Klangstein: Viela (Album) – 2021

Also available in ...: Deutsch (German)

Klangstein: Viela (Album) – 2021 – SINE MUSIC

Genre: Electronica

Intro

It happened in 2015, I was browsing qobuz for new releases in electronica and came across an appealing album with a white cover titled Orbit. From Klangstein, a.k.a. Torben Weber near Frankfurt deep in the Hessian Ried. I listened and liked the electronic downtempo compositions, beautifully recorded and – as usual with Sine Music from Villingen-Schwenningen – with an excellent sound quality that has reference status. Then it got quiet around Klangstein – well at least for me – because I had turned more and more to other styles, still Electronica, though, but up to Trance, Deep House, Minimal/TechHouse and Techno. And so we lost track of each other a bit.

The album “Viela”
Klangstein

Time travel into the year 2021, in the middle of the pandemic, a time where music never before has taken such a high priority in my life. I had reactivated qobuz as a test and browsed through their electronica new releases and came across an album with a discreet blue cover and the stylish title “Klangstein – Viela”. In other words, an old familiar face.

While listening thru, I got hooked on the third track “Ganz leise (Viela Edit)”. Actually, the entire track sounded familiar, which was true, as Klangstein had already released the track in various remixes back in 2010. In the meantime I should have heard the track in the “Viela Edit” about 50 times. “Ganz leise” is one of those songs that gives me a 9.5 quake on the EDM Richter scale. With a melancholic and sad arrangement, restrained forward-driving beats and the beguiling vocals of Sylvia Gerlach, this track sends a pleasant shiver up your spine – and has a huge dancefloor potential.

Also a fairly well-known DJ friend from Austria, to whom I had sent the YouTube link to the track, was also thrilled. “If you add a groovy bassline and some percussion stuff to it, “Ganz leise” definitely becomes a floor killer”, Blockoland said and I absolutely agree with him. Let’s push it with a fat remix and we’ll promote it in all channels!

Klangstein

While the track “Viela” is diving slightly into deep house spheres, “Chemicals” and “Nighflight” are pleasing with a sultry stomping driving bassline and a fascinating monotonous drive.
The downtempo track “Querbeat” on the other hand is a fascinating example of experimental ambient sounds, the chilling “Some Quiet Moments in the Elevator” comes along with pulsating synth sequences in best downtempo manner and was already recorded on the EP “The Elevator Sessions 01” released in 2018 on Klangstein’s own schalldeluxe label.

“Electric Penguin” is another time travel, teleporting us to the 80s and is bringing back some memories about EBM, while ” Little Satellite” may also be used as a whimsical, upbeat mini-soundtrack for the flight of the Voyager satellites through deep space.

Sound Quality

The album is available in 24 Bit / 44.1 kHz and convinces with an excellent sound over the whole frequency spectrum.

The Bottom Line

The album “Viela” covers an enormous spectrum of modern electronic music with ambient, chillout, deep house and downtempo to midtempo dancefloor numbers and is convincing with an excellent sound quality. If there is anything at all to criticize, it might Klangsteins broad genre foray on Viela. A slightly stronger focus on electronic dance music would certainly not be a disadvantage for the Klangstein project.

Facts about the album “Viela” by Klangstein

Artist: Klangstein
Album: Viela
Label: SINE MUSIC
Release Date: January 29, 2021
Electronic • 12 Tracks • 01h 13m 33s

Hi-Res

Available on Qobuz in Hi-Res Audio
24 bits 44.1 kHz – Stereo

Mein Test-Equiment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

Klangstein: Viela (Album) – 2021

Also available in ...: English (Englisch)

Klangstein: Viela (Album) – 2021 – SINE MUSIC

Genre: Electronica

Intro

Es geschah im Jahre 2015, ich stöberte in qobuz nach Neuheiten im Bereich Electronic und stieß auf ein ansprechendes Album mit weißem Cover betitelt Orbit. Von Klangstein, a.k.a. Torben Weber in der Nähe von Frankfurt tief im hessischen Ried. Ich hörte rein und fand Gefallen an den elektronischen Downtempo-Kompositionen, wunderschön eingespielt und wie üblich bei Sine Music aus Villingen-Schwenningen in exzellenter Klangqualität mit Referenzstatus. Dann wurde es ruhig um Klangstein – zumindest für mich –, denn ich hatte mich zunehmend anderen Stilarten zugewandt, zwar immer noch Electronica, jedoch hin bis zu Trance, Deep House, Minimal/TechHouse und Techno. Und so haben wir uns etwas aus den Augen verloren.

Das Album „Viela“
Klangstein

Zeitsprung in Jahr 2021, mitten in der Pandemie, eine Zeit, in der Musik einen noch nie so hohen Stellenwert in meinem Leben eingenommen hat. Ich hatte testweise qobuz wieder aktiviert, durchstöberte die Electronica-Neuheiten und stieß auf ein Album mit dezent blauen Cover und dem stylischen Schriftzug „Klangstein – Viela“. Ein alter Bekannter also.

Beim Durchhören blieb ich beim dritten Track “Ganz leise (Viela Edit)” hängen. Das Ganze kam mir bekannt vor, und richtig, Klangstein hatte den Track bereits in verschiedenen Remixes im Jahre 2010 veröffentlicht. Mittlerweile dürfte ich den Track im “Viela Edit” so um die 50 mal gehört haben. “Ganz leise” ist einer dieser Songs, die bei mir ein 9,5er Beben auf der EDM-Richterskala auslösen. Melancholisch traurig arrangiert, mit verhalten nach vorne treibenden tief runter reichenden Beats und den betörenden Vocals von Sylvia Gerlach, treibt dieser Track einen wohligen Schauer nach dem anderen den Rücken hoch – und hat allergrößtes Dancefloor-Potential.

Auch ein befreundeter recht bekannter DJ aus Österreich, dem ich den YouTube-Link zum Track geschickt hatte, war auch begeistert. “Wenn man da ne groovige Bassline und ein paar Percussion-Sachen dazu tut, dann wird “Ganz leise” definitiv zum Floorkiller”, meinte Blockoland und ich gebe im dabei absolut recht. Also schiebt noch einen fetten Remix hinterher und wir pushen das Teil dann in allen Kanälen!

Klangstein

Der Track “Viela” taucht leicht in Deep House-Gefilde ein, während “Chemicals” und “Nighflight” mit schwül stampfend treibenden Basslines und einer faszinierend monotonen Motorik zu gefallen wissen.
Der Downtempo-Track “Querbeat” hingegen ist ein faszinierendes Beispiel für experimental ambient sounds, das chillige “Some Quiet Moments in the Elevator” kommt mit pulsierenden Synthie-Sequenzen in bester Downtempo-Manier daher und war bereits auf der 2018 bei Klangstein’s eigenem schalldeluxe-Label erschienen EP “The Elevator Sessions 01” verzeichnet.

“Electric Penguin” vollführt wieder einen Zeitsprung, teleportiert uns in die 80er und lässt die eine oder andere Erinnerung an EBM wach werden, “Little Satellite” könnte auch als launig beschwingter Mini-Soundtrack für den Flug der Voyager-Sonden durch das tiefe All herhalten.

Klangqualität

Das Album liegt in 24 Bit / 44.1 kHz vor und überzeugt über das gesamte Frequenzspektrum hinweg mit einem exzellenten Sound.

Fazit

Das Album “Viela” deckt mit Ambient, Chillout, Deep House und Downtempo bis hin zu Midtempo-Dancefloor-Nummern ein enormes Spektrum an moderner elektronischer Musik ab und vermag mit einer exzellenten Klangqualität zu glänzen. Wenn man überhaupt etwas bemängeln möchte, so mag dies der breite Genres-Streifzug sein, den Klangstein auf Viela vollzieht. Eine etwas stärkere Fixierung auf Electronic Dance Music würde dem Klangstein-Projekt sicher nicht zum Nachteil gereichen.

Facts zum Album “Viela” von Klangstein

Artist: Klangstein
Album: Viela
Label: SINE MUSIC
Release Date: 29. Januar 2021
Electronic • 12 Tracks • 01h 13m 33s

Hi-Res

Verfügbar bei Qobuz in Hi-Res Audio
24 bits 44.1 kHz – Stereo

Mein Test-Equiment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool