Courtney Barnett: Things Take Time, Take Time – 2021

Courtney Barnett: Things Take Time, Take Time – Album – Marathon Artists – 2021

Genre: Alternative, Indie

Random acquaintances. Via Instagram. Sometimes something really great is born out of it. Like Courtney Barnett, the Australian singer/songwriter and Alternative Rocker. I became aware of Courtney Barnett via Instagram about 6 months ago when she was promoting her new album titled Things Take Time, Take Time with the video “Rae Street”. And this track just bit into my ear canal and didn’t want to get out of there anymore. But what was to be heard did not belong to my currently prevailing musical taste at all. Sure I have a fable for alternative/indie guitar sounds, but this was completely overshadowed by all the electronica stuff I was listening to by the dozen or so.

But Courtney carefully laid bare my old passion with the Rae Street video with meticulous tweaking and tongue-in-cheek biting humor and all the stuff that was to come after. Watch the video and let the quirky humor capture you and listen to the lyrics. There is no artist on this battered planet who can convey the small individual everyday tragedies more accurately, but with a clear distance and a certain casualness, so skillfully. That is simply fascinating.

Rae Street

“It’s about accepting life – life happens, and you accept it,” Courtney says. “The world is so pointless and so fucked up in so many ways, but there are also so many beautiful little moments.” This thought and the unspoken conclusion that the small everyday (all) commonalities always point us back to ourselves is firmly woven into the album Things Take Time, Take Time.

This theme is introduced early on with Rae Street, a track that can be seen as a world-weary survey of the world we have created. “One thing I know is that the sun will rise today and tomorrow. But we still have a long, long way to go,” as Courtney says.

Then it continued with the videos for the tracks Before You Gotta Go, Write a List ofThings to Look Forward to, and especially If I Don’t Hear from You Tonight.

Before You Gotta Go

Before you gotta go (go, go, go) is one of the anchor songs on the album. One of those incredibly great songs that you can’t get around for the rest of your life. The video may seem “funny” at first glance, or even to be black humor. But: We try to hear, but understand nothing, hear nothing either. Because we are constantly looking for the big picture and can no longer hear the small, subtle undertones. Or want.

Because we only listen to ourselves. Because we mishear ourselves, permanently listen away, do not listen and thus cause small, small catastrophes – which cause quite big, big damage, although it could be done in a quite simply differently and better way. The lyrics are about broken relationships and trying to accept something and still trying to keep it together a little bit at least.

Write a List of Things to Look Forward To

Write a List of Things to Look Forward To is another key track on the album.

I’ll just give you the lyrics:

Nobody knows why we keep tryin’
Why we keep tryin’
And so on it goes
I’m lookin’ forward to the next letter that I’m gonna get from you
A baby is born as a man lay dying
As a man lay dying
And so on it goes
I’m lookin’ forward to the next letter that I’m gonna get from you

Sit beside me, watch the world burn
We’ll never learn, we don’t deserve nice things
And we’ll scream self-righteously
We did our best, but what does that really mean?
I’m walkin’ around, walking’ around
With my head down, my head down
And I’m pushin’ away, pushin’ away
Yeah, I’m pushin’ away, pushin’ away

Typical for Courtney: basic sad lyrics, but a visually positive video, with the message that we need something from each other, for example, when we are 1,000 miles away from each other or a shitty pandemic makes it impossible to see each other. We need something from each other in these times, namely that we communicate to each other being important to each other, that we give each other the feeling valuing each other. Quite unexpectedly, without pathos. Then this video, which – despite the rather sad text – visually illustrates exactly what is really important.

And last but not least:

If I Don’t Hear from You Tonight

Three girls with bass, guitar and drums are somewhere in the Deep in the Middle of Nowhere-Desert and play a dust-dry song: If I don’t Hear from You Tonight. Again a classic Curfew song, with the subject or better the question if this time is a good time to tell you that I like you very much. It’ s not easy these days to get close to someone while being incredibly excited, having this incredibly huge distance between us due to the state of the world. But all in all, If I Don’t Hear From You Tonight is an incredibly good song, implemented in a video that knows how to convince all along the line.

The album “Things Take Time, Take Time”.

Things take time – take the time for it: that seems to be a lifestyle philosophy of Courtney. And also by Stella Mozgawa, the drummer, who is also a long-time companion of Courtney and an incredibly good friend, who has influenced the mood of the album quite significantly. But more about that later.

Courtney Barnett: Things Take Time, Take Time

“Things Take Time, Take Time” is Courtney’s third album, following Tell Me How You Really Feel (2018) and debut album Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit (2015). But on the earlier works Courtney Barnett was louder, more energetic, often angrier and more relentless – and always simply brilliant as a singer and guitarist.

But when the admittedly fantastic album Tell Me How You Really Feel came out in 2018 and Courtney toured halfway around the world, she realized, “Fuck, I’m hanging in the hole and feeling kind of burnt out.”

Moreover, often enough, while composing new songs, the feeling of standing in front of the big imaginary wall, of not getting anywhere and of feeling and exuding negative energy arose. But Courtney′s friend Stella was in the studio with her, and whenever Courtney was in front of the imaginary wall again, Stella was there, and was taking over, and then she was trying out completely different approaches.

So Stella was presenting new ways for Courtney to approach the songs in a different way. Therefore, you can also hear Stella’s influence on the album at any time. The new album became much more flowery, lighter and – at first glance – more pleasing.

Courtney Barnett
© Mia Mala McDonald

But Courtney Barnett wouldn’t be Courtney Barnett if she wouldn’t place her ” Don’t Do It That Way / Do It Another Way” message in every song. But this time it doesn’t go along with noisy sawing guitar work, but with very tricky vocal arrangements, with daring but highly exciting vocal lines that drift over the airy light harmony lines as if by magic.

The emphasis of words and word fragments from the lyrics are sometimes so combed against the flowing line that it often seems impossible to sing along to the chorus.st the flowing line that it often seems impossible to sing along to the chorus. Courtney Barnett’s third album takes a more restrained approach compared to her earlier works, taking a deep breath and asking you not to dwell on the little things. It’s quieter and even more understated than you might expect from Courtney, even synths are incorporated into many tracks in an exceedingly coherent manner.

And if you don’t really like the album today – although you probably will – it’ s no big deal; just try it again tomorrow. Things take time, so you also take the time to capture the album for yourself.

The tracks Before you Gotta Go and Turning Green will immediately be present in your mind – I’m sure – and you won’t be able to get away from them in the next few days. You will become increasingly curious to explore the new album, and you will become increasingly curious to get to know Courtney and her work.

The Bottom Line

9.8

Overall

Music10
Format: 16 Bit / 44.1 kHz10
Räumlichkeit / Spatiality10
Höhen / Treble9.5
Mitten / Mids9.5
Bass / Bass9.5

You’re going to learn to love Courtney Barnett’s new album Things Take Time, Take Time, because it’s the best thing at all you’ve heard since 2018. And you will start to listen and watch all the videos, all albums and concert recordings of Courtney one after the other – and you will learn to love Courtney. At the end you will agree with me completely convinced that from now on a life without Courtney seems unimaginable and somehow empty.

The sound quality of the album is also beyond reproach. On Qobuz the album is available in 24 bit /96 kHz, on Apple Music (streaming) even in Dolby Atmos and it sounds excellent over the entire frequency range.

Artist: Courtney Barnett
Title: Things Take Time, Take Time
Format: Album
Label: Marathon Artists
Release Date: November 12, 2021
Genre: Alternative and Indie
10 tracks – 33m 58s

Hi-Res

Available at Qobuz in Hi-Res
24-bit / 96 kHz stereo

My Test Equipment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Leave a Reply

Courtney Barnett: Things Take Time, Take Time – 2021

Also available in ...: English (Englisch)

Courtney Barnett: Things Take Time, Take Time – Album – Marathon Artists – 2021

Genre: Alternative, Indie

Zufallsbekanntschaften. Über Instagram. Manchmal kommt was ganz Großes dabei raus. Wie bei Courtney Barnett, der australischen Singer/Songwriter*in. Vor ca. 6 Monaten wurde ich über Instagram auf Courtney Barnett aufmerksam, als sie mit dem Video „Rae Street“ ihr neues Album mit dem Titel Things Take Time, Take Time promoted hatte. Und dieser Track biss sich gleich in meinem Gehörgang fest und wollte da dann auch nicht mehr raus. Dabei gehörte das, was zu hören war, eigentlich gar nicht zu meinen aktuell vorherrschenden Musikgeschmack. Sicherlich habe ich ein Fable für Alternative/Indie Gitarren-Sounds, doch dies war von dem ganzen Electronica-Zeugs, dass ich mir reihenweise gezogen habe, vollkommen überlagert.

Aber Courtney legte meine alte Leidenschaft mit dem Rae Street-Video mit akribischer Feinarbeit und augenzwinkernd bissigem Humor und dem, was dann danach noch kommen sollte, sorgsam frei. Schaut Euch das Video an, und lasst Euch von dem schrägen Humor in Beschlag nehmen und lauscht den Lyrics. Es gibt keinen Künstler auf diesem geschundenen Planeten, der die kleinen individuellen Alltagstragödien mehr treffsicher, aber mit deutlicher Distanz und einer gewissen Beiläufigkeit, so geschickt rüberbringen kann. Das ist schlichtweg faszinierend.

Rae Street

„Es geht darum, das Leben zu akzeptieren – das Leben passiert, und du nimmst es an“, so sagt Courtney. „Die Welt ist so sinnlos und in vielerlei Hinsicht so beschissen, aber es gibt auch so viele schöne kleine Momente.“ Dieser Gedanke und die unausgesprochene Schlussfolgerung, dass uns die kleinen Alltags(all)gemeinheiten immer wieder auf uns selbst verweisen, ist im Album Things Take Time, Take Time fest verwoben.

Dieses Thema und wird schon früh mit Rae Street eingeführt, einem Track, der als eine weltmüde Bestandsaufnahme der von uns geschaffenen Welt angesehen werden kann. „Eines weiß ich: Die Sonne wird heute und morgen aufgehen. Doch wir haben noch einen langen, langen Weg vor uns,“ wie Courtney sagt.

Weiter ging es dann mit den Videos zu den Tracks Before You Gotta Go, Write a List of Things to Look Forward to, und vor allem If I Don’t Hear from You Tonight.

Before You Gotta Go

Before you gotta go (go, go, go) ist einer der Ankersongs auf dem Album. Einer von diesen unglaublich großartigen Songs, an denen Du für den Rest Deines Lebens nicht mehr vorbeikommen kannst. Das Video mag auf den ersten Blick „lustig“ erscheinen, oder auch schwarzhumorig. Aber: Wir versuchen zu hören, verstehen aber nichts, hören auch nichts. Weil wir dauernd das Große suchen und die kleinen feinen Untertöne gar nicht mehr hören können. Wollen.

Weil wir uns nur selbst zuhören. Weil wir uns verhören, permanent weghören, nicht zuhören und damit kleine, kleine, kleine Katastrophen anrichten – die ganz schön große, große, große Schäden anrichten, obwohl es auch ganz einfach anders und besser gehen könnte. Die Lyrics handeln von kaputten Beziehungen und dem Versuch, etwas zu akzeptieren und doch immer wieder zu versuchen, es wenigstens ein bisschen zusammen halten zu können.

Write a List of Things to Look Forward to

Write a List of Things to Look Forward to ist ein weiterer Schlüsseltrack auf dem Album.

Ich gebe Euch einfach mal die Übersetzung der Lyrics:

Niemand weiß, warum wir es immer wieder versuchen
Warum wir es immer wieder versuchen
Und so geht es weiter
Ich freue mich auf den nächsten Brief, den ich von dir bekommen werde
Ein Baby wird geboren, während ein Mann im Sterben liegt
Als ein Mann im Sterben lag
Und so geht es weiter
Ich freue mich auf den nächsten Brief, den ich von dir bekommen werde

Setz dich neben mich und sieh zu, wie die Welt brennt
Wir werden es nie lernen, wir verdienen keine schönen Dinge
Und wir werden selbstgerecht schreien
Wir haben unser Bestes getan, aber was bedeutet das wirklich?
Ich laufe herum, laufe herum
Mit gesenktem Kopf, mit gesenktem Kopf
Und ich schiebe es weg, schiebe es weg
Ja, ich schiebe mich weg, schiebe mich weg

Typisch für Courtney: Grundtrauriger Text, aber ein visuell positiv stimmendes Video, mit der Message, dass wir etwas voneinander brauchen, wenn man beispielsweise 1.000 km voneinander entfernt ist oder eine beschissene Pandemie es unmöglich macht, sich zu sehen. Wir brauchen etwas in diesen Zeiten voneinander, nämlich dass wir uns wechselseitig mitteilen, dass uns der andere wichtig ist, dass wir uns gegenseitig das Gefühl schenken, dass wir uns wertschätzen. Ganz unvermittelt, ohne Pathos. Dazu dann dieses Video, das optisch – trotz des eher traurigen Textes – genau das verdeutlicht, was wirklich wichtig ist.

Und last but not least:

If I Don’t Hear from You Tonight

Drei Mädels mit Bass, Gitarre und Schlagzeug stehen irgendwo in der Deep in the Middle of Nowhere-Wüste und spielen einen staubtrockenen Song: If I don’t Hear from You Tonight. Wieder ein klassischer Curfew Song, mit dem Thema oder besser der Frage, ob denn diese Zeit überhaupt eine gute Zeit ist, Dir zusagen, dass ich Dich sehr mag. Sich jemanden zu nähern, dabei unglaublich aufgeregt zu sein, ist derzeit mit der unglaublich großen Distanz zwischen uns, die der Weltlage geschuldet ist, nicht gerade eben leicht. Aber alles in allem ist If I Don’t Hear From You Tonight ein unglaublich guter Song, umgesetzt in ein Video, das auf der ganzen Linie zu überzeugen weiß.

Das Album „Things Take Time, Take Time“

Dinge brauchen ihre Zeit – nimm Dir die Zeit dafür: das scheint eine Lebensphilosophie von Courtney zu sein. Und auch von Stella Mozgawa, der Schlagzeugerin, die zudem eine langejährige Wegbegleiterin von Courtney und eine unheimlich gute Freundin ist, die die Stimmung des Albums ganz wesentlich beeinflusst hat. Doch davon später mehr.

Courtney Barnett: Things Take Time, Take Time

„Things Take Time, Take Time“ ist Courtneys drittes Album nach Tell Me How You Really Feel (2018) und dem Debutalbum Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit (2015). Doch auf den früheren Werken war Courtney Barnett lauter, energischer, oftmals auch zorniger und unerbittlicher – und dabei immer schier genial als Sängerin und Gitarristin.

Doch nachdem das zugegebenermaßen fantastische Album Tell Me How You Really Feel 2018 erschienen war und Courtney um die halbe Welt getourt war, stellte Courtney fest, „Fuck, ich häng‘ im Loch und fühl mich irgendwie ausgebrannt“.

Oft genug stellte sich zudem beim Komponieren neuer Songs das Gefühl ein, vor der großen imaginären Wand zu stehen, nicht weiterzukommen und negative Energie zu verspüren und zu versprühen. Doch Courtney′s Freundin Stella war mit im Studio und immer, wenn Courtney wieder vor der imaginären Wand stand, war Stella da, übernahm das Kommando und probierte dann völlig andere Herangehensweisen aus.

So zeigte Stella für Courtney Barnett neue Wege für auf, wie sie sich den Songs auf andere Weise nähern konnte. Daher könnt Ihr auch Stella’s Einfluss auf dem Album jederzeit raushören. Das neue Album wurde so sehr viel blumiger, leichter und – auf den ersten Blick – gefälliger.

Courtney Barnett
© Mia Mala McDonald

Doch Courtney Barnett wäre nicht Courtney Barnett, wenn sie nicht ihre „So-Nicht-Mach-Es-Anders-Message“ in jedem Song platzieren würde. Doch diesmal geht sie das nicht mit lärmig sägender Gitarrenarbeit einher, sondern innerhalb sehr vertrackter Gesangsarrangements, mit gewagten, aber hoch spannenden Gesangslinien, die über die wie von Zauberhand über die luftig leichten Harmonielinien hinweg driften.

Die Betonungen von Worten und Wortfetzen aus den Lyrics sind teilweise derart gegen den fließenden Strich gekämmt, dass es oftmals unmöglich erscheint, da auch nur ansatzweise mitsingend in den Chorus einzustimmen. Courtney Barnetts drittes Album hält sich im Vergleich zu den früheren Werken etwas mehr zurück, atmet tief durch und bittet dich darum, sich nicht auf die kleinen Dinge zu versteifen. Es ist ruhiger und dezenter, als du vielleicht von Courtney erwartest, auch Synthies werden in vielen Tracks überaus stimmig eingearbeitet.

Und wenn du das Album heute nicht so recht mögen solltest – obwohl du es wahrscheinlich lieben wirst – ist das nicht weiter schlimm; versuch es einfach morgen noch einmal. Die Dinge nehmen sich Zeit, also nimm dir auch du die Zeit, um das Album für dich zu erobern.

Die Tracks Before you Gotta Go und Turning Green werden sofort auch bei Dir – da bin ich sicher – präsent sein – und Du wirst davon in den nächsten Tagen davon nicht mehr loskommen. Du wirrst zunehmend neugieriger, das neue Album kennenzulernen, Du wirst zunehmend neugierig werden, Courtney und ihre Arbeit näher kennenzulernen.

The Bottom Line

9.9

Overall

Music10
Format: 24 Bit / 44.1 kHz9.5
Räumlichkeit / Spatiality10
Höhen / Treble10
Mitten / Mids10
Bass / Bass10

Du wirst das neue Album Things Take Time, Take Time von Courtney Barnett lieben lernen, denn es ist überhaupt das Beste, was Du seit 2018 musikalisch zu hören bekommen hasst. Und Du wirst damit beginnen, Dir alle Videos, alle Alben und Konzertmitschnitte von Courtney der Reihe nach reinzupfeifen – und Du wirst Courtney lieben lernen. Zum Schluss wirst Du mir völlig überzeugt zustimmen, dass ab sofort ein Leben ohne Courtney unvorstellbar und irgendwie leer erscheint.

Auch die Klangqualität des Albums ist über jeden Zweifel erhaben. Bei Qobuz ist das Album in 24 Bit /96 kHz verfügbar, bei Apple Music (Streaming) sogar in Dolby Atmos und klingt über den gesamten Frequenzbereich exzellent.

Artist: Courtney Barnett
Title: Things Take Time, Take Time
Format: Album
Label: Marathon Artists
Release Date: 12. November 2021
Genre: Alternativ und Indie
10 Tracks • 33m 58s

Hi-Res

Bei Qobuz verfügbar in Hi-Res
24-Bit / 96 kHz – Stereo

Mein Test-Equiment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool