttrell

But last week, the almighty YouTube algorithm strikes me again and was flooding me with Luttrell’s new EP “Music For My Memories Pt. 1”, the new single “Just a Dream” and tons of older mixes and remixes. And once again the algorithm was right: With “Music For My Memories Pt. 1” Luttrell did a fantastic job.t.

During 2021, Luttrell plans to release two more episodes from his “Music For My Memories” series, which we can already look forward to with great pleasure. This part of the trilogy reminds us a little bit of Moby’s early works from 2002 (18) to 2005 (Hotel), however these are only trace elements at the most, because Luttrell has released a whole bag full of releases on Anjunadeep since 2016 and has developed his very own style.

Thus, the opener “Ex Nihilo” is drifting a bit towards ambient with a beautiful piano baseline and slightly spherical soundscapes. New single “Just A Dream” is a banger with driving beats and deep repetitive vocals. There is also a more energetic version of this track as an extended mix. Snoop Dawk comes along with beautiful vocal sequences, then switches tempo from the middle of the track to drift along with airy earthy soundscapes – this is very, very nicely arranged.

The track “Music For My Memories” will probably make Moby freeze into a hydrochloric acid with rapture. This track comes along with driving dance-beat sequences and a darkened mood with deep pulsating basses. “October Song” may also be very pleasing with ambient background noise and some ambient effects. Finally, Luttrell also offers us the track “Snoop Dawk” as an extended mix, which is much more dynamic with a stomping bassline. This is my absolute fav on this EP.

The Bottom Line

Luttrell did an extremely impressive job with “Music For My Memories Pt. 1”, which should satisfy dancefloor fans as well as headphone fans from the ambient world.
The EP is available in 16 bit / 44.1 kHz CD quality and pleases with well defined bass and clean spatiality without any sharpness.

Facts:

Artist: Luttrell
Album: Music For My Memories Pt. 1
Label: Anjunadeep ANJDEE573D
Release Date: 23 March 2021
Genre: Electronic, Minimal / TechHouse
7 Tracks – 31 Minutes

Available at AnjunaMusicStore in:

cd_silver_45

16 bit / 44.1 kHz
CD quality – stereo

My Test Equipment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

Luttrell: Music For My Memories Pt. 1 (EP) – 2021

Luttrell: Music For My Memories Pt. 1 (7-Track EP)

Genre: Electronic, Minimal/TechHouse

Luttrell

Luttrell alias Eric Luttrell aus San Francisco (USA) hatte ich in den letzten Jahren seit 2016 immer wieder mal auf dem Plan, denn Luttrell hatte während dieser Zeit mit ausgedehnten US-Touren zusammen mit Above & Beyond, Rüfüs Du Sol oder auch Lane 8 für mächtig viel Furore gesorgt. Dazu kamen Auftritte auf namhaften Festivals wie Outsidelands, Electric Forest, Lightning In A Bottle, Spring Awakening und der Anjunadeep Open Air Tour, bei der er als Co-Headliner fungierte.

Dennoch hatte es bei mir in Sachen Luttrell nie so richtig “Klick” gemacht, da ich mit dem Label Anjunadeep über Jahre wegen der Flut an Trance-Veröffentlichungen nicht so irre viel anfangen konnte, wenngleich ich Oceanlab und Above & Beyond’s “We Are All we Need” absolut fantastisch finde und heute noch überaus zu schätzen weiß.

Doch vergangene Woche schlug dann der allmächtige YouTube Algorithmus wieder zu und schütte mich mit Luttrell’s neuer EP “Music For My Memories Pt. 1”, der neuen Single “Just a Dream” und säckeweise älteren Mixes und Remixes zu. Und der Algorithmus hatte wieder mal recht: Mit “Music For My Memories Pt. 1” hat Luttrell ein fantastisches Werk abgeliefert.

Im Laufe dieses Jahres 2021 will Luttrell zwei weitere Episoden aus seiner “Music For My Memories” – Reihe veröffentlichen, worauf wir jetzt schon überaus gespannt sein dürfen. Der vorliegende Teil der Trilogie erinnert ein ganz klein wenig an die frühen Werke von Moby aus der Zeit 2002 (18) bis 2005 (Hotel), doch das sind allenfalls Spurenelemente, denn Luttrell veröffentlichte seit 2016 einen ganzen Sack voll Releases bei Anjunadeep und hat seinen ureigenen Stil entwickelt.

So driftet der Opener “Ex Nihilo” mit einer wunderschönen Piano-Basis und leicht sphärischen Klangwelten etwas in Richtung Ambient. Die neue Single “Just A Dream” ist ein Knaller mit treibenden Beats und tiefen repetitiven Vocals. Diesen Track gibts dann auch noch mal in einer etwas energischer zupackenden Version als Extended Mix. Snoop Dawk kommt mit wunderschönen Vocal-Segmenten daher, wechselt dann ab Mitte des Tracks das Tempo, um mit luftigen erdverbunden Klangwelten vor sich hinzutreiben – sehr, sehr schön arrangiert ist das Ganze.

Der Track “Music For My Memories” dürfte Moby vor Verzückung zu einer Salzsäure erstarren lassen. Der Track lebt von treibenden Dance-Beat-Sequenzen und einer abgedunkelten Grundstimmung mit tiefen pulsierenden Bässen. Auch “October Song” mag mit ambienter Lautmalerei und einigen Umgebungsgeräuschen sehr zu gefallen. Zu guter Letzt spendiert uns Luttrell dann noch mal den Track “Snoop Dawk” als Extended Mix, der deutlich dynamischer mit stampfendem Bass daher kommt. Dies ist mein absoluter Fav auf dieser EP.

Mit “Music For My Memories Pt. 1” ist Luttrell ein überaus beeindruckendes Werk gelungen, das sowohl den Dancefloor-Fans, als auch den Kopförer-Fans aus der Ambient-Welt gefallen sollte.
Die EP liegt im 16 Bit / 44.1 kHz in CD-Qualität vor und vermag mit gut definierten Bässen und sauberer Räumlichkeit ohne jegliche Schärfe zu gefallen.

Facts:

Artist: Luttrell
Album: Music For My Memories Pt. 1
Label: Anjunadeep ANJDEE573D
Release Date: 23. März 2021
Genre: Electronic, Minimal / TechHouse
7 Tracks – 31 Minutes

Im AnjunaMusicStore erhältlich in:

cd_silver_45

16 bit / 44.1 kHz
CD-Qualität – Stereo


Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

%d Bloggern gefällt das: