Erik Heirman: Dada EP (2021)

Also available in ...: Deutsch (German)

Erik Heirman: Dada EP – 2021 – SINE MUSIC

Genre: Electronica, Melodic House

I had already liked the single “Take Me Home”, which was released at the beginning of August, and I played it again and again for days. The discreet percussion samples, the gloomy synth sound clouds as well as the magical vocals and the ingenious flow made this track, which is also included on the new EP Dada, a permanent earworm.

The 4-Track EP „Dada“
Erik Heirman

I was very excited about this EP and my expectations were by far exceeded. Any fan who likes danceable electronic sounds with grip will be well served here. As he did on Single, Erik Heirman collaborates with changing production partners on the tracks. Erik produced the first track of the EP “Reconnected” together with Boniforti, whom he met shortly after his arrival in Switzerland. Both are fascinated by analog synths and could complement each other in a perfect way.

A whole bunch of rare analog machines from the 70s and 80s were used in the production, giving this track an intensely hypnotic touch that harks back to the era of 80s Electro′s à la Depeche Mode. At the same time, the production is convincingly modern with a driving beat and magical flow and has the potential to fill dance floors.

Erik Heirman

On the next track, “Morgental,” Erik produced it with his old buddy Jeevan Jee, whom he knows from their time in India. Also “Morgental” has an almost magical flow, the track is starting pumping sinister and thus provides the basis for pulsating billowing sound clouds, which can grab space with an extended break. The third track “WFMD”, which Erik Heirmann wrote together with his old friend Sander van Servellen, who is currently living in Singapore.

On this track here, Erik uses choral vocals that sound just as if a Buddhist temple choir would have gotten excited about deep house. This gives “WFMD” a very own Organic House touch – and thus would also fit well to Tulum, Mexico into the repertoire of the magical sound of Savage & Shē.

Sound Quality

This EP from SINE MUSIC is encoded in 24 bit / 44.1 kHz and sounds excellent over the entire frequency range. The trebles come along clearly accentuated with no hint of sharpness. The mids sound extremely natural, the bass range goes down deep and avoids any tendency to rumble.

Format: 24 bits / 44.1 kHz9,5
Heights:10,0
Mids:10,0
Bass:10,0
Total:9,9
The Bottom Line

The EP “Dada”, released by Erik Heirman on the dynamic SINE MUSIC label, is convincing all along the line. The songs can be classified into the genre Melodic House, but also refer with a beautiful flow into the area of Minimal/TechHouse and with the repetitive character also a bit in the direction of Experimental House. The production is extremely modern, absolutely dancefloor compatible and never seems to be shallow or stodgy.

Facts

Artist: Erik Heirman
Title: Dada
Format: EP
Label: SINE MUSIC
Release Date: 3. September 2021
Genre: Electronic, Melodic House
4 Tracks • 26m 18s

Hi-Res

Available on Qobuzand Apple Music in
24-Bit / 44.1 kHz – Stereo

My Test Equipment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

Erik Heirman: Dada EP (2021)

Also available in ...: English (Englisch)

Erik Heirman: Dada EP – 2021 – SINE MUSIC

Genre: Electronica, Melodic House

Schon die Anfang August erschienene Single „Take Me Home“ hatte mir sehr gut gefallen und lief bei mir tagelang rauf und runter. Die dezenten Percussion-Samples, die düstere Synthie-Klangwolken sowie die magischen Vocals und der geniale Flow machten diesen Track, der auch auf der neuen EP Dada beinhaltet ist, zum Dauerohrwurm.

Die 4-Track EP „Dada“
Erik Heirman

Auf diese EP war ich ausgesprochenen gespannt und meine Erwartungen wurde bei weitem übertroffen. Jeder Fan, der tanzbare Electronic Sounds mit Grip mag, wird hier bestens bedient. Wie schon bei Single arbeitet Erik Heirman bei den Tracks mit wechselnden Produktionspartnern zusammen. Den ersten Track der EP „Reconnected“ hat Erik zusammen mit Boniforti produziert, den er kurz nach seiner Ankunft in der Schweiz kennengelernt hatte. Beide sind von analogen Synthies fasziniert und konnten sich so in idealer Weise ergänzen.

Eine ganze Reihe von raren analogen Maschinen aus den 70er und 80er Jahren kamen bei der Produktion zu Einsatz, die diesem Track einen intensiv hypnotischen Touch verleihen, der in die Zeit des 80er Electro′s à la Depeche Mode deuten. Dabei ist die Produktion mit treibendem Beat und magischem Flow überzeugend modern geraten und hat das Potenzial Tanzflächen zu füllen.

Erik Heirman

Den nächsten Track „Morgental“ hat Erik zusammen mit seinem alten Kumpel Jeevan Jee produziert, den er aus der Zeit in Indien kennt. Auch „Morgental“ hat einen beinahe schon magischen Flow, der Track beginnt pumpend düster und liefert so die Basis für pulsierend wabernde Klangwolken, die mit einem ausgedehnten Break Raum greifen können. Der dritte Track „WFMD“, den Erik Heirmann zusammen mit seinem alten Freund Sander van Servellen, der derzeit in Singapur lebt.

Erik setzt bei diesem Track setzt Chorgesänge ein, die gerade so klingen, als hätte sich ein buddhistischer Tempelchor für Deep House begeistern können. Dies verleiht „WFMD“ einen sehr eigenen Organic House Touch – und würde damit auch gut nach Tulum, Mexico in das Repertoire des magischen Sounds von Savage & Shē passen.

Klangqualität

Diese EP von SINE MUSIC liegt in 24 Bit / 44.1 kHz und klingt über den gesamten Frequenzbereich exzellent. Die Höhen kommen klar akzentuiert daher, ohne auch nur ein Hauch von Schärfe aufzuweisen. Die Mitten klingen überaus natürlich und natürlich, der Bassbereich reicht tief hinab, ohne aufzutragen und vermeidet jeglichen Hang zum Dröhnen.

Format: 24 bits / 44.1 kHz9,5
Höhen:10,0
Mitten:10,0
Bass:10,0
Gesamt:9,9
Fazit

Mit „Dada“ hat Erik Heirman beim rührigen SINE MUSIC Label eine EP veröffentlicht, die auf der ganzen Linie überzeugen kann. Die Songs lassen sich dem Genre Melodic House einordnen, verweisen jedoch mit einem wunderschönen Flow auch in den Bereich Minimal/TechHouse und mit dem repetitiven Charakter auch etwas in Richtung Experimental House. Die Produktion ist überaus modern, absolut Dancefloor-kompatibel und wirkt niemals deep-housig seicht oder dröge.

Facts

Artist: Erik Heirman
Title: Dada
Format: EP
Label: SINE MUSIC
Release Date: 3. September 2021
Genre: Electronic, Melodic House
4 Tracks • 26m 18s

Hi-Res

Bei Qobuz und Apple Music verfügbar in
24-Bit / 44.1 kHz – Stereo

Mein Test-Equiment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool