GusGus: Love is Alone (EP, 2021)

Also available in ...: Deutsch (German)

GusGus: Love is Alone (EP) – 2021

Genre: Experimental/Electronic – News from the musical volcano from Iceland…..

GusGus – the collective

The GusGus Festival weeks continue. On 04/30/2021, the combo released the 5-track EP “Love is Alone”. To say it right away: This thing is the warhammer, you can celebrate a rehearsal with the three sensationally good remixes “Stay The Ride” in Natty Dub, “Our World” (Bjarki Swipe Right Mix) and “Higher” (Nasty dUb). With these three remixes the modular synth technicians from Iceland show the rest of the world HOW to produce remixes today without kicking the aura of the original mixes into the barrel.

The opener is “Love is Alone” feat. John Grant, no, the latter is not the brother-in-law of Hugh Grant, but rather an accomplished US singer and songwriter with a sonorous ingratiating voice and residence in Reykjavik. In 2011 he met Birgir Þórarinsson a.k.a. Biggi Veira from GusGus at the Iceland Airwaves Festival in Reykjavík and from then on he was part of the extended GusGus circle of friends, where they support each other actively – as it is common in Iceland. So it happened that John Grant took over the vocals on “Love is Alone” and also tells you via the lyrics of the track how the new album of GusGus is called (release date: 28.05.201) : Mobile Home!

Daniel Agust and longtime collaborator John Grant float over the patiently soaring synth grooves with ease on “Love Is Alone.” The production mixes raw melodies with a pop-oriented mindset and experimental electronic drum lines to create a fascinating feast for the ears.

GusGus – Love is Alone – EP

The track is available at the end of the EP again as an instrumental version, which is ideal for karaoke purposes, which, however, my neighbor does not find now sooo great, the Student apartment community from the ground floor, which I have transformed to GusGus fans, however does so. We have celebrated the one or other GusGus release already a few times by cracking and dancing through the house, Covid-19-conform, of course (f..ck 🙁 ).

Biggi Veira’s remix of “Stay The Ride” (Natty dub) uses the vocals and instantly recognizable synth lines of the original, but gently shifts the vocals into the musical background and the whole production towards a smooth, organic house-dub feel for festival summer 2021 – which festival summer 2021 am I actually talking about here 🙁 ? Certainly not the one in Germany – because this one will probably fall into the water because of the fucking pandemic.

The band also brought in Icelandic electronic musician Bjarki, who did an excellent job of enhancing the track “Our World” with his clubby sound. “Our World” in the Bjarki Swipe Right mix offers a beautifully chaotic standout piece of post-techno dancefloor bliss.

The second remix offering by Biggi Veira – “Higher” in nasty dub garb – contrasts with the warm tones of “Stay The Ride” with its stomping, menacing bass sequences reaching down to the centre of the earth. With raves completely out of control in mind, the track turned into a post-techno hammer that is hot as lava and capable of igniting dancefloors.

By the way, on the three tracks “Stay The Ride (Natty dub)”, “Our World (Bjarki Swipe Right Mix)” and “Higher (Nasty dUb)” you can again admire the vocal acrobatics of VÖK aka Margrét Rán. Whenever I do, I end up lying under the table, breathless.

Unfortunately, the EP is only available in 16 bit / 44.1 kHz, which, however, only slightly affects the sound pleasures with abysmally deep bass, cleanly defined trebles and mids that come along naturally.

So – and then I say to you “Goodbye” until the release of the album “Mobil Home” on May 28, 2021. See you virtually on May 29th 2021 for the release party with live stream on the digital platform “Moment House”, you can register for this via the link

Facts about GusGus: Love Is Alone EP:

Artist: Gusgus
Title: Love Is Alone
Format: EP
Label: Oroom
Release Date: April 30, 2021
Genre: Experimental, Electronic, Alternative, Indie
5 Tracks – 25m 59s

cd_silver_45

Available on Qobuz in CD Quality
16-bit / 44.1 kHz – stereo

Equipment Studio 1 + 2

My test equipment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

GusGus: Love is Alone (EP, 2021)

Also available in ...: English (Englisch)

GusGus: Love is Alone (EP) – 2021

Genre: Experimental/Electronic – Neues vom musikalischen Vulkan aus Island…..

GusGus – das Kollektiv

Die GusGus Festival-Wochen gehen weiter. Am 30.04.2021 hat die Combo die 5-Track EP “Love is Alone” auf dem Markt gebracht. Um es gleich vorwegzunehmen: Dieses Teil ist der Überhammer, Ihr könnt dort ein Wiederhören feiern mit den drei sensationell guten Remixes “Stay The Ride” im Natty Dub, “Our World” (Bjarki Swipe Right Mix) und “Higher” (Nasty dUb). Mit diesen drei Remixes zeigen die Modular-Synthie-Klempner aus Island dem Rest der Welt, WIE man Remixe heute produziert, ohne die Aura der Original Mixes in die Tonne zu treten.

Als Opener gibts dann noch “Love is Alone” feat. John Grant, nee letzter ist nicht der Schwippschwager von Gary Grant, sondern vielmehr ein versierter US-amerikanischer Sänger und Songwriter mit einer sonoren einschmeichelnden Stimme und Wohnsitz in Reykjavik. 2011 lernte er Birgir Þórarinsson a.k.a. Biggi Veira von GusGus im Rahmen des Iceland Airwaves Festival in Reykjavík kennen und zählt fortan zum erweiterten GusGus Freundeskreis, der sich – wie in Island netterweise so üblich – gegenseitig tatkräftig unterstützt. So kam es, dass John Grant bei “Love is Alone” die Vocals übernommen hat und Euch über die Lyrics des Tracks auch mitteilt, wie das neue Album von GusGus heißt (VÖ: 28.05.201) : Mobile Home!

Daniel Agust und sein langjähriger Mitkämpfer John Grant schweben bei “Love Is Alone” mit Leichtigkeit über den geduldig schwebenden Synthie-Grooves. Die Produktion mischt raue Melodien mit einer pop-orientierten Denkweise und experimentellen elektonischen Drumlines und sorgt so für ein faszinierenden Ohrenschmaus.

GusGus – Love is Alone – EP

Den Track gibt es am Ende der EP noch mal als instrumental Version, die sich hervorragend für Karaoke-Zwecke eignet, was allerdings meine Nachbarin jetzt nicht sooo toll findet, die Studenten – Wohngemeinschaft von Parterre, die ich zu GusGus-Fans transformiert habe, hingegen schon. Wir haben den einen oder anderen GusGus-Release schon einige Male krachend und durchs Haus tanzend abgefeiert, Covid-19-konform, versteht sich (f..ck 🙁 ).

Biggi Veiras Remix von “Stay The Ride” (Natty dub) verwendet die Vocals und die sofort erkennbaren Synthie-Linien des Originals, verschiebt die Vocals jedoch behutsam in den musikalischen Hintergrund und die ganze Produktion in Richtung eines sanften, organischen House-Dub-Feelings für den Festival-Sommer 2021 – von welchem Festival Sommer 2021 rede ich hier eigentlich gerade 🙁 ? Mit Sicherheit nicht der in Deutschland – denn dieser wird wohl wegen der verfickten Pandemie ins Wasser fallen.

Die Band hat sich außerdem den isländischen Elektroniker Bjarki ins Boot geholt, der den Track “Our World” mit seinem clubbigen Sound exzellent veredelt hat. “Our World” im Bjarki Swipe Right Mix bietet ein wunderschön chaotisch herausragendes Stück Posttechno-Dancefloor-Seligkeit.

Die zweite Remix-Offerte von Biggi Veira – “Higher” im Nasty Dub-Gewand – steht im mit seinen stampfend bedrohlich bis zum Erdmittelpunkt hinabreichenden Basssequenzen im Kontrast zu den warmen Tönen von “Stay The Ride”. Der Track geriet mit völlig außer Kontrolle geratenen Raves im Hinterkopf zu einem Post-Techno-Hammer, der heiß wie Lava dazu imstande ist, Dancefloors zu entzünden.

Bei den drei Tracks “Stay The Ride (Natty dub)”, “Our World (Bjarki Swipe Right Mix)” und “Higher (Nasty dUb)” könnt Ihr übrigens wieder die Vokakrobatik von VÖK aka Margrét Rán bewundern. Immer, wenn ich das tue, liege anschließend völlig atemlos unter dem Tisch.

Die EP liegt leider nur in 16 Bit / 44.1 kHz vor, was jedoch den Klanggenuss mit abgrundtiefem Bass, sauber definierten Höhen und natürlich daherkommenden Mitten nur wenig beeinflusst.

So – und dann sage ich Euch mal “Auf Wiederhören” bis zum Release des Album “Mobil Home” am 28. Mai 2021. Wir sehen uns dann virtuell am 29. Mai 2021 zur Release-Party mit Live-Stream auf der digitalen Plattform “Moment House”, hierfür anmelden könnt Ihr Euch kaufender Weise über den unterlegten Link.

Facts zu GusGus: Love Is Alone EP:

Artist: Gusgus
Title: Love Is Alone
Format: EP
Label: Oroom
Release Date: 30. April 2021
Genre: Experimental, Electronic, Alternative, Indie
5 Tracks • 25m 59s

cd_silver_45

Bei Qobuz verfügbar in CD Quality
16-Bit / 44.1 kHz – Stereo

Equipment Studio 1 + 2

Mein Test-Equiment:
Mein Test-Equiment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool