Caoilfhionn Rose: Truly (Album, 2021)

Also available in ...: Deutsch (German)

Caoilfhionn Rose: Truly – Album – 2021 – Gondwana Records

Genre: Folk, Modern Folk, Indie / Alternative

Caoilfhionn Rose (pronounced Keelin’) from Manchester, whose second album Truly is out April 9, 2021 on Gondwana Records, is waiting for me to finally get the review of the album “Truly” together and finished.
And that was/is quite a hard nut to crack for me and had massively stopped my writing flow for about 14 days, but please don’t judge that negatively now. Caoilfhionn’s sound can hardly be classified, is absolutely unique and fits perfectly with Gondwana Records, the UK label for demanding music such as jazz from the meditative-spiritual world, more contemporary modern jazz, neo-classical, ambient and electronic crossover. The review was a feat … 🙂

(c) Emily Dennison

To assign Truly to any genre is really extremely difficult. Juno Records from the UK just puts this in the indie/alternative bin, which is certainly not wrong, but doesn’t really tell that much. I would put a second copy on the folk shelf and tag it with a gaudy “Modern-Folk” sticker.

A third copy is then added to the jazz shelf, which is pretty daring, but the jazz fan will definitely be enthusiastic about “Truly” if you are a good record seller and do a little educational work And a fourth copy of the album fits very well on the psychedelic shelf and I would offer a potential customer a cup of strawberry tea with it. He will buy – he will have to – I will bet on it!

The opener on the album “Flourish” is a real ear catcher and goes straight into the ear, where it bites into the ear canal with a wonderfully reverberant twang guitar. And with the extremely delicate, fragile second song “To Me” – that twang guitar again – I ask myself the question, dammit, where have I heard that before? And the penny falls by the penny, but it falls. Chris Isaak used this reverberant twang guitar (album Silvertone, 1985), and as for reverb, there is a great master of reverberant folk, the Irish folk singer Luka Bloom, who set standards with the 1994 album “Turf” .

Caoilfhionn Rose
Caoilfhionn Rose – Truly

And so we have already set two stakes for those who are interested in the album “Truly” and are still a little undecided.

With her flying musical carpet Caoilfhionn steers unerringly over different genre landscapes like Folk, Jazz, Ambient, Electronica, but not to plunder them mercilessly, but to be inspired for continuously developing her own sound. Caoilfhionn does not shy away from a musical time travel to the middle of Woodstock in 1969 and inhales the feeling of Love, Peace & Happiness, she also takes the one or other psychedelic influence – and that gives her album “Truly” a – as the Austrian says – light sympathetically “weird” (i. e. inspiring crazy) touch (“Teburcular Skies”, “Paths”, “Truly”).

The ingenious “Readiness is All” and “Hold Your Own”, maybe also the awesome “Fireflies” are some of the more tidily arranged tracks, which makes one or the other listener think of jazz when listening to these songs. However, Caoilfhionn is breathing jazz at most without actually playing it, these three tracks evoke associations for me with Paul Weller’s early Style Council (Introducing, 1983) or the very early Pengiun Cafe Orchestra (dto, 1981)…. And Caoilfhionn Rose also likes jazz à la Portico Quartet, GoGo Penguin or the unbelievably creative Hania Rani, who are all at home in jazz and related styles and belong or have belonged to the creative laboratory of Gondwana Records. So a certain influence by slightly jazzy styles of playing will certainly be noticeable.

“Every Waking Minute” and “Point in Time” are very nice midtempo folk/folk-rock stuff, even Natalie Merchant (Leave you up, 2010) or Cat Power (the wacky but fantastic 2012 album “Sun”) wouldn’t be able to do better.

However, the acts I mentioned are not meant to be 1:1 comparisons, but may just throw a spotlight on what music from my musical past comes to mind again when listening to Caoilfhionn Rose “Truly” – and you don’t get something like that too often. Rose awakens old musical passions in me again.
The album was co-produced by Kier Stewart of “The Durutti Column”, with whom Rose had already worked on Durutti’s album “Chronicle LX: XL”. Kier Stewart has done a top job on this and has given Caoilfhionn’s incredibly wide musical range, with all its many inspirations and influences, an awful lot of room to crystallize.

“This record marks a difficult time in my life and writing it has helped me get through that time. I’m really grateful to have music as an outlet,” Caoilfhionn Rose says about her album “Truly.” This positive force emanating from the songs can be felt on the whole longplayer and shows us that there is a sunny side of life even in these difficult times.

The album in 24 bit 88.2 kHz convinces with a great sound quality at reference level. The recording is unbelievably precise and mixed in the best possible way – with round deep basses that don’t rattle at all, airy realistic midrange, clean and clearly mixed vocals and a treble range that is impressive all along the line.

Facts about Caoilfhionn Rose – “Truly”

Artist: Caoilfhionn Rose
Title: Truly
Format: album
Label: Gondwana Records
Release date: April 9, 2021
Genre: Alternative / Indie / Modern Folk
11 tracks • 35m 15s

Available at Qobuz in Hi-res
24-bit 88.2 kHz stereo

My test equipment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

Caoilfhionn Rose: Truly (Album, 2021)

Dieser Beitrag ist auch verfügbar auf: English (Englisch)

Caoilfhionn Rose: Truly – Album – 2021 – Gondwana Records

Genre: Folk, Modern-Folk, Indie/Alternative

Caoilfhionn Rose (gesprochen Keelin’) aus Manchester, deren zweites Album Truly am 9. April 2021 bei Gondwana Records erschienen ist, wartet darauf, dass ich endlich das Review zum Album “Truly” zusammenschreibe und fertiggestellt bekomme.
Und das war/ist für mich eine ganz harte Nuss und hatte für ca. 14 Tage meinen Schreibfluss massiv aufgehalten, was Ihr jetzt jedoch bitte nicht negativ bewertet. Caoilfhionn’s Sound lässt sich kaum einordnen, ist absolut einzigartig und passt perfekt zu Gondwana Records, dem UK-Label für anspruchsvolle Musik wie Jazz aus der meditativ-spirituellen Welt, zeitgenössischeren Modern Jazz, Neo-Klassik, Ambient und Electronic-Crossover. Das Review war ein Kraftakt … 🙂

(c) Emily Dennison

Truly irgendeinem Genre zuzuordnen, das fällt nun wirklich extrem schwer. Juno Records aus UK packt das einfach ins Indi/Alternative Fach, was sicherlich nicht verkehrt ist, sagt aber eigentlich nichts aus. Eine zweite Kopie Kopie würde ich ins Folk-Regal stellen und mit einem knalligen “Modern-Folk”- Aufkleber versehen.

Eine dritte Kopie kommt dann ins Jazz-Regal, das ist zwar gewagt, doch der Jazz-Fan wird sich für “Truly” durchaus begeistern, wenn man als guter Plattenverkäufer ein wenig Aufklärungsarbeit leistet. Und eine vierte Kopie des Albums passt ganz gut ins Psychedelic-Regal und einem potenziellen Interessenten würde ich dann gleich eine Tasse Erdbeertee dazu offerieren. Der wird kaufen – müssen – da halte ich jede Wette!

Der Opener auf dem Album “Flourish” ist ein echter Ear-Catcher und geht sofort ins Ohr, beißt dort sich mit wunderschön halliger Twang-Gitarre im Gehörgang fest. Und bei dem extrem filigranen zerbrechlichen zweiten Song “To Me” – schon wieder diese Twang-Gitarre – ich stelle mir die Frage, verdammt, wo habe ich das schon mal gehört? Und der Groschen fällt pfennigweise, aber er fällt. Chris Isaak hat diese hallige Twang-Gitarre eingesetzt (Album Silvertone, 1985), und was den Hall angeht, da gibt es einen Großmeister des halligen Folk, den irischen Folk-Sänger Luka Bloom, der mit dem Album “Turf” 1994 Maßstäbe gesetzt hatte.

Caoilfhionn Rose
Caoilfhionn Rose – Truly

Und so haben wir doch schon mal zwei Pflöcke eingeschlagen, an denen sich derjenige orientieren kann, der am Album “Truly” interessiert ist und noch ein wenig unschlüssig ist.

Mit ihrem fliegenden musikalischen Teppich düst Caoilfhionn zielsicher über die verschiedensten Genre-Landschaften wie Folk, Jazz, Ambient, Electronica, jedoch nicht um dort gnadenlos zu plündern, sondern um sich vielmehr inspirieren zu lassen, um den Sound kontinuierlich weiterzuentwickeln. Auch vor einer musikalischen Zeitreise mitten ins Woodstock des Jahres 1969 schreckt Caoilfhionn nicht zurück und inhaliert das Gefühl von Love, Peace & Happiness, Sie nimmt auch den einen oder anderen psychedelischen Einfluss mit – und das verleiht ihrem Album “Truly” einen – wie der Österreicher so treffend sagt – leichten sympathisch “verspinnerten” (i. e. inspiring crazy) Touch (“Teburcular Skies”, “Paths”, “Truly”).

Das geniale “Readiness is All” und “Hold Your Own”, vielleicht auch das großartige “Fireflies” gehören zu den aufgräumt durcharrangierten Tracks, der den einen oder anderen beim Anhören dieser Songs an Jazz denken lässt. Jedoch atmet Caoilfhionn allenfalls Jazz, ohne ihn jedoch wirklich tatsächlich zu spielen, diese drei Tracks wecken bei mir Assoziationen zu den frühen Style Council von Paul Weller (Introducing, 1983) oder zum ganz frühen Pengiun Cafe Orchestra (dto, 1981). Und auch Caoilfhionn Rose mag Jazz à la Portico Quartet, GoGo Penguin oder auch die unglaubliche kreative Hania Rani, die ja allesamt im Jazz und anverwandten Stilrichtungen beheimatet sind und zum Kreativ-Labor von Gondwana Records gehören oder gehört haben. Eine gewisse Beeinflussung wird da sicher zu verzeichnen sein.

“Every Waking Minute” und “Point in Time” sind sehr schöne Midtempo Folk/Folkrock-Sachen, selbst Natalie Merchant (Leave you up, 2010) oder Cat Power (das verspinnerte aber fantastsiche Album “Sun” von 2012) wären nicht dazu in der Lage, das besser zu machen.

Die von mir genannten Acts sollen jedoch keine 1:1 Vergleiche sein, sondern nur ein Spot darauf werfen, welche Musik mir aus meiner musikalischen Vergangenheit beim Hören von Caoilfhionn Rose “Truly” wieder in den Sinn kommt – und das gibt es ja nicht allzuoft. Rose weckt bei mir wieder alte musikalische Leidenschaften.
Das Album wurde übrigens von Kier Stewart von The Durutti Column co-produziert, mit dem Rose bereits am Durutti-Album “Chronicle LX:XL” zusammengearbeitet hatte. Kier Stewart hat dabei einen Top-Job abgeliefert und der musikalischen unglaublich weiten Bandbreite von Caoilfhionn Rose mit den vielen Inspirationen und Einflüssen einen weiten Raum zur Auskristallisierung gelassen.

“Diese Platte markiert eine schwierige Zeit in meinem Leben und sie zu schreiben hat mir geholfen, diese Zeit zu überstehen. Ich bin wirklich dankbar, dass ich die Musik als Ventil habe”, so sagt Caoilfhionn Rose zu ihrem Album “Truly”. Diese positive Kraft, die von den Songs ausgeht, ist auf dem ganzen Longplayer zu spüren und beweist uns, dass es auch in diesen schwierigen Zeiten eine sunny side of life gibt.

Das Album in 24 Bit 88.2 kHz überzeugt mit einer großartigen Klangqualität auf Referenz-Niveau. Die Aufnahme ist unglaublich präzise und allerbest definiert abgemischt – mit runden tiefen Bässen, bei den auch rein gar nichts scheppert, luftig realistischem Mitteltonbereich, sauber und klar abgemischten Vocals und einem Hochtonbereich, der auf der ganzen Linie zu überzeugen mag.

Facts zu Caoilfhionn Rose – “Truly”

Künstler: Caoilfhionn Rose
Titel: Truly
Format: Album
Label: Gondwana Records
Release Date: 9. April 2021
Genre: Alternative/Indie/Modern Folk
11 Tracks • 35m 15s

Bei Qobuz verfügbar in Hi-res
24-Bit 88.2 kHz – Stereo

Mein Test-Equiment:

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

%d Bloggern gefällt das: