Hania Rani: Live from Studio S2 (Video + more) – 2021

This review is also available in: Deutsch (German)

Hania Rani: Live from Studio S2 – Video, EP + Album “Home”

Genre: Somewhere between neo-classical, jazz, ambient, electronic and extremely sophisticated songwriting.

Video “Hania Rani – Live from Studio S2”
Hania Rani

On March 28, 2021, the video “Hania Rani – Live from Studio S2” was published on YouTube, recorded in the iconic Studio S2, one of the famous recording studios of Polish Radio in Warsaw.
The name Hania Rani frankly didn’t mean anything to me at first, but when I watched the recording from Warsaw, I sat mesmerized in front of the screen in my large listening room and was simply overwhelmed by Hania’s compositions, her charisma, her aura and her crystal clear voice.

In simple black and white and played on two pianos and two synths with sporadic use of vocals, Hania Rani presents in the live video “Live from Studio S2” (1080p) a sound that – like all her works – is difficult to classify. Hania is located somewhere in the wide field between neo-classic, electronic, ambient and here and there extremely sophisticated songwriting with expressive lyrics.

I have to think back in my musical history for a very long time to find any music that touches me like the one by Hania Rani, which permanently drives water into my eyes every time I watch or listen to the album “Home”.

Here’s the track listing:
0:00 Hawaii Oslo (from Esja)
6:33 Glass (from Esja)
13:39 Leaving (from Home)
20:29 Buka (from Home)

2 Track EP “Live from Studio S2

In addition to this live video, a small but overwhelmingly good 2 track EP “Live from Studio S2” has been released by Gondwana Records, which I can highly recommend to you.

The album “Home”

Hania Rani, born in Gdansk, Poland, has been signed for several years to Gondwana Records in Manchester, UK, the label of DJ, trumpeter, composer and bandleader Matthew Halsall, which in its own words is intended to be “A home for like-minded kindred souls,” a home for “jazz from the meditative-spiritual world, for contemporary modern jazz, neo-classical, ambient and electronic crossover”.And with that, Hania Rani is in perfect hands with Gondwana Records.

Hania Rani – Home

The latest album from Hania Rani titled “Home” was released on May 29, 2020. The album is opening very slowly for the listener, cautiously track by track, and requires an unreserved engagement with Hania’s music. And very gradually, very slowly, “Home” becomes one of the rare albums that will then accompany you for a lifetime.

The first two tracks “Leaving” and “Buka” are relatively easy to get into, as you already got to know and love these two tracks on the video “Live from Studio S2”.

“Home” is a metaphorical journey, presenting stories about a path to the places that become our home – sometimes by accident, sometimes by purposeful choice. “Home” is the story of leaving a familiar place and the journey that must inevitably follow as a result.
“You can lose your way a bit and still find a home within – which can mean many things – soul, imagination, intellect, intuition, passion. I firmly believe that in uncertain times and unstable lives, we can still find peace with ourselves and be able to find ‘home’ anywhere.” that’s how Hania Rani talks about her album “Home”,

And whoever opens up to Hania Rani and her music will perhaps find a new musical home in her works after a long period of intensive study, just as it happened to me.

“Home” is a multi-layered and yes, also a difficult album. Just recently, the track “Home” with Hania’s elfin voice and an extremely soulful arrangement touched us very deeply, so follows with “Zero Hour” another track that asks us once again to engage intensively with the music of Hania. At the beginning I already spoke about the incredibly strong charisma and aura that surrounds Hania Rani and her arrangements.
It’s almost as if Hania is always reaching out to us on all tracks to help us over the cliffs and the thunderously threatening surf in many of her exceptional arrangements – almost as if she’s always guiding us a bit as we explore the album.

And so it becomes possible that Hania on the one hand is accompanying us with incredibly strong musical expressiveness on our journey through the album – and will always accompany us on our very own journey through our lives, if we want to let that happen.

Some time ago I had a rather exciting conversation with Ela Minus about the fact that intensive involvement with the works of an artist can have a massive influence on individual listening habits, and can even change a person’s own life a lot. The album of Ela Minus “acts of rebellion” had led me to a break with supposedly cherished listening habits and pushed me in a different musical direction, Hania Rani has completed this in turn and finally prepared a new musical path for me with an extremely deeply touching musical earthquake.

Sound quality

The sound quality of the album “Home” as well as the EP “Live from Studio S2” is excellent and scores with an enormous variety of details, excellent spatial imaging without any sharpness in the high frequency range. The basses reach down to the cellar and are reproduced precisely.

Facts about Hania Rani – Home (Album)

Artist: Hania Rani
Album: Home
Release Date: 05/29/20
Label: Gondwana Records
Genre: Electronic Ambient

Available on Qobuz in
Hi-Res 24-Bit / 96.0 kHz – Stereo

Home>Equipment Studio 1 + 2

My Test Equiment

Studio 1:

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client with 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (192 kHz for video and audio), Tidal (MQA streaming client)
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp)
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)

Studio 2:

  • Speaker: 2 x KEF LS-50 Wireless II Active
  • DAC: Cambridge DAC Magic Plus
  • Headphone amplifier / preamplifier: Auralic Taurus
  • In-ear headphones: Shure SE846 with ALO MMCX Audio Reference 8 cable
  • OverEar headphones: Audeze EL-8
  • OverEar headphones: BeyerDynamic DT 880 S (Studio)
  • J River Media Center 27 with 24 bit / 192 kHz
  • Audirvana Media Center with 32 bit / 192 kHz
Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

%d bloggers like this:

Hania Rani: Live from Studio S2 (Video + more) – 2021

This review is also available in: English (Englisch)

Hania Rani: Live from Studio S2 – Video, EP + Album “Home”

Genre: Irgendwo zwischen Neo-Klassik, Jazz, Ambient, Electronic und extrem anspruchsvollem Songwriting

Video “Hania Rani – Live from Studio S2”
Hania Rani

Am 28.03.2021 erschien bei YouTube das Video “Hania Rani – Live from Studio S2”, aufgenommen im ikonischen Studio S2, eines der berühmten Aufnahmestudios des polnischen Rundfunks in Warschau.
Der Name Hania Rani sagte mir offen gestanden erstmal gar nichts, doch als ich die Aufnahme aus Warschau anschaute, saß ich völlig hypnotisiert vor dem Bildschirm in meinem großen Abhörraum und war schlicht völlig überwältigt von Hania’s Kompositionen, ihrer Ausstrahlung, Ihrer Aura und ihrer glasklaren Stimme.

In schlichtem Schwarz/Weiß gehalten präsentiert Hania Rani in dem Live-Video “Live from Studio S2” (1080p) auf zwei Pianos und zwei Synthies mit sporadischen Vocals einen Sound, der nur schwer einzuordnen ist. Hania bewegt sich irgendwo im weiten Feld von Neo-Classic, Electronic, Ambient und hier und da extrem anspruchsvollem Songwriting mit ausdrucksstarken Lyrics.

Ich muss schon sehr lange in meiner musikalischen Historie zurückdenken, um irgendwelche Musik zu finden, die mich derart berührt, wie die von Hania Rani, die mir bei jedem Anschauen oder bei Hören des Albums “Home” permanent das Wasser in die Augen treibt.

Hier die Tracklist:
0:00 Hawaii Oslo (from Esja)
6:33 Glass (from Esja)
13:39 Leaving (from Home)
20:29 Buka (from Home)

2 Track EP “Live from Studio S2”

Zu diesem Live-Video ist bei Gondwana Rekords auch eine kleine aber überwältigend gute 2 Track EP “Live from Studio S2” erschienen, die ich Euch sehr ans Herz legen kann.

Das Album “Home”

Hania Rani, die gebürtige Polin aus Gdansk ist seit einigen Jahren bei Gondwana Records in Manchester, UK unter Vertrag, dem Label des DJ’s, Trompeters , Komponisten und Bandleaders Matthew Halsall, das nach eigener Aussage “Eine Heimat für gleichgesinnte, verwandte Seelen” sein will, ein Zuhause für “Jazz aus der meditativ-spirituellen Welt, für zeitgenössischen Modern Jazz, Neo-Klassik, Ambient und Electronic-Crossover.” Und damit ist Hania Rani bei Gondwana Records überaus gut aufgehoben.

Hania Rani – Home

Das letzte Album vom Hania Rani, betitelt “Home” erschien am 29. Mai 2020. Das Album öffnet sich für den Hörer nur langsam, Track für Track, und erfordert das vorbehaltlose Einlassen auf Hania’s Musik. Und irgendwann wird “Home” zu einer der wenigen Alben, die Dich dann für ein Leben lang begleiten werden.

Der Zugang zu den ersten beiden Tracks „Leaving“ und „Buka“ erschließt sich relativ schnell, man hat diese beiden Tracks ja schon auf dem Video “Live from Studio S2” kennen und lieben gelernt.

Home bietet eine metaphorische Reise, bietet Geschichten von einer Reise zu den Orten, die manchmal durch Zufall, manchmal durch gezielte Wahl zu unserem Zuhause werden. Home ist die Geschichte vom Verlassen eines vertrauten Ortes und der Reise, die unweigerlich daraus folgen muss.
“Man kann sich verirren, aber in seinem Inneren ein Zuhause finden – was viele Dinge bedeuten kann – Seele, Vorstellungskraft, Verstand, Intuition, Leidenschaft. Ich glaube fest daran, dass wir in unsicheren Zeiten und in einem instabilen Leben immer noch Frieden mit uns selbst finden können und in der Lage sind, überall ein ‘Zuhause’ zu finden”, so erzählt Hania Rani über Ihr Album “Home”.

Und wer sich auf Hania Rani und Ihre Musik einlässt, wird in ihren Werken nach langem intensiven Hineinarbeiten vielleicht ein neues musikalisches Zuhause finden, so, wie es bei mir der Fall gewesen ist.

“Home” ist ein vielschichtiges und ja, auch ein schwieriges Album, gerade erst hat uns der Track “Home” mit Hania’s elfenhaften Stimme und einem überaus gefühlvollen Arrangement sehr tief berührt, so folgt mit “Zero Hour” wieder ein Track, der uns ausgiebiges Beschäftigen mit der Musik von Hania abfordert. Ich habe eingangs schon von der unglaublich starken Ausstrahlung und der Aura gesprochen, die Hania Rani und ihre Arrangements umgibt.
Es ist beinahe so, als ob uns Hania bei allen Titeln stets die Hand reicht, um uns über die Klippen und die tosend bedrückende Brandung vieler Ausnahme-Arrangements zu helfen und uns beim Erkunden des Albums ein Stück weit zu geleiten.

Und so wird es möglich, dass Hania uns einerseits mit unglaublich starker musikalischer Ausdruckskraft bei der Reise durch das Album begleitet – und uns auch auf unserer ureigenen Reise durch unser Leben stets begleiten wird, sofern wir das zulassen wollen.

Mit Ela Minus führte ich vor einiger Zeit ein recht spannendes Gespräch über die Tatsache, dass intensives Auseinandersetzen mit den Werken eines Künstlers die individuellen Hörgewohnheiten massiv beeinflussen kann, ja sogar das eigene Leben sehr verändern kann. Das Album von Ela Minus “acts of rebellion” hatte bei mir zu einem Bruch mit vermeintlich liebgewonnen Hörgewohnheiten geführt und mich in eine andere musikalische Richtung geschoben, Hania Rani wiederum hat mir final mit einem extrem tief berührenden musikalischen Erdbeben einen neuen musikalischen Weg bereitet.

Technische Bewertung

Die Klangqualität des Album “Home” wie auch der EP “Live from Studio S2” ist ausgezeichnet und punktet mit einer enormen Detailvielfalt, exzellenter räumlicher Abbildung ohne jegliche Schärfe im Hochtonbereich. Die Bässe reichen runter bis in den Keller und werden präzise abgebildet.

Facts zu Hania Rani – Home (Album)

Artist: Hania Rani
Album: Home
Release Date: 29.05.20
Label: Gondwana Records
Genre: Electronic Ambient

Bei Qobuz verfügbar in
Hi-Res 24-Bit / 96.0 kHz – Stereo

Mein Test-Equiment

Studio 1:

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (192 kHz für Video und Audio), Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp)
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)

Studio 2:

  • Speaker: 2 x KEF LS-50 Wireless II Aktiv
  • DAC: Cambridge DAC Magic Plus
  • Kopfhörerverstärker/Vorverstärker: Auralic Taurus
  • Kopfhörer InEar: Shure SE846 mit ALO MMCX Audio Reference 8 Kabel
  • Kopfhörer OverEar: Audeze EL-8
  • Kopfhörer OverEar: BeyerDynamic DT 880 S (Studio)
  • J River Media Center 27 mit 24 Bit / 192 kHz
  • Audirvana Media Center mit 32 Bit / 192 kHz
Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

%d Bloggern gefällt das: