Efterklang: Windflowers (Album) – 2021

Also available in ...: Deutsch (German)

Efterklang: Windflowers (Album) – City Slang – 2021

Genre: Indi / Alternative

Intro:
Efterklang

Efterklang – A three-man band from Copenhagen in Denmark. And when it comes to music from Denmark, the attentive music fan immediately becomes curious, because the qualities of Danish music icons like WhoMadeWho or Be Svendsen are almost legendary. So much can be told beforehand: Efterklang easily joins the ranks of outstanding Danish acts, but yet with Efterklang it’s different, completely different.

When Efterklang – like everyone else on this planet – had to watch how the pandemic pulverized the usual life including all routines between tour, album and tour, they used the time and focused their attention on creating something new – a new album. Time they had enough, countless time, during this difficult time 24 hours initially felt like 2 days in a row, and so Casper and Mads started to create sound sketches, simply to see where this would lead to. During this process, they found themselves constantly referred back to themselves in their creative flow, since bringing in guest and session musicians was simply impossible during this time.

The album Windflowers:
Efterklang
© Dennis Morton

Every year when spring arrives in Denmark, a sea of tiny flowers blooms on the Danish forest floor. They are like an explosion of color, a symbol of hope and change, disappearing as quickly as they have come, outlining the constant cycle of nature. Colloquially they are known as “windflowers” and the album “Windflowers”, released on 08 October 2021, is indeed a magnificent ocean of sound flowers. This is an immensely dense, multi-layered album, with beautiful vocal lines, insane attention to detail, all wrapped up finely in a cozy musical Scandinavia hoodie that protects us wonderfully from the inclemency out there.

Electronics are used in masses, but this harmonically melancholic autumn/winter sound has hardly anything to do with upbeat dance rhythms, if you leave out the fantastic track “Living Other Lines”. If you are looking for comparisons, you will have to search for a very long time and you will have to take a long journey back into the musical history. In the early to mid eighties the time travel slows down noticeably and the fan becomes successful with his search for comparisons with avant-garde progressive, art and post-rock à la Klaatu and above all Talk Talk.

The Bottom Line:

The album tells about our existence, being alone, being with each other and the deep connection with nature. The core message is to find each other again and to make each other strong to be able to draw new strength together. Without a fixed date and without limits, Efterklang were able to let their creativity run free in the creation of this musical jewel. “Windflowers” is inspired by the pure joy of music, predicate especially valuable. The album is coming along in 24 bits / 44.1 kHz format and sounds absolutely fantastic in every respect.

9.5

Overall

Music10
Format: 24 Bit / 48 kHz10
Räumlichkeit / Spatiality10
Höhen / Treble9.5
Mitten / Mids9.5
Bass / Bass9.5
Video (Sound + Picture)8
Facts:

Artist: Efterklang
Title: Windflowers
Format: Album
Label: City Slang
Release Date: 08. Oktober 2021
Genre: Alternative / Indie
9 Tracks • 39m 41s

Hi-Res

Available at Qobuzin Hi-res
24-Bit / 44.1 kHz – Stereo


My Test Equipment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

Efterklang: Windflowers (Album) – 2021

Also available in ...: English (Englisch)

Efterklang: Windflowers (Album) – City Slang – 2021

Genre: Indi /Alternative

Intro:
Efterklang

Efterklang – Eine dreiköpfige Band aus Kopenhagen in Dänemark. Und wenn es um Musik aus Dänemark geht, wird der aufmerksame Musikfan sogleich neugierig, denn die Qualitäten dänischer Musik-Ikonen wie WhoMadeWho oder Be Svendsen sind beinahe schon legendär. Soviel sei Euch schon mal verraten: Efterklang reihen sich in die Reihe herausragender dänischer Acts problemlos ein, aber doch ist es mit Efterklang anders, vollkommen anders.

Als Efterklang – wie jeder andere auf diesem Planeten auch – mit anschauen mussten, wie die Pandemie das gewohnte Leben inkl. aller Routinen zwischen Tour, Album und Tour mal eben pulverisierte, nutzten sie die Zeit und richteten ihre Aufmerksamkeit auf die Schaffung von etwas Neuem – eines neuen Albums. Zeit hatte man, unendlich viel Zeit, während dieser schweren Zeit fühlten sich 24 Stunden anfangs wie 2 Tage am Stück an, und so machten sich Casper und Mads daran, Soundskizzen zu kreieren, einfach nur um zu sehen, wohin dies führen würde. Dabei sahen sie sich in ihrem schöpferischen Flow immer wieder auf sich selbst zurückverwiesen, da das Heranziehen von Gast- und Sessionmusikern während dieser Zeit schlichtweg unmöglich war.

Das Album Windflowers:
Efterklang
© Dennis Morton

Jedes Jahr, wenn der Frühling in Dänemark Einzug hält, erblüht ein Meer an winzigen Blumen auf dem dänischen Waldboden. Sie sind wie eine Farbexplosion, ein Symbol der Hoffnung und des Wandels, verschwinden so schnell wie sie gekommen sind und skizzieren so den ständigen Kreislauf der Natur. Umgangssprachlich sind sie als „Windflowers“ bekannt und das Album „Windflowers“, erschienen am 08. Oktober 2021, ist in der Tat ein prachtvolles Soundblütenmeer. Es handelt sich hier um ein immens dichtes, vielschichtiges Album, mit wunderschönen Gesangs-Lines, wahnsinniger Detailverliebtheit, alles fein eingepackt in einen kuscheligen musikalischen Scandinavia Hoodie, der uns vor der Unbill da draußen wunderbar schützt.

Elektronik kommt massenweise zum Einsatz, doch dieser harmonisch melancholische Herbst/Winter-Sound hat mit beschwingten Dance-Rhythmen kaum etwas zu tun, wenn mal den fantastischen Track „Living Other Lines“ außen vor lässt. Wer nach Vergleichen sucht, der wird sehr lange suchen und eine lange Reise zurück in die musikalische Vergangenheit unternehmen müssen. Anfang bis Mitte der achtziger Jahre verlangsamt sich die Zeitreise zusehends und der Fan wird mit seiner Suche nach Vergleichen bei avantgardistischem Progressive-, Art- und Post-Rock à la Klaatu und vor allen Talk Talk fündig.

Fazit:

Das Album erzählt von unserer Existenz, dem Alleinsein, dem Miteinander sein und der tiefen Verbundenheit mit der Natur.Die Kernbotschaft lautet, sich wiederzufinden und sich gegenseitig stark zu machen, um gemeinsam neue Kraft schöpfen zu können. Ohne festen Termin und ohne Grenzen konnten Efterklang ihrer Kreativität bei der Schaffung dieses musikalischen Juwels freien Lauf lassen. „Windflowers“ ist inspiriert von der reinen Freude an der Musik, Prädikat besonders wertvoll. Das Album liegt im Format 24 Bits / 44.1 kHz vor und klingt in jeder Hinsicht absolut fantastisch.

9.5

Overall

Music10
Format: 24 Bit / 48 kHz10
Räumlichkeit / Spatiality10
Höhen / Treble9.5
Mitten / Mids9.5
Bass / Bass9.5
Video (Sound + Picture)8
Facts:

Artist: Efterklang
Title: Windflowers
Format: Album
Label: City Slang
Release Date: 08. Oktober 2021
Genre: Alternative / Indie
9 Tracks • 39m 41s

Hi-Res

Bei Qobuz verfügbar in Hi-res
24-Bit / 44.1 kHz – Stereo


Mein Test-Equiment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool