Blooy: Carousel (2021)

This review is also available in: Deutsch (German)

Blooy: Carousel – Single – Sine Music – 2021

Genre: Electronic, Lo-Fi Hip-Hop, Chillout, Summer Sun Music

And again a Sine Music release is lying on my table, from the electronic label from Villigen-Schwennigen in the Black Forest, which is my favorite label to work with. The people behind it are great and the acts signed there are incredibly open-hearted – as an editor you’ll get any support you need without fuss, no request is lightly dismissed. The one or other label or even some PR agency from the German capital may like to take a leaf out of their book.

Blooy – the artist
Blooy

Blooy aka Frank Wijn from Amsterdam in the Netherlands was born into the cradle of musicality as the son of the well known concert pianist Jan Wijn. After having been exposed to classics such as Chopin, Ravel or Saint-Saëns as a child, Frank began to develop a penchant for experimental jazz in his teenage years, which led him to start playing the drums. In the following years Frank joined the New Wave band “The Primrose Path” and took over vocals and drums.

The sometimes gloomy wave sound left a lasting impression on Frank and inspires him even to the present day. In the nineties a change to the house genre came up and together with the producer and composer Dorian Broekhuyse Frank realized some dancefloor projects. Arrived in the 21st century, the musical style was expanded in the direction of chillout, together with Dorian he brought forward the “Bardo State” project, where they internationally caused quite a stir with beautifully harmonious melancholic laid-back arrangements, somewhat located in Nu-Classical. Especially their interpretation of the David Bowie/Pat Metheny smash-hit”This is not America” from 2008 still sends goosebumps up and down my spine.

And then in March 2020, with the pandemic, the “Long Dark Ages” arrived. But instead of barricading himself at home and wallowing around, Frank took advantage of the time and launched his new solo project under the name “Blooy”. How did John Digweed so aptly say: “It’s a very good time to get productive in the studio. Make some great tracks and remixes, keep your fans updated with useful info on what you’re up to and stay the f–k indoors”.

Blooy’s heart beats for the musical experiment and with lo-fi hip-hop like on the new single “Carousel” he is of course preaching to the choir for me.

But let’s first briefly discuss what Lo-Fi in music actually is, because it might sound more audacious and stranger than it actually is.

The term Lo-Fi

Lo-fi refers to music that was either recorded with simple technical equipment or sounds as if the recording was made with such equipment.
The musical quality of the actual song is not affected by the recording process, therefore lo-fi is not synonymous with low-quality music. The studio equipment and electronic instruments used often do not correspond to the current state of technical development in the sense of a deliberately “retro” sound aesthetic (oriented to historical models).
Lo-fi hip-hop in particular is an exceedingly exciting thing to listen to.

Lo-Fi Hip-Hop

Lo-fi hip-hop is understood to be (roughly from 2017) a sub-genre of hip-hop or electronic music that is stylistically located in the area of easy listening or chillout and includes both quiet, slow and relaxing music, which is also advertised as “study music” for listening in the background. This is called “beats to relax/study to” especially on numerous Youtube channels.

For numerous titles, the link with the aspect of technical simplicity can (but does not have to) consist in a rather noisy sound image and the impression of analog technology even in the sound generation. In addition to noise, the pitch can change in the manner of a magnetic tape with a non-constant forward speed.

Basically, the following measurements must be met for hip-hop: Hip-hop typically has speeds between 70 and 120 bpm, while house is faster at 110 to 140 bpm. The majority of all electronic hip-hop tracks are based on a 4/4 beat.
In “Carousel” the 4/4 beat is present, the BPM should be around 75, so “Carousel” is Lo-Fi hip-hop without a doubt.

The Single Carousel

Thankfully, Blooy completely dispenses with the previously mentioned Lo-Fi quirks, such as noise or LP crackling. According to Blooy, he uses a lot of lo-fi samples from a wide variety of recording sources, combined with retro synthesizers and lo-fi processing techniques in order to create the retro lo-fi sound. The track features Blooy on the melodica – a harmonica instrument that is made to sound by blowing into it and played over a keyboard, – but that has been sound modified to sound “wobbly” and slightly dissonant. And so you think you can hear a mellotron or even an accordion here and there.

Towards the end of the track Blooy enchants us once again with beautifully relaxed jazz guitar lines that bring back subtle memories of my old jazz fan times with Lee Ritenour & Co.

All in all, “the single “Carousel” is an extremely well done prime example of modern and intelligently arranged lo-fi hip-hop chillout sound and makes you hungry for more. Soon to follow is a second single from Blooy on Sine Music, followed by an EP and finally the album is expected to be released in the first quarter of 2022.

Conclusion

Carousel by Blooy – music to lean back and dream away, chilling – ideal for long train rides with music in the earphones, or for hot summer days in a shady spot in a lonely park – or for someone like me, when the temperature in my old attic apartment has once again risen above 30 degrees as today.

Sound Quality

The Qobuz hi-res recording is available at 24 bit / 44.1 kHz and it shines with an enormously lively sound, precise highs that never have a hint of sharpness and a solid, deep bass range. From a technical point of view, nothing here is lo-fi at all, but rather excellent Hi-Res High-Quality Sound, almost predestined for headphone fans with excellent equipment.

Facts about Carousel by Blooy

Artist: Blooy
Composer: D.F. Wijn
Title: Carousel
Format: Single
Label: SINE MUSIC
Genre: Electronic, Lo-Fi Hip-Hop, Chillout, Summer Sunny Music

Hi-Res

Available at Qobuz in Hi-Res
24-Bit / 44.1 kHz – Stereo

My Test Equiment

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (audio streaming client with max. 32 bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro with Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz for  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX-A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool

%d bloggers like this:

Blooy: Carousel (2021)

Also available in ...: English (Englisch)

Blooy: Carousel – Single – Sine Music – 2021

Genre: Electronic, Lo-Fi Hip-Hop, Chillout, Sommer- Sonne-Musik

Und wieder liegt mal ein Sine Music-Release auf dem Tisch, von dem Electronic-Label aus Villigen-Schwennigen im Schwarzwald, mit dem ich am liebsten zusammenarbeite. Die Macher dort sind großartig und die Acts, die dort unter Vertrag stehen, sind unglaublich offenherzig – als Redakteur bekommst Du unkompliziert jegliche Unterstützung, die Du benötigst, kein Wunsch wird leichtfertig abgetan. Da darf sich das eine oder andere Label oder auch so manche PR-Agentur aus der Bundeshauptstadt gerne mal ‘ne Scheibe von abschneiden.

Blooy – der Künstler
Blooy

Blooy aka Frank Wijn aus Amsterdam in den Niederlanden wurde als Sohn des namhaften Konzertpianisten Jan Wijn die Musikalität schon in die Wiege gelegt. Nachdem Frank sich als Kind schon mit Klassikern wie Chopin, Ravel oder auch Saint-Saëns auseinandersetzen durfte, erwachte in seinen Teenager-Jahren das Faible für experimentellen Jazz und malträtierte daraufhin das Schlagzeug. In den Folgejahren starte Frank in der New Wave Band “The Primrose Path” und übernahm dort die Voclas und die Drums.

Der zuweilen düstere Wave-Sound prägte Frank nachhaltig und inspiriert ihn bis zum heutigen Tag. In den neunziger Jahren stand dann ein Wechsel zum House-Genre an und zusammen mit dem Produzenten und Komponisten Dorian Broekhuyse realisierte Frank einige Dancefloor-Projekte. Angekommen im 21. Jahrhundert wurde der musikalische Stil in Richtung Chillout erweitert, zusammen mit Dorian brachten sie das “Bardo State” Projekt voran, mit dem sie mit wunderschön harmonisch melancholischen Laid-Back-Arrangements, ein wenig im Nu-Classical verortet, international einiges Aufsehen erregen konnten. Insbesondere ihre Interpretation des David Bowie/Pat Metheny-Songs “This is not America” aus 2008 lässt bei mir immer noch Gansehaut den Rücken rauf- und wieder runterlaufen.

Dann kam im März 2020 mit der Pandemie die “Lange Dunkle Zeit”. Doch anstatt sich zu Hause zu verbarrikadieren und Trübsal zu blasen, nutzte Frank die Zeit und brachte sein neues Soloprojekt unter dem Namen “Blooy” nach vorne. Wie sagte doch John Digweed so treffend: “It’s a very good time to get productive in the studio. Make some great tracks and remixes, keep your fans updated with useful info on what you’re up to and stay the f–k indoors”.

Blooy’s Herz schlägt nun mal für das musikalische Experiment und mit Lo-Fi Hip-Hop wie auf der neuen Single “Carousel” rennt er damit bei mir natürlich offene Türen ein.

Doch wir sollten erstmal kurz abhandeln, was denn Lo-Fi in der Musik eigentlich ist, denn es klingt von der Bezeichnung her betrachtet verwegener und stranger, als es nun eigentlich ist.

Der Begriff Lo-Fi

Lo-Fi bezieht sich auf Musik, die entweder mit simpler technischer Ausrüstung aufgenommen wurde oder die so klingt, als wäre die Aufnahme mit einer solchen Ausrüstung gemacht worden.
Die musikalische Qualität der eigentlichen Songs wird durch das Aufnahmeverfahren nicht beeinträchtigt, darum ist Lo-Fi nicht gleichbedeutend mit minderwertiger Musik. Die eingesetzten Studiogeräte und elektronischen Instrumente entsprechen im Sinne einer bewusst “retro” gehaltenen Sound-Ästhetik (orientiert an historischen Vorbildern) oft nicht dem aktuellen Stand der technischen Entwicklung.
Insbesondere Lo-Fi Hip-Hop ist eine überaus spannende Geschichte.

Lo-Fi Hip-Hop

Unter Lo-Fi Hip-Hop versteht man (etwa ab 2017) ein Subgenre des Hip-Hop bzw. der elektronischen Musik, das sich stilistisch im Bereich des Easy Listening oder Chillout ansiedelt und sowohl ruhige, langsame als auch entspannende Musik umfasst, die zudem als “Lernmusik” für das Hören im Background beworben wird, selbiges wird insbesondere auf zahlreichen Youtube-Kanälen als “beats to relax/study to” bezeichnet.

Die Verknüpfung mit dem Aspekt technischer Einfachheit kann (muss aber nicht) bei zahlreichen Titeln in einem eher verrauschten Klangbild und dem Eindruck analoger Technik auch bei der Klangerzeugung bestehen. Neben dem Rauschen kann die Tonhöhe nach Art eines Magnetbandes mit einer nicht konstanten Vorlaufgeschwindigkeit wechseln.

Grundsätzlich müssen bei Hip-Hop folgende Massgaben erfüllt sein: Hip-Hop hat typischerweise Tempi zwischen 70 und 120 bpm, während House mit 110 bis 140 bpm schneller ist. Der Großteil aller elektronischen Tracks basiert auf einem 4/4-Takt.
Bei “Carousel” ist der 4/4 Takt gegeben, die BPM dürften bei ungefähr 75 liegen, demnach handelt es sich “Carousel” also zweifelsfrei “Lo-Fi Hip-Hop”.

Die Single Carousel

Auf oben genannte Lo-Fi-Sperenzchen, wie Rauschen oder LP-Knacken verzichtet Blooy dankenswerterweise vollständig. Nach eigener Aussage verwendet Blooy eine Menge Lo-Fi-Samples von verschiedensten Aufnahmen-Quellen, kombiniert mit Retro-Synthesizern und Lo-Fi-Processing, um den Retro-Lo-Fi-Sound zu kreieren. In dem Track ist Blooy auf der Melodica zu hören – ein Harmonika-Instrument, das mittels Hineinblasen zum Klingen gebracht und über eine Klaviatur gespielt wird, – das jedoch im Klang modifiziert worden ist, sodass es “wackelig” und leicht dissonant klingt. Und so glaubt man, hier und da ein Mellotron oder gar ein Akkordeon heraushören zu können.

Gegen Ende des Tracks verzaubert uns Blooy noch mal mit wunderschön relaxten Jazz-Gitarrenlinien, die fein angehauchte Erinnerungen an meine alten Jazz-Fan-Zeiten mit Lee Ritenour & Co. wachwerden lassen.

Unter dem Strich ist “die Single “Carousel” ein überaus gelungenes Paradebeispiel für modern und intelligent arrangierten Lo-Fi Hip-Hop Chillout Sound und weckt den Hunger nach mehr. In Kürze folgt eine zweite Single von Blooy auf Sine Music, gefolgt von einer EP und schließlich wird das Album voraussichtlich im ersten Quartal 2022 veröffentlicht werden.

Fazit

Carousel von Blooy – Musik zum Zurücklehnen und Wegträumen, chillig eben – ideal für lange Bahnfahrten mit Musik im Ohrhörer, oder für heiße Sommertage an einem schattigen Plätzchen im einsamen Park – oder für jemanden wie mich, bei dem die Temperaturen in der Altbau-Dachwohnung heute mal wieder auf über 30 Grad gestiegen sind.

Klangqualität

Die Aufnahme liegt bei Qobuz in Hi-res mit 24 Bit / 44.1 kHz vor und glänzt mit einem enorm luftigen Klangbild, präzisen Höhen, die niemals einen Hauch zur Schärfe haben und einem soliden, tief hinabreichenden Bassbereich. Unter technischem Aspekt ist hier gar nichts Lo-Fi, vielmehr liegt hier exzellenter Hi-Res High-Quality Sound vor, der für die Kopfhörer-Fans mit exzellentem Equipment geradezu prädestiniert ist.

Facts zu Carousel von Blooy

Artist: Blooy
Composer: D.F. Wijn
Title: Carousel
Format: Single
Label: SINE MUSIC
Genre: Electronic, Lo-Fi Hip-Hop, Chillout, Sommer- Sonne-Musik

Hi-Res

Bei Qobuz verfügbar in Hi-Res
24-Bit / 44.1 kHz – Stereo

Mein Test-Equiment

Studio 1 (High End):

  • 2 x System Audio SA Mantra 50 (front)
  • 1x System Audio SA Mantra 10 AV (center)
  • 2x System Audio SA Legend 5 (Rear)
  • 1 x System Audio Saxo 10 (Subwoofer)
  • 4 x Onkyo SKH-410 (B) (Dolby Atmos)
  • Auralic Altair (Audio Streaming Client mit max. 32 Bit / 384 kHz)
  • NVIDIA Shield Pro mit Plex, Kodi (max 192 kHz für  Audio, Tidal (MQA Streaming Client)
  • AppleTV 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Amazon Cube 4K (Streaming Client) Dolby Atmos (restricted), HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Panasonic DP-UB9004 (4K UHD Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Oppo UDP-203 (4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Player) Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby Vision
  • Yamaha CX-A5100 (Preamp) 4K, Dolby Atmos, Hi-res
  • Yamaha MX -A5000 (Power Amp)
  • Sony KD-55A1 (TV) 4K OLED, HDR, Dolby Vision

Read More

Teilen mit ...

Einen Kommentar schreiben ist so was von cool