Bob Moses – Falling into Focus (Live 2020) – Album

This review is also available in: Deutsch (German)

Bob Moses – Falling into Focus (Live 2020) – Album + Live Video

Genre: Electronic, Deep House, Pop

Merry Christmas. Yesterday was Christmas. Because Bob Moses have graced us with a new live album titled “Falling into Focus (Live 2020)”. But that’s not all, they also added their very first concert film, which you can watch for free on YouTube in 4K. But more on that later.

Bob Moses

The album has a great chance to become the album of the year, because the sound is fantastic (24 bit native) and the performance is sensationally good. The live set was recorded at the abandoned high frequency tower near Topanga, California.

The gig consists of two parts, the first part up to track 6 “Ordinary Man” is dominated by the classic two-man line-up with Tom Howie (guitar, vocals ) and Jimmy Vallance (keyboards, electronics) and includes among others the banger “Desire” and especially the stomping melancholic “Outlier”, where keyboardist Jimmy Vallance, who has trance roots in his musical career, proves his extra class. This first part of the live set is saturated with a melancholic mood, which is typical for Bob Moses, but here it is very clearly in focus and fits perfectly into this strange time of crisis.

In the second part of the gig Joe Zizzo on drums and Julio Tavarez (drums and background vocals) join the band, both of them push the songs forward with enthusiastic playing, especially the pulsatingly pumping smash hit “Heaven Only Knows” will sweep you off your feet, I promise! In addition, there are outstanding live versions of “Talk”, “Back Down” and, and, and.

So, and now we come to the icing on the cake, namely the concert film “Falling Into Focus”, which is available for free on YouTube.

And there’s no getting around this video, you absolutely have to watch it, here you get to admire the extraordinary class of Bob Moses. The video scores with an outstanding audiovisual presentation at an extraordinary location and a spectacular illumination and lightshow.

Facts about Bob Moses – Falling into Focus (Live 2020):

Artist: Bob Moses
Album: Falling into Focus (Live 2020) / Album + Video
Label: Domino Recording Company
Release Date: November 20, 2020
Genre: Electronic, Deep House, Pop
13 tracks – 72,07 min

Available via qobuz in

24-bit – 44.1 kHz
Hi-res Quality – Stereo

For listening or buying just click on the small cover image!

My test-equiment to Bob Moses / Falling into Focus (Live 2020):

Studio 1:

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client with 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (192 kHz for video and audio), Tidal (MQA streaming client)
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp)
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)

Studio 2:

  • Speaker: 2 x KEF LS-50 Wireless II Active
  • DAC: Cambridge DAC Magic Plus
  • Headphone amplifier / preamplifier: Auralic Taurus
  • In-ear headphones: Shure SE846 with ALO MMCX Audio Reference 8 cable
  • OverEar headphones: Audeze EL-8
  • OverEar headphones: BeyerDynamic DT 880 S (Studio)
  • J River Media Center 27 with 24 bit / 192 kHz
  • Audirvana Media Center with 32 bit / 192 kHz
Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

%d bloggers like this:

Bob Moses – Falling into Focus (Live 2020) – Album

Dieser Beitrag ist auch verfügbar auf: English (Englisch)

Bob Moses – Falling into Focus (Live 2020) – Album + Live Video

Genre: Electronic, Deep House, Pop

Frohes Fest wünsch ich, gestern war Weihnachten. Denn Bob Moses haben uns mit einem neuen Live-Album mit dem Titel “Falling into Focus (Live 2020)” beglückt. Doch damit nicht genug, sie haben uns gleich noch Ihren allerersten Konzertfilm obendrauf gepackt, den Ihr Euch für lau bei YouTube in 4K anschauen könnt. Doch dazu später mehr.

Bob Moses

Das Album hat allergrößte Chancen zum Album des Jahres zu avancieren, denn der Sound ist fantastisch (24 bit native) und die Darbietung ist sensationell gut. Eingespielt wurde das Live-Set auf dem verlassenen Hochfrequenzturm in der Nähe von Topanga, Kalifornien.

Der Gig besteht aus zwei Teilen, der erste Teil bis Track 6 “Ordinary Man” wird von der klassichen Zwei Mann-Besetzung mit Tom Howie (Gitarre, Gesang ) und Jimmy Vallance (Keyboards, Electronics) bestimmt und beinhaltet unter Anderem die Knaller Songs “Desire” und ganz besonders das stampfend melancholische “Outlier”, bei dem Keyboarder Jimmy Vallance, der auf Trance-Wurzeln zurückgreifen kann, seine Extraklasse unter Beweis stellt. Dieser erste Teil des Live-Sets ist durchtränkt von einer melancholischen Grundstimmung, die für Bob Moses typisch ist, hier jedoch sehr deutlich im Fokus steht und hervorragend in diese seltsame Krisenzeit hineinpasst.

Im zweiten Teil des Gigs kommen Joe Zizzo an den Drums und Julio Tavarez (Drums und Background Vocals) hinzu, beide peitschen die folgenden Songs mit enthusiastischem Aufspielen mächtig nach vorne, insbesondere der pulsierend pumpende Smashhit “Heaven Only Knows” wird Euch vom Hocker reißen, versprochen! Dazu kommen dann noch herausragende Live-Versioen von “Talk”, “Back Down” und, und, und.

So, und nun zum Sahnehäubchen, nämlich den Konzertfilm “Falling Into Focus”, den es für lau bei YouTube gibt.

Und an diesem Video gibt es kein Vorbei, das müsst Ihr Euch unbedingt anschauen, hier dürft Ihr die außergewöhnliche Klasse von Bob Moses bewundern. Das Video punktet mit einer herausragenden audiovisuellen Darstellung an einem außergewöhnlichen Ort und einer spektakulären Ausleuchtung und Lightshow.

Facts zu Bob Moses – Falling into Focus (Live 2020):

Artist: Bob Moses
Album: Falling into Focus (Live 2020) / Album + Video
Label: Domino Recording Company
Release Date: 20. November 2020
Genre: Electronic, Deep House, Pop
13 Tracks – 72,07 min

Verfügbar über qobuz in

24-Bit – 44,1 kHz
Hi-res Quality – Stereo

Für Anhören oder Kaufen einfach auf die kleine Coverabbildung klicken!

Mein Test-Equiment zu Bob Moses / Falling into Focus (Live 2020):

Studio 1:

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (192 kHz für Video und Audio), Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp)
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)

Studio 2:

  • Speaker: 2 x KEF LS-50 Wireless II Aktiv
  • DAC: Cambridge DAC Magic Plus
  • Kopfhörerverstärker/Vorverstärker: Auralic Taurus
  • Kopfhörer InEar: Shure SE846 mit ALO MMCX Audio Reference 8 Kabel
  • Kopfhörer OverEar: Audeze EL-8
  • Kopfhörer OverEar: BeyerDynamic DT 880 S (Studio)
  • J River Media Center 27 mit 24 Bit / 192 kHz
  • Audirvana Media Center mit 32 Bit / 192 kHz
Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

%d Bloggern gefällt das: